We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,546)
Filter reviews
1,546 results
Traveler rating
348
436
363
202
197
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
436
363
202
197
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,546 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

The only nice thing about this hotel is the pool, although trying to find a towel can be difficult. The room was a 1 bedroom suite: neither tv worked, the safe didn't work and the bathroom was dirty - mold growing everywhere. It was so bad that I checked out after 1 night of a 3 night booking.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Bahia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Pestana Bahia Lodge Hotel and for your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn about the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us. Your information regarding our levels of service were worthy of our utmost attention, and the necessary actions are being taken in order to prevent similar situations from happening in the future. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Besides the fact that there is usually only one person at the reception, which means you have to wait alot before even been served, we also had issues with the staff working at this establishment.
We were told to not unpack as we were going to be moving rooms to a sea view. We waited for over 3 hours wasted our prescious time we could be exploring the city, expecialy important to us as we told them we had limited time.
They didnt change us rooms untill the next day. Waste of our time.
Secondly we had booked a tour that without our knowledge had been cancelled. We had provided the agency with out room number and hotel number. The hotel never called us to inform that thr tour had been cancelled even though the agency called them repeatedly to inform us. Another waste our time, of our entire day actually.
Also when we called to ask for them to take our luggage from our room to the reception ( which is a very long walk ) they told us no because there was no one available. We had to drag our heavy suitcases IN THE RAIN to our cab ourselves.
Also the tv was unwatchable since it was all static, they will put you on hold for minutes at a time when calling the reception from our room and the shower head spread out so far it seems to hit everything but my head.
Conclusion, old hotel with very spacious rooms, terrible and rude service and poor maintanance.
Oh and i speak fluet portuguese and had a hard time so if you only speak english you would be digging your own grave booking it

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank soravitlakra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The hotel is located outside of the overly crowded neighborhoods with good access to Barra, historic center, shoppings, restaurants and bars. It is overlooking the bay side from both sides of the building. The pool is good although the quality of the service is poor. Great location.

Room Tip: quiet room
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank André N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2016

i stayed here for a few days a few years ago. my room was so nice, lots of space, very comfortable but the best part was the view of the sea. beautiful! also the hotel has a good location. the drawaback is that it doesnt have a beach in front, there are rocks. but you can also enoy your stay while at the pool which is also in front of the sea.

Room Tip: sea view is best
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eleninicosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Bahia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Bahia Lodge as your destination, and for having taken your valuable time to comment your stay with us. We are delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations, and that you enjoyed your time spent in our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Vitor Veiga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 February 2016

The hotel is ideally situated to celebrate carnival in Salvador, outside of the overly crowded neighbourshoods such as Barra or the historic centre. It provides easy access to the festivities but still a quite and peacefull surrounding. The hotel is overlooking the bay side from both sides of the building. The pool is good although the quality of the kind staff at the poolbar is poor when it comes to preparing drinks. In general our stay was a big disappointment, we paid a hefty price to stay 4 nights during carnival. The building is run down outside and in, the hallways and bed linnen smell bad. When we had a problem with our toilet overflowing at the middle of the night the front desk did not answer the Phone. When going down to report the incident in person the manager offered no apologies for the incident nor for not answering the Phone earlier although he appeared to be occupied with nothing. A maintenance guy went up a minute later to perform a check. Afterwards no cleaning service was offered, leaving us to clean the bathroom for the night with towels. The bar closes before midnight.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FrLom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Bahia Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Bahia Lodge and for your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn about the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us. Your information regarding our levels of service were worthy of our utmost attention, and the necessary actions are being taken in order to prevent similar situations from happening in the future. We hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back when you next visit Salvador .

Kind regards,

Vitor Veiga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews