We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice”
Review of Malate Pensionne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malate Pensionne
Ranked #16 of 74 Manila B&B and Inns
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good choice”
Reviewed February 2, 2017

good location, great price, lovely wooden floors, but the front desk 'service' was shiite - unfriendly, unhelpful and unwelcoming (the know me!) ------- extra characters to make my review at least 200 minimum extra characters to makeextra characters to make my review at least 200 minimumextra characters to make my review at least 200 minimum my review at least 200 minimumextra characters to make my review at least 200 minimum

Room Tip: all rooms are aboiut the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    47
    61
    33
    33
See reviews for
20
72
51
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2016

The people are attentive to my immediate need for safety, security, cleanliness, and help for things that I may have forgotten or may need along the way. There is no elevator so the management has a man posted on the third floor where I stayed. When I could not find the switch to the bathroom, someone just appeared from nowhere and helped me out. I called on the management that I needed help with the old TV and someone came ASAP. After a helper brought my things to my room, he reminded me that he would come back to give me my towel. The people don't make you feel that you have to give them huge tip.

Room Tip: Does not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corabel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile



Staff:

At 5am arrived in the hotel

1. The security guard was sleeping same with the receptionist. I was the one who called their attention to wake up
2. The receptionist does not know how to greet
3. Busy with the cellphone after she woke up


At 7am i went to lobby to leave my key.

1. The receptionist was busy in her cellphone
2. She does not know how to greet guests.
3. She does not know how to get or receive things from the guests (hotel standard that 2 hands must use in giving or receiving something to or from the guests)

At 7pm after my long day I went back to hotel

1. 2 receptionist busy with their cellphone.
2. Again dont know how to greet
3. Staff were seating on the stairs or hallway using their cellphone. No greetings at all

Toilet
1. Dirty. Seems the RA was not cleaning

Rooms
1. The linens need to change brandnew
2. The bed has bumpy. Room 453

Recommendations
1. Need trainings for the staff. I am a front office manager and this is not it should be. Cheap rooms, old buildings, old furnitures butbeverything will be covered if the service is good. Courteousness of the staff must be improved
2. Using of cellphones should not be allowed while on duty

Stayed October 2016
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DONNA S, Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review, November 2, 2016
Hello Mikee B!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We sincerely apologize that our service standards failed during your stay. Rest assured that your concerns have been elevated to the proper departments and are prioritized to avoid recurrence. I hope your experience did not mar the unique charm of Malate Pensionne. We look forward to welcoming you back with 1 complimentary overnight stay as part of our service recovery. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manila hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

This ancestral building nestled in the heart of Malate. I stayed there for my visa interview and everything was accessible. There's a lot of resto around , near robinsons ermita, just a ride to MOA and ocean park.Free wifi. The staff are friendly and helpful

Stayed May 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DONNA S, Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review, November 2, 2016
Hi Joyce L!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Malate Pensionne. Good to know you had a pleasant stay while waiting for your Visa interview. Best of luck to your endeavors and we hope to welcome you back at Malate Pensionne again soon!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2016

I stayed at the Malate Pensionne, for one night prior to going back home to the United States. I am very pleased with how everything went...

There was a front desk person that did not know me as l was checking in, not much of a problem... l had previously been in a very rural province for several days with no wi-fi. I did want to enter the pensionne with my reservation in hand. I had some difficulty accessing the internet on my mobile phone in their lobby. I did have a reservation with a special rate. They did not have a record of my reservation... l am not sure if they keep a record of it, and just simply rely on the guest to present it. Anyway, as l was shown the rates for the various rooms, a few of the personnel that do know me came through the reception area. One of them being the manager, she gave me the rate that l had been quoted with my reservation.

It was great to see the staff that remembered me!

Through the years, the Malate Pensionne has received some mixed reviews. I can honestly state that it appears as if they have read the critical reviews and tried to fix any adverse issues.

Security is still excellent. They are constantly cleaning the place. The staff are as friendly as ever. The major construction surrounding this property, that was going on for years is now completed. As a result, there are fewer nightclubs near the Malate Pensionne. Construction completed, fewer nightclubs, equals much less noise.

I will be back in the Philippines, in a few weeks. I will be staying at the Malate Pensionne again!

  • Stayed September 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Red Planet Mabini
Red Planet Mabini
#8 of 108 in Manila
818 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 108 in Manila
494 reviews
Wanderers Guest House
#2 of 74 in Manila
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chill-out Guesthouse
#5 of 74 in Manila
184 reviews
Pension Natividad
#3 of 74 in Manila
104 reviews
Malate
Leesons Residences
Leesons Residences
#7 of 78 in Manila
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malate Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malate Pensionne

Property: Malate Pensionne
Address: 1771 M. Adriatico St., Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Price range (per night): ₱804 - ₱1,408
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malate Pensionne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malate Pensionne is located in the heart of Malate, a district of Manila on Adriatico St. (formerly Dakota St under the US Commonwealth & Calle Nuevo under Spain). Our building was built by Americans who leased the land from our grandfather to house American workers. When the lease ended, our mother turned it into Dakota Apts. Returning from her European trips & learning of how Italians welcomed weary travelers to their home like family members, she turned Dakota Apts into Malate Valero Pensionne, now well know as the Malate Pensionne with the slogan, "Your home away from Home". As far as we know, we are the only hotel in the world with a strict policy of only registered guests can walk our hallways. We are about a mile from the US Embassy & Rizal Park. About 2 miles from Intramuros, the old walled city of Manila, a 5 min. walk to Robinson Mall. 15 min. by car to Mall Of Asia & 11.5km to the upscale Makati City & Bonifacio Global City. Mabuhay, Bienvenido, Welcome to your "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Malate Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malate Pensionne Manila
Malate Pensionne Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing