We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oka Brasil Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Bahamas Suite Hotel(Campo Grande)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Campo Grande(Campo Grande)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Campo Grande(Campo Grande)
US$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ipe(Campo Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Park Hotel(Campo Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vale Verde(Campo Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brumado Hotel(Campo Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athenas Apart-Hotel(Campo Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
50
19
11
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
19
11
3
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 86 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2015

We only stayed here one night before our trip to the pantanal. Our private double room was very spacious with a good shower but really poor air con. Breakfast was pretty good and the kitchen looked fairly clean. The staff were helpful and spoke good English. The drinks on sale at the hostel were reasonably priced. The hostel did lack atmosphere but it was a comfortable stop off before our tour aand nicer than a lot of other hostels we stayed in on our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill_Dublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKABRASIL, Proprietário at Oka Brasil Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2015

Thanks for your review! Your opinion is very important for us!
It helps us improve our services. We will be very pleased to receive you at Oka Brasil again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2015

This hostel was just great ! Super clean, well located, really nice and helpful staff, wonderful facilities (swimming pool, barbecue...), the breakfast was nice and the beds comfortable.
The only problem was the internet connection, which was very slow, but it's compensated by the rest :)

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Céline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKABRASIL, Gerente at Oka Brasil Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2015

Cèline! Thanks for your review! It was a pleasure to have you and your group with us. Came back soon! Kisses and hugs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2014

It's a new converted mansion which has been done very nicely and all the rooms and bathrooms and wifi are modern and well presented. There is also a pool and a nice big outside bbq area. And the staff are great and very helpful. Possibly the best in Campo Grande after the expensive hotels?
However, the dorms are cramped, so if there are more people there, it will not be comfortable. And not many toilets/showers for those sharing. Maybe if you're in a group of 4 and share a dorm, that would work. And I'm sure the private rooms are nice, but you can get much cheaper private rooms elsewhere.
My 6 bed dorm was through another 8 bed dorm, so I had to go through their dorm every time I came and went, even to the toilet.
You can get your own room in a less fancy place and much more central for about 2/3 the cost of a dorm at Oka. Try Hostel Campo Grande if you're willing to exchange nicely painted walls for value and a fun environment.
They do have aircon, but it only runs at night, and there are no fans during the day. It gets pretty hot during the day in the dorms and shared areas when it's not raining.
It's not close to the centre or the airport/bus station, and each taxi ride will cost you another 10-20 reals because of this. Taxi prices here would be the envy most european taxi drivers!

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Daschio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

We spent just one night at the oka brasil hostal. Unfortunately they messed up our reservation for a private double room, so they gave us an 8 people dorm and we stayed there on our own. But the price for a private room is too high for what you get. In a hotel you get s much better room for the same price... As we left early we couldn't try the breskfast... Location near the shoppingcentre is quite good though.

Stayed: November 2014
Thank 88Around-the-world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKABRASIL, Proprietário at Oka Brasil Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2015

We apologise for the misunderstanding in your booking. We always do the best for our guest, thinking in that, we decided to leave you both in one of our best room, with a private toilet and a large balcony, with a great view from the city! Its was a shame that you couldn´t try our breakfast! We always do the breakfast earlier (under request), when a guest have to leave earlier.
We wish you all the best! Thank you for your avaliation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2014

A really nice hostel in a former (rather palatial) home with very friendly and helpful staff who spoke excellent English. It´s a shame most people will probably only stay 1 night on the way to/from the Pantanal as this is a great place to relax with lots of different, comfy common areas and a lovely swimming pool. There´s a good kitchen for self-catering too, a huge BBQ area & even a basketball court. Although quite a bit out of the city centre, the hostel is close to a huge shopping mall & supermarket if you need to stock up. There is free Wifi although we found it a bit hit & miss - best place we found was next to the breakfast area.
Unfortunately we were here in extreme temperatures and the air conditioning in bedrooms was not up to the job - we slept in both a dorm and private room and the air-con in each was asthmatic at best. This meant interrupted sleep despite our efforts to find the best position to make the most of what little air came out (I even spent 3 hours sleeping on the marble floor in the bathroom!). Air-con elsewhere was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask re the air-con if it is hot. In the dorms, ask for a bed as near to the air-con unit as possible as they were not centrally located.
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannie and Jon... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKABRASIL, Proprietário at Oka Brasil Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2015

Thank you for choosing Oka Brasil Hostel for your stay in Campo Grande. Thank you for your review too! That is what motivates us to further improve our infrastructure and services. Cheer and hope to see you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews