We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Filipino Travel Center
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic trip to the Cordilleras

In January, my wife and I tried something different and used a travel agency to help us with our... read more

Reviewed 25 February 2020
Gordon P
Fab private tour of Banaue, Hapao, Maligcong & Sagada - highlight of our Philippines trip!

We did a 3 night, 4 day tour of the rice terraces & Sagada early Feb and have an amazing time and... read more

Reviewed 21 February 2020
piprose
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 106 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Luzon
from US$33.00
More Info
from US$37.34
More Info
from US$32.00
More Info
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
81
13
4
1
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
81
13
4
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews driver guide rice terraces private tour day tour taal volcano recommend this trip city tour pagsanjan falls tour company el nido itinerary van grace philippines bataan baguio luzon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2020

In January, my wife and I tried something different and used a travel agency to help us with our vacation. We chose the 2 day/2 night rice terraces tour, and opted for the extra day in Sagada. Despite planning the trip on the other side of the planet, the company was very responsive and worked with us to figure out the best trip for us. Once we started our tour, it was really evident that we made the correct choice and wouldn't have been able to do the trip, or enjoy it as much, had we not used this company. It was really amazing. The pictures online don't do justice to the grandeur of the area and the friendliness of the people. My only regret was not having a few more days in that area.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2020

We did a 3 night, 4 day tour of the rice terraces & Sagada early Feb and have an amazing time and would recommend the trip to anyone that likes walking and learning about the Filipino culture.
We decided to fly to and from Cauayan airport to try and cut down some of the driving require for this trip - I would recommend this but there was still a good amount. Our driver Edwin was waiting for us when we arrived at the airport. We had a private mini-van which was perfectly adequate - we were a group of 4 and the van accommodated 6, plus the front seat so we had plenty of space. The van had a/c, not that it was really needed due to the mild weather and all but one of the seat belts worked.
Communication prior to the trip via email & whatsapp was really good, everyone was very helpful.
All the accommodation was good, nothing fancy but everything we needed. All hotels included breakfast too. Warning that it got very cold at night (about 8 degrees outside) and none of the hotels had heating and the blankets were fairly basic so we ended up sleeping in a lot of layers to keep warm.
Our team also helped us change our itinerary during the trip due to a festival in Sagada that meant the coffins & caves would be closed on the day we were planning to visit - this required changing a hotel but they were more than willing to organise this for us at no extra cost and meant doing some driving in the dark to allow us enough time to fit everything in which we appreciated.
I would highly recommend a private tour as Edwin, our driver, was happy to go along with what we wanted - he even drove us to a brewery in the woods outside Sagada one night (Cellar Door - would really recommend).
All our tour guides for the hikes were lovely and happy to chat and answer any questions we had. All the walks were pretty easy, with the exception of the Batad hike which is an hour descent to a waterfall and then the climb back up. This was tough in the heat but totally worth it and our guide had pre-ordered our lunch for when we finished at one of the restaurants at the top.
We loved our tour, with a highlight being a visit to a school in Maligcong where we got to play with the children who were very cute. It was a great opportunity to learn more about the Filipino culture and not just visit the typical tourist beach hot spots.
I would definitely recommend using this tour company, I would just make sure to confirm everything with them a couple of days in advance as I'd read some bad reviews on here previously of them not turning up when they hadn't been confirmed just before.
Tips - bring layers as cold first thing but warms up in the afternoon. We wore walking boots, but I think you could do it fine in trainers. There are no ATMs when in the mountains so bring cash with you, but everything is very cheap there so don't need much.

Date of experience: February 2020
2  Thank piprose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 February 2020

I cannot recommend this trip highly enough!!! IT WAS AMAZING!
The communication with the agent who organised it for us was very good. They were very flexible and accommodated all the changes we recommended (we did the private tour). Very reliable, very transparent! We got what exactly we were promised!

Our driver Carlos, was a very good driver/professional, very nice person, recommended nice places to eat and shared with us stories of the places we were visiting. He was very punctual and kept us well organised throughout the trip! The car was very comfortable!

The highlight of our trip was Banaue! What a day!!! Our guide there, Brigitte, was fantastic!!!! She is a local, and she let us in her own house there, a traditional house! We processed rice with her and we learnt so much about how people live there! She was fun, nice and very knowledgeable! And with a good eye for photography! If you go, ask for her!!!

Betty, who showed us around Sagada was very nice too! Was very interesting to hear about the stories of the headhunters and the burial rituals!

We chose to skip Baguio and spend 2 nights in Vigan and fly from Laoag back to Manila. If you go, have a think about it, otherwise you will spend a lot of time in the car! And the Bontoc museum is well worth a visit!

Luzon treated us very generously! Thank you everyone!

Eleni (Greece), Johannes (Germany), Ariel (Cuba), coming from the UK

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank EMaragianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2020

Our days with Filipino Travel were very efficient. Everything went as planned. We booked private tours for The Manila Old City tour, Corregidor, Bataan and the Rice Terraces. Our driver guides, Mario, MC,and Edgar, were on time, informative, friendly and helpful. Our local guides on Corregidor, Margaret, and Emma on Bataan made history come alive as we toured the WW II sites. A real highlight was our 4 day 3 night trip in the Rice Terraces and Sagada. Our driver/guide, Hans, is also the owner of the company and was a wealth of knowledge. He arranged local guides who could trace their family history back 2,000 years, which is the documented age of the now UNESCO rice terraces. Hans took us to gems like the yogurt restaurant in Sagada. He adjusted our trip for weather and travel time to meet our personal needs. We are so impressed with the professionalism of Filippino Travel and now have precious memories. We highly recommend you contact Hans or Grace for a fantastic
experience in the Philippines.
Thank you, Thank you!

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank sjjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 February 2020

I Booked our tours / airport drop off / pick ups at various locations in Philippines.
I was in communication with M/s Sharlene - and she did an excellent job. Bookings for Manilla / Cebu / Oslob / Peurto Princessa / Sabang / El Nido & Boracay.
All was well planned and for a group of 7 - the vans provided (including carrying luggage) was very thoughtful.
Will recommend Filipino Travel Centre for all your booking requests - they are professional at it.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Jeenal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan v, Owner at Filipino Travel Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Thank you very much for your very positive review and sharing this appreciated very much. Great to hear all went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews