We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveler rating
99
180
101
26
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
180
101
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews li river best hotel in town breakfast buffet river view biggest bed nice outdoor pool other hotels west st rooms are small comfortable hotel min walk tour group third floor guilin airport chinese food lobby street
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

The foyer is very welcoming with an amazing sculpture in the centre and spectacular ceiling mural. Our check in was fast, efficient and our room while not of new decor was as described: roomy, clean, non smoking, comfortable with a great shower/bath and good linens. The shoe shine service is quick. View of the river and mountains were inspiring and there is a little outdoor balcony with chair and table included. Breakfast menu adequate and was nicely presented and prepared. This location is perfect as it is a short walk to the city centre shops, markets, parks, many restaurants, bars and the river. Everything you need is within walking distance and even if the town city centre is very busy with tourists this hotel provides a nice quiet place for a good sleep.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank deborahmattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I enjoyed the location, not quite city center, but since it's a small town, most things are within walking distance. The breakfast had many choices and the dining room was large. The hotel entrance has a very grand feeling with the space, sculpture, and staircase. It's decor, in the rooms and throughout the hotel, is what my husband described as, "1980s'ish".

Room tip: Apparently there are river view rooms. We didn't have one. I would request for one.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank reneeh388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We stayed here for three nights as part of our tour. We were upgraded to riverview room.
Room was large clean and comfortable. Good choice of western and chinese food for breakfast. Would certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2017

We did not spend a lot of time inside the Green Lotus Hotel. Arriving early in the afternoon on the riverboat cruise from Guilin, the rooms were not ready.. That is ok, the tour company had a tour of the rural area surrounding Yangshuo County,

When we returned we were assigned a room that reeked of smoke. Since we had requested a NON-smoking room when purchasing the tour, our local tour guide and hotel management were able to find a room clear of smoke. Then we were off to the Impression show, onto dinner at West St. and back to the hotel late.

The next morning the breakfast buffet was pretty standard for Chinese tourist hotels.

It was when we went to check out and I needed to insure that the hotel reversed the "Deposit" (for the minibar/phone, etc). that they had placed on my credit card that the front desk seemed confused. Usually this takes 2-4 minutes maximum. Even though they needed to check the minibar, it took almost 20 minutes (and all that time our tour group & bus was waiting on me.).

By the way -- as with comments from other reviewers you will find that wild little Geckos are pretty standard. Our Gecko sighting was just outside the room as it scurried down the enclosed passageway.

Room tip: If your room is smoky from the last guest then insist on a different room. They will change it.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SeeTodayGoneTomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2017

My family of four spent only one night at the Green Lotus Hotel in July 2017. Not many people were staying there due to a major flood just two days earlier and the flood waters were still receding. We were astonished and moved by the hospitality of the staff. Except for the high water marks on the lowest floor walls and a slight dampness in the air, you would never have known they were still recovering from a major disaster. The dining room had its full menu available and the staff were careful to identify which chairs were dry for us to use. Our rooms were excellent and we had great views of the river, now within its normal banks. Very impressed.

Room tip: Ask for a river view, karst hills in the background.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Native49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews