We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airconditioned ”
Review of Museo Pambata

Museo Pambata
Ranked #43 of 138 things to do in Manila
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This children's museum has lots of interactive exhibits.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Airconditioned ”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

Nothing is new except that the musuem are now airconditioned and now a place for rent as your party venue.

Entrance fee is Php 250/ head(even kids 2years old and above should pay the same amount) only residents of Manila can avail the 50% off, which i find VERY absurd. I think all children(regardless of age) should benefit the same with no conditions. After all, that musuem is for kids.

You also need to pay the parking fee at 40php (minimum of 3hrs) inside their gated location which i really think too much considering an entrance fee has been paid.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    48
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
191 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“they've added more sections”
Reviewed December 14, 2016

I went when i was still single. I revisited the place with my 2 year old daughter. While she still does not appreciate all the features of the museum, she was able to play a bit and tried some of the local instruments, browsed through books, etc.

They have added new sections - the herb garden, the paddy field area, the library, etc. I just hope they can continue to maintain the place as it is a very good museum for children.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank waget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
“Education meets fun”
Reviewed November 14, 2016

We had the chance to visit the Museo Pambata years ago but then we had only a few hours available to spend there and along with other kids, we did not manage to maximize the interactive areas. This time for our kids' Sembreak, we decided to go back and it was a Thursday, so we almost had the whole place to ourselves. We get to be with all our kids and surely our youngest enjoyed the most! They had a taste of Old Manila and history at the ground floor, there was a Tranvia, Binondo church model where you can go in, Bahay na bato. Under the sea experience and farming life. The museum caters to many aspects such as science and careers, and importantly awareness for the environment.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank AILEEN925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khok Kloi, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First museum experience. ”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

We took my son to the museum to change the scene for him. A three year old will get tired of the same parks and malls after a few days of seeing the same thing over and over. He enjoyed it as we all enjoyed it. The museum felt old and run down, smelled old and I feel that many of the attractions were dated. We were charged entry fee and the museum had many visitors when we were waling around.
My son still enjoyed it immensely. Its in a great location as well.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank jcshinobi1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Field trip facilitator : The World of Outbound Corp. (formerly Lakbay)”
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Back in school year 2012-2013, I was asked to join the group of parent volunteers to help accompany my daughter's class of grade 2s. Our itinerary was Manila Ocean Park in the morning then Museo Pambata in the afternoon.

Both places were suitable for grade 2 pupils which were aged 6-8 year old. The only problem was the facilitator which was hired by our school.

Weeks before the said field trip, all parent volunteers and students participating were given a seminar. According to Lakbay, they are well equipped to handle even kids as young as the grade 2s. They also said that they have a van for first aid, which we were all happy to learn.

The head of the facilitators was assigned to our bus, which made us mommies more confident that everything will be fine. On the day of the field trip, each parent has been assigned 2-3 kids to monitor. One of the kid I was assigned to had stomach ache since she got in the bus. I asked the leader of the facilitator Lakbay if we can at least give the kid a hot compress (I believed they have in the medical van). She kept on diverting the topic, saying that she is an expert mountaineer, she always brings with her the balm which she put on the kid's tummy. After our first stop (in Manila ocean park), the pain still was not relieved. I asked again the head facilitator if we could let the kid have hot compress for her tummy. Again, it was diverted to the balm. Our next stop was lunch in mcdonalds. The kid couldn't come out of the bus due to excruciating pain. The driver of the bus (which was hired by the facilitator) got mad at us when all the other kids already alighted the bus and we were the only people left. We had to carry the kid out of the bus going to mcdonalds. Also it was drizzling during that time, that we were not able to use umbrella since we didn't have free hands to hold it. What's worst, the facilitator asked hot water in a plastic cup from mcdonalds which she instructed me to put on the tummy of the kid. How unsafe was that!!! The kid could have burned herself. Turn out, the facilitator who was bragging of their van for first aid, did not bring any hot compress. I believe hot compress should be part of it.

I hope schools will not trust facilitator Lakbay ever again. I also heard from some parents that older kids were intentionally bumped by some workers during field trips. Yet the facilitators never cared.

What I observed during field trip, the facilitators just join then mingle together with their co-facilitators, then, never even bother to assist the kids.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank Ica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Pambata also viewed

 

Been to Museo Pambata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing