We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey Feeling”
Review of Malate Pensionne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malate Pensionne
Ranked #16 of 74 Manila B&B and Inns
1 review
“Homey Feeling”
Reviewed March 22, 2016

Great room. Great ambiance. I have no regrets checking in at Malate Pensionne. I booked online(at their website), said that we are going to pay when we arrive, and we did. It was a smooth transaction. Staff are nice. Well-dressed. The place is also properly secured.

PS. Would've been great if there are shampoos and toothpastes provided. And I am not sure if there is housekeeping offered. I thought that they would clean the room as we go out the next morning but as we came back, they didnt.

But overall, it was a pleasant stay. Will be coming back :)

Room Tip: We stayed at the second floor. The room there was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Thank you for the four star rating. I am personally delighted that you have had a delightful experience at Malate Pensionne. We look forward to your next visit and stay with us. Jay Gutierrez - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    47
    61
    33
    33
See reviews for
20
72
51
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lublin, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2016 via mobile

The place is located in a busy street but the surrounding is quite good. The staff are friendly and attend to all our requests. Our room is clean and has good air conditioning. They alao serve good food. But there's a lot of good places to eat around and coffee shops too. During the night, we found a place where seats are in open air ans everybody has a beer in his hands. We took a table too and it was by far a nice experience. We met a few tourists from Germany and exchanged tips in going around the Philippines.

Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AmaljaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Dear valued guests, thank you for the five star rating and the positive reviews. We work very hard every day to earn your five star. We look forward to your next visit and stay with us. Thank you once again for your patronage. We truly appreciate it. Have a nice day. Jay Gutierrez - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulacan Province, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2016 via mobile

Quaint inn. Strict security. Friendly staff. Lacks parking. Hotel is Old-Filipino inspired. Cozy with wooden floors and antique fixtures. Wifi is limited and breakfast is not included. Good for overnight stay. Just in front is Coffee Bean.

Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sheilah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Dear Sheilah, thank you for taking the time to write a comment. Your comments are well taken and we will review it as we constantly look for areas for improvement to enhance guests experience. Your patronage is truly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit and stay. Have a nice day. Jay Gutierrez - general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2016

The location is good. Very near a nearby mall Robinsons where we bought things we needed for our trip to the beach and the mountains. The room is quite clean and cozy except for the noise coming from outside bars. The food here is also good and if you want good coffee, there is a coffee house just beside it. This inn will suit budget travelers like us.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Dear Robert, thank you for your four star rating and positive reviews. We are happy to have delivered a positive experience to you and we will constantly strive to earn it and improve from it. Your patronage it truly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit and stay. Have a nice day. Jay Gutierrez - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia, Argentina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

I would have rate 5/5, few years back. But years after years, general quality is getting down.
Staff is always friendly and helpful, and the area is always nice; old area of Manila.
Unfortunately, a huge building have been built just beside and the hotel looks small now. And some rooms have this building 10cm in front of the windows, so no lights...

Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank elPatagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Dear El Patagon, thank you for your comments and four star rating. That hemongous tall building is the reality we have to learn to live with. The city of Manila allowed it to happen and is the sign of the future as we try to preserve the priceless treasure of our pasts. We gladly would move you upon requests if a room with a better view were available. Kindly don't hesitate to ask. Thank you for your continued patronage and business. We constantly strive to deliver a great experience to all our guests. Looking forward to your next visit and stay with us. Have a nice day. Jay Gutierrez - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Red Planet Mabini
Red Planet Mabini
#8 of 108 in Manila
819 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 108 in Manila
494 reviews
Wanderers Guest House
#2 of 74 in Manila
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chill-out Guesthouse
#5 of 74 in Manila
184 reviews
Pension Natividad
#3 of 74 in Manila
104 reviews
Malate
Leesons Residences
Leesons Residences
#7 of 78 in Manila
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malate Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malate Pensionne

Property: Malate Pensionne
Address: 1771 M. Adriatico St., Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Price range (per night): ₱804 - ₱1,406
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malate Pensionne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malate Pensionne is located in the heart of Malate, a district of Manila on Adriatico St. (formerly Dakota St under the US Commonwealth & Calle Nuevo under Spain). Our building was built by Americans who leased the land from our grandfather to house American workers. When the lease ended, our mother turned it into Dakota Apts. Returning from her European trips & learning of how Italians welcomed weary travelers to their home like family members, she turned Dakota Apts into Malate Valero Pensionne, now well know as the Malate Pensionne with the slogan, "Your home away from Home". As far as we know, we are the only hotel in the world with a strict policy of only registered guests can walk our hallways. We are about a mile from the US Embassy & Rizal Park. About 2 miles from Intramuros, the old walled city of Manila, a 5 min. walk to Robinson Mall. 15 min. by car to Mall Of Asia & 11.5km to the upscale Makati City & Bonifacio Global City. Mabuhay, Bienvenido, Welcome to your "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Malate Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malate Pensionne Manila
Malate Pensionne Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing