We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$116
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Casa Vila Bela(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Inglesa Boutique Guest House(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aram Yami Hotel(Salvador)
US$162
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Petunia Pousada Boutique(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hostel Galeria 13(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Esmeralda(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada do Boqueirao(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,671 results
Traveler rating
449
708
365
97
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
708
365
97
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel is moderninternet connectionpleasant stayfarol da barraold cityfiprosconsbeaches
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,671 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Pros: The room is nice and roomie. The showers are very good! Service is overall good, great pool area and nice view of the sea.

Cons: The beds aren't so comfy. There are mosquitos in the room, but then again it is the northeast part of brazil. You need transportation to go anywhere. But if you are willing to walk it is almost a 5k walk to Farol da Barra and where the better beaches are at.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taixlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Customer,
From the Vila Galé Salvador staff we are very grateful for choosing our hotel for your staying in Salvador and for the comments left in this website. Our goal is and it has always been to serve our clients in the best possible way, exceeding if possible our customers’ expectations, your comments and suggestions are priceless and help us to correct eventual mistakes and to improve our services that we pretend to be high quality. Our hotel location is between Barra and Rio Vermelho, two of the most touristic places in Salvador. We are also well communicated with the city center by bus or taxi in a maximum twenty minutes ride. The customer service is one of the main concerns of our group because we are very aware of the importance of pleasing and building loyalty from our customers. We hope we will see you soon in one of our hotels in Brazil or in Portugal. Best regards. Ignacio Montejo, Manager Assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 December 2017

This would be a pretty good hotel for those who don't take showers. But, if taking a shower in the morning is your thing, this is not the hotel for you. It just gets sort of lukewarm, if you run it long enough. It is too cold to stand in.

Another problem is that the Wi-Fi is very, very hard to sign into. I kept losing my internet connection and every time I had to sign back in the sign in procedure was different. They don't use passwords. Each time it is some variation of sending an authentication code to your e-mail. It is a real headscratcher that takes a very long time to figure out by trial and error. One time, a condition of getting logging in was to give them what city and state in Brazil I lived, which was hard, since I don't live in Brazil.

Otherwise, it was okay. The hotel is modern and well maintained. The room was large and clean. The included breakfast was good. Everyone was friendly. Some of the desk personnel, spoke some English, but no one else did.

However, since I do take showers, I would never stay there again and I am sorry I did this time.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NoneColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Guest,
From the Vila Galé Salvador staff we are very grateful for choosing our hotel for your staying in Salvador and for the comments left in this website. Our goal is and it has always been to serve our clients in the best possible way, exceeding if possible our customers’ expectations, your comments and suggestions are priceless and help us to correct eventual mistakes and to improve our services that we pretend to be high quality. We apologize about what happened during your staying with us, the situation you describe in your coments do not correspond with the kind of service Vila Galé provides. We inform that we will check the shower of the room you have stayed in order to verify if everything is working properly. Regarding the Wi-fi conection, i am afraid you have stayed with us at the moment we change for a new acess program. After that we had to adjust some of the parameters in order to provide a better conection acess. We are truly sorry about the whole situation and we hope we will see you soon in one of our hotels in Brazil or in Portugal. Best regards. Ignacio Montejo, Manager Assistant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The location is great. That's about it. The hotel was recommended by someone who had stayed there 15 years ago. It seems that the hotel hasn't been properly kept and barely cleaned since then! We booked the best room possible, Ocean Suite, for 5 nights, but we got so disappointed with the bad condition of the room and its (lack of) cleanliness, that we decided to leave just 5 min after our check in. We did check another room, but it was in a similar bad state. Very poor cost/benefit. Stay away!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LTelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager Assistant at Vila Gale Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Mr. LTelles,
Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing Vila Galé Salvador for your staying in this city. We are grateful for your comments about your staying published in this website. We are very sorry about what happened during your staying, and we will work hard in order to improve our services to provide to our guests the quality they deserve. Taking care of our customers in the best possible way it is a main point in the Vila Galé policy and we are sincerely happy that you like your staying with us. Regarding the rooms we are very proud to inform that we are actually doing some improvements in our rooms, including furniture, plugs and others equipment. Once again we are very grateful for your trust in our group and we will be very lucky to have you again with us very soon in one of the Vila Galé Hotel “Always close to you”. Kinds Regards, Ignacio Montejo, General Manager Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Salvador is a small City and pleasant enough with a lot of typical Spanish architecture. We were on a cruise and we're told there was a lot of crime here so be very careful with your things. Especially iPads which can get snatched if you hold them up to take photos. But it all seemed safe enough to us. There were plenty of police around. There were a couple of lovely churches. Various squares and plenty restaurants and cafes. And an interesting Art Deco elevator that takes you from the lower level at the quayside up to the old city which is up the hill. Many of The people who live here are the descendants of the slaves who were brought here to work in the sugar plantations which gives the place an interesting African vibe.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Anya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Poor service. Ice for the room is not free, must pay R$15.00 ($4.70 USD) to have ice delivered to your room....slow to arrive also. During 3 day stay, room was not cleaned/serviced at all day 2. Had to complain to ensure room was cleaned day 3.

Room Tip: The Superior Suite is roomy and comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AirbornePilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews