We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step up from Backpacker, a ste down from Hotel”
Review of Malate Pensionne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malate Pensionne
Ranked #16 of 74 Manila B&B and Inns
on the road
Level Contributor
338 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“A step up from Backpacker, a ste down from Hotel”
Reviewed November 8, 2015

Old and reliable, this place straddles the Backpacker category and the Hotel segment.
Budget, fan only rooms (en suite) and a few dorm beds are available, as are AC rooms with en suite facilities.
Good security....guard at gate has a gun!
Safe deposit boxes and luggage storage available. Can even leave valuable in safe deposit box while you travel up country, and pick up on your return. Small fee applies, but you know your stuff is safe.
Breakfast of coffee and toast available for 100 P.
Beware of coffee. Instant garbage made with semi hot water from the water cooler / heater - not even boiled.
Now also serves a cooked breakfast with bacon and eggs for a bit more.
Airport pick up at 600P and drop off at 300P is available. Cabs are cheaper, but this service is convenient for late night or early morning.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more for AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Dear Shields, thank you for your four star rating and positive reviews. I will do something about that hot water for coffee as I love a good cup of steaming hot coffee myself in the morning. When we can improve a guests experience within sound reason, we do it. Thank you for your patronage and business. It is truly appreciated. Have a nice day. Jay Gutierrez - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    47
    61
    33
    33
See reviews for
20
72
51
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2015

Hotel in good location in Malate - staff at desk very friendly but room very gloomy - small window with little light. I booked and paid for an Executive room - but not sure what was executive about it. No WiFi in rooms only in lobby is a real inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

The hotel was 1600 pisos for a small room with aircon. The aircon unit dripped on the mattress all night and the bed was very uncomfortable. When we told the concierge the next morning she replied with "thank you for letting us know". I would not recommend for the price, but the location was good.

Stayed October 2015, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTravelingDuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Dear guests, my sincere apologies for having a terrible experience. whenever I have an unpleasant experience at an establishment, I always ask for the manager to give management an opportunity to be aware and address my concern. If they make me happy, that appeases me. If they do nothing or are indifferent, then they deserve my wrath. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a great experience as many of our guests have had. We make every effort to provide everyone with a positive great experience and I know of no place, even an expensive five star, that has not had a negative comment. Giving management an opportunity to make it right for you is what truly matters. I hope you will give us another opportunity on your next visit to Manila. Ask for me on your next visit. Have a nice day. Jay Gutierrez - general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manila hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

Central location and polite staff but noisy, no hot water and no drinking water in room. Dodgy aircon and run down room. Overpriced and underwhelmed.
Not recommended. Choose somewhere else nearby, there are lots of better places than this.

Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review, April 25, 2016
Dear Gareth, my apologies for having a disappointing experience at our property. Adriatico street and most places in the Ermita Malate tourist area are noisy especially at night. We could have moved you to the rear of the property away from the street had you asked. Also, in the future, give management an opportunity to address your concerns and make it right for you. If management does not or is indifferent to your concerns, then you have every right to vent. We did experience a breakdown in one of our hot water tanks. Breakdowns are a way of life in any building and that is why we have a maintenance staff. Most of the time, issues are fixed quickly. Others take time especially when we have to order replacements. If you give us another opportunity to make your lodging a great experience, you will change your mind. Have a nice day and ask for me should you decide to return and give us a second chance. Jay Gutierrez - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2015

Budget friendly yet worth every bucks you paid. Staffs are accommodating. Hotel gives a nostalgic aura for me. Breakfast they provide is from the coffee house outside the hotel which is good. Overall, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malate P, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review, August 15, 2015
Hello Anna!
Thank you for taking the time to post your Malate Pensionne experience. We definitely strive everyday to provide a positive experience to all our guests. Every chance I get, I walk around and talk to our guests whom I see and inquire about their experience in and around our property. Reality is most who have a positive experience do not always take the time to write or post their comments on the Trip Advisor. If they did,, Malate Pensionne would rate a four to five star. Thank you once again for your positive review and we look forward to your return. Malate Pensionne, your home away from home. Have a great day always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Red Planet Mabini
Red Planet Mabini
#8 of 108 in Manila
819 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 108 in Manila
494 reviews
Wanderers Guest House
#2 of 74 in Manila
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chill-out Guesthouse
#5 of 74 in Manila
184 reviews
Pension Natividad
#3 of 74 in Manila
104 reviews
Malate
Leesons Residences
Leesons Residences
#7 of 78 in Manila
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malate Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malate Pensionne

Property: Malate Pensionne
Address: 1771 M. Adriatico St., Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Price range (per night): ₱804 - ₱1,406
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Malate Pensionne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malate Pensionne is located in the heart of Malate, a district of Manila on Adriatico St. (formerly Dakota St under the US Commonwealth & Calle Nuevo under Spain). Our building was built by Americans who leased the land from our grandfather to house American workers. When the lease ended, our mother turned it into Dakota Apts. Returning from her European trips & learning of how Italians welcomed weary travelers to their home like family members, she turned Dakota Apts into Malate Valero Pensionne, now well know as the Malate Pensionne with the slogan, "Your home away from Home". As far as we know, we are the only hotel in the world with a strict policy of only registered guests can walk our hallways. We are about a mile from the US Embassy & Rizal Park. About 2 miles from Intramuros, the old walled city of Manila, a 5 min. walk to Robinson Mall. 15 min. by car to Mall Of Asia & 11.5km to the upscale Makati City & Bonifacio Global City. Mabuhay, Bienvenido, Welcome to your "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Malate Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malate Pensionne Manila
Malate Pensionne Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing