We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,406)
Filter reviews
1,406 results
Traveler rating
412
556
276
79
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
556
276
79
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aqua room makan makan an aquarium ocean park fish tank fish spa supreme room sea lion show frosted glass white moon bar park view room eco spa hot bed bayview room unique hotel manila bay hotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,406 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018

This is a very nice hotel. And it sits right on top of the Manila Ocean Park, with direct access thereto. You can go around, rest in your room, and come back to the park and watch shows later. Just don’t lose that park tag.

Check-in was reasonably fast. The staff is helpful. The hotel lobby is on the third floor, but there’s a mini-lounge at the ground floor. Outside and to the right of the Manila Ocean Park entrance is the drop-off lounge, where you can drop your luggage and have the staff bring it up to the lobby. The downside is that there is no direct access from the drop-off lounge to the ground floor mini-lounge. You’ll have to walk up the Manila Ocean Park entrance.

The room is big. Ours came with a living room, two bathrooms (one with a bath tub) two TVs and a sofa. Plus it comes with a view of the sea. Room airconditioning is good, but the temperature control can be tricky.

There is in-room wifi, and they will provide a password for each device you wish to use. Wi-fi signal is, however, quite spotty. And if for some reason your device loses the signal, its near impossible to re-connect.

There is also a spa on the third floor, with individual massage rooms. Massage was really great and so were the staff.

And now the plot twist:

Breakfast is at Makan-Makan, a restaurant concessionaire on the second floor. If your booking doesn’t come with the buffet breakfast, you’ll have to cough up P500 (about USD9.50) per head plus taxes. Regardless, the “buffet” breakfast selection is very, very limited. For a hotel like this, I expected much, much more. In fact, Ive seen bigger selections in some provincial hotels.

Typical Filipino breakfast fare, like rice with beef tapa, etc., and even stuff like bacon(!), will mean extra charges. And since the restaurant crews appear to prioritize these extra paying orders, the already slim breakfast “buffet” selections tend to run out. Imagine the coffee maker running out of coffee and about a half dozen paying guests waiting for someone to work on it. It took some minutes, and it felt like no one was in charge of the restaurant operations.

And this is the only game for breakfast, as far as I could tell. So if you’re not big on breakfast, you’ll be fine. Otherwise, lower your expectations.

Hotel management ought to know the little stuff goes a long way to pull down their ratings. Like I said at the start, this is a very nice hotel. Too bad the breakfast was a letdown. That’s going to cost points.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ac_agati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian B, Exec. Asst. Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ac_agati,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I have shared your post with our team and we are glad that you pointed out the good points in your stay as well.

We have also noted your concerns regarding wifi and breakfast and rest assured that our team will immediately
work on improvements on these areas.

Again, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

Regards,

Christian Borromeo - Exec. Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

The price was expensive, twice the price of other 5 star hotels for rooms that were half as big. Front desk was insensitive and not so accomodating of requests, no priority lanes for senior citizens and pwd's as mandated by law, parking was really really far, 10 minutes walk at least from the hotel under scorching heat. Parking attendants were rude. Breakfast was ordinary at best. The egg station ran out of eggs on the 1st day and ran out of gas (lpg) on the 2nd day of our stay. The juice tasted like water. Restaurant staff were not attentive and do not refill on time. They only served fried rice, carbonara, and el cheapo dory fish fillet for both days of our stay. No ham, no bacon, no hotdogs, no sausages. A lot of guests were complaining. Food was so not worth the price of almost 700 pesos per person. The view of the sea is full of manila bay trash for the bayview room and almost 5 to 6 pieces of fish for the aqua room. Got so disappointed had to call the attention of the duty manager but was directed to the command center instead. And as usual, all apologies that wouldn't make up for anything. Had high expectations for a hotel that charges this much, regular rate of almost 200usd a night. Lesson learnt, never trust their advertisements.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank nixoncohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian B, Exec. Asst. Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear nixoncohio,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for bringing your concerns to our attention.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and short comings you encountered during your stay. This is
obviously not the experience we want our guests to leave with.

I will be discussing all the concerns you mentioned with the rest of the management team so that immediate improvements can be done and to avoid it from happening again in the future.

Sincerely,

Christian Borromeo - Exec. Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We stayed on this hotel last october 2018 in Aqua Room and it was a very good experience, it was relaxing to see fishes passes by.
We have availed a metrodeal voucher which has only room accommodation
My wife was surprise to see a birthday greeting in the wall of our room, it was simple gesture and we truly appreciated it including the mini slices of brownies cake when we are about to check out.
The only thing lacking i think is the buffet breakfast, it was not worth it, there are very few choices of food.
Over all it was a very good and unique experience.

Room tip: For unique experience try the Aqua Room
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank elmer z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian B, Executive Asst. Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear elmer z,

Thank you for taking the time to share and post your review.

We are very gratefull that you chose to celebrate your wife's birthday with us. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our signature aqua room.

With regards to breakfast, our Food and Beverage Director assured me that they are coming up with a much improved menu cycle soon.

Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,



Christian Borromeo
Exec. Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Staying at this hotel was a very interesting experience. It (and the surrounding complex) is certainly very unusual.

The hotel is part of the Manila Ocean Park Complex and is within easy reach of the international airport.

The hotel offers a range of rooms, one of which is the aqua supreme. The room had a comfortable bed, reasonably spacious bathroom and contained all the amenities you would expect. Its most alluring feature was its main wall which comprised a large aquarium.

The main restaurant serves a variety of pan-Asian cuisine. Vegetarian options are limited but sufficient.

The hotel has a very interesting spa. I tried out the 'hotbed treatment'. It was a very odd experience which involved myself plus two friends lying on the floor of a hot room. I am not sure that I experienced any benefit from so doing but you never know.

The main benefit of the hotel is that it is easy to visit the adjoining Ocean Park which is a lot of fun.

Overall, an interesting place but one that I would only go to for a day out at the Ocean Park. There is no point spending more than one night here.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKGrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian B, Executive Asst. Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear CKGrout,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad that you appreciated our signature aqua room including the hotel facilities and Manila Ocean Park.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me when you plan on returning so I may personally attend to your booking.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,



Christian Borromeo
Exec. Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed for a week during October 2018. We were staying for a combination of her birthday and our 5 year anniversary. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodated us well. We chose the Jelly fish room which was very neat. The hotel is located within the Manila Ocean Park so you have to enter the park to get to the hotel which wasn’t a problem for us. One of my favorite parts about the hotels location is it is kind of isolated from the busyness of Manila Metro. The spa is neat and they have good options to add on to your room. Not a whole lot of places close to go for food which can be tiring to always catch a taxi or grab. Overall great experience and would love to stay again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian B, Exec. Asst. Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Tyler S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I have shared your post with the rest of our team and we are happy to be a part of
your wife's birthday and your anniversary. We are glad that you took note of the friendliness provided by our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to another memorable stay.

Regards,

Christian Borromeo
Exec. Asst. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews