We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malate Pensionne
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimberly Hotel(Manila)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Garden Suites(Manila)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$55
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$414
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel H2O(Manila)
US$79
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel(Manila)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Casa Bocobo Hotel(Manila)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$31
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
25
48
65
34
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
48
65
34
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfan roomprivate bathroomthree blocksthe security guardnice place to stayairport pickupfree wifino elevatorhome away from homechecking inclose to the airportreception arearobinsonsrestomall
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 207 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2016 via mobile

The place is located in a busy street but the surrounding is quite good. The staff are friendly and attend to all our requests. Our room is clean and has good air conditioning. They alao serve good food. But there's a lot of good places to eat around and coffee shops too. During the night, we found a place where seats are in open air ans everybody has a beer in his hands. We took a table too and it was by far a nice experience. We met a few tourists from Germany and exchanged tips in going around the Philippines.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank AmaljaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Dear valued guests, thank you for the five star rating and the positive reviews. We work very hard every day to earn your five star. We look forward to your next visit and stay with us. Thank you once again for your patronage. We truly appreciate it. Have a nice day. Jay Gutierrez - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2016 via mobile

Quaint inn. Strict security. Friendly staff. Lacks parking. Hotel is Old-Filipino inspired. Cozy with wooden floors and antique fixtures. Wifi is limited and breakfast is not included. Good for overnight stay. Just in front is Coffee Bean.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank sheilah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Dear Sheilah, thank you for taking the time to write a comment. Your comments are well taken and we will review it as we constantly look for areas for improvement to enhance guests experience. Your patronage is truly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit and stay. Have a nice day. Jay Gutierrez - general manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2016

The location is good. Very near a nearby mall Robinsons where we bought things we needed for our trip to the beach and the mountains. The room is quite clean and cozy except for the noise coming from outside bars. The food here is also good and if you want good coffee, there is a coffee house just beside it. This inn will suit budget travelers like us.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Dear Robert, thank you for your four star rating and positive reviews. We are happy to have delivered a positive experience to you and we will constantly strive to earn it and improve from it. Your patronage it truly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit and stay. Have a nice day. Jay Gutierrez - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

I would have rate 5/5, few years back. But years after years, general quality is getting down.
Staff is always friendly and helpful, and the area is always nice; old area of Manila.
Unfortunately, a huge building have been built just beside and the hotel looks small now. And some rooms have this building 10cm in front of the windows, so no lights...

Stayed: June 2015, traveled solo
1  Thank elPatagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Dear El Patagon, thank you for your comments and four star rating. That hemongous tall building is the reality we have to learn to live with. The city of Manila allowed it to happen and is the sign of the future as we try to preserve the priceless treasure of our pasts. We gladly would move you upon requests if a room with a better view were available. Kindly don't hesitate to ask. Thank you for your continued patronage and business. We constantly strive to deliver a great experience to all our guests. Looking forward to your next visit and stay with us. Have a nice day. Jay Gutierrez - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2015

Very accessible location. Accommodating and hospitable staff. Prompt response to email inquiry. Homey feel. Adequate amenities come with the room rate.

Stayed there in October 2011 with mother and aunt (family room).
This time with husband (premium room).
Will definitely still have it as preferred choice for place to stay when we go back to Manila.

Room Tip: Both our stays, we got rooms in the second floor.
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dbcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Dear guests, thank your for the five star rating and positive comments. We make an effort to diligently deliver a great experience to all our guests all the time. Usually, folks tend to write online only when they are displeased. Yours is very much appreciated. Thank you once again for your continued patronage and business. We look forward to your next visit and stay with us. Have a nice day. Jay Gutierrez - general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews