We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Nearby Hotels
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$140
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$187
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
US$83
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$88
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Impiana KLCC Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)
US$76
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$58
Aloft.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,628)
Filter reviews
1,628 results
Traveler rating
419
720
336
94
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
720
336
94
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbukit bintanggolden triangleritz carltonpetronas towerswalking distancepavilion mallmajor shoppingnon smoking roomstayed for nightsbit dateddeluxe roomhotel is situatedfamily rooman upgradetimes squarepleasant staynasi lemak
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,628 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

A very nice hotel with a good location.The suite we stayed in was an upgrade that was very modern,clean and spacious.We had a few minor issues with the suite but mostly all was good.The restaurant on site was pricey and the pool was amazing.Too call this hotel a 5 star might be stretching it but it is definitely a solid 4+ star.
If I should return to KL,I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwalk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKL, General Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and observations, which are useful for our continuous improvement. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the time to come to make your return visit a more enjoyable one.

Thank you & warm regards,
Adele Ang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We spent a few days at this hotel over New Year. The hotel is well located near the Pavilion and Bukit Bintang areas. The hotels is pretty tired with a very underwhelming entry. Needs a revamp! Issues with our booking were not dealt with very well and we ended up getting shunted around the hotel. Not a good experience. Excuse was always, "Sorry, we're full". Not an excuse when I booked the room months in advance.

The rooms are comfortable and reasonably clean, some with really nice views. There is a building site next door, but I can't say it was an issue. Lifts are not air conditioned, which was strangely annoying. Requests for room service were quick and efficient.

Breakfast was horribly overcrowded, and the breakfast itself lacks options. The quality of the food was not great either. We had dinner in the hotel on our last night. The food was fantastic and service very attentive, however, the dining room lacks ambiance and they do not serve alcohol.

Generally not great, there are better options. We've stayed at a number of places in KL and this has been the worst.

Room Tip: Make sure you insist on non-smoking and away from building site
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Macowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKL, General Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Kuala Lumpur recently. We have taken note of your comments regarding your stay experience and please be assured that the issues would be looked into and rectified.

We sincerely hope you would accord us another opportunity to being of service to you again soon.

Thank you & warm regards,

Adele Ang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Decided to stay at the Dorsett Kuala Lumpur for a short trip of 5 days and 4 nights after recommendations by friends.. Overall we were satisfied with the room which was spacious and clean.. the bed was very comfy and the aircon was functional.. The staff was also very friendly and helpful especially the room service.. The other great thing about the hotel was the location.. its just a 5 mins walk to the Pavilion Mall..

The downside of the hotel was the breakfast.. The breakfast spread was quite dull and unappetising.. in fact we skipped the breakfast after going for it twice.. the other downside was that there was no proper footway or pavement from the hotel entrance to the road leading to the mall.. it was quite unsafe since we were with our 3 year old and using a stroller to move about with a busy construction site nearby.. the nearest 7 Eleven store is along Jalan Imbi and a street away but the walkways are rather quiet in the wee hours..

It was still a pleasant stay and I might consider returning because of the friendly staff, location and the room quality..

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Alzrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKL, General Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Alzrin,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Kuala Lumpur recently. We have taken note of your comments regarding your breakfast experience and please be assured that the issues would be looked into and rectified.

We sincerely hope you would accord us another opportunity to being of service to you again soon.

Thank you & warm regards,

Adele Ang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We initially booked 2 rooms, but upon check in were advised that we had been upgraded to the Residence next door, which was a two bedroom apartment. Check in (at 1am) was great, we were advised of the newly initiated “tourism tax” upon check in. The cost of the tourism tax is R10 per room per night. As it was a two bedroom apartment, I was unsure if this would mean R10 or R20 per night, so planned for R20.

Breakfast was included in our room rate - I think it was worth the money as it was fairly comprehensive, with a strong emphasis on Asian breakfast items, but there was also a great deal of Continental style items. They have an egg station to make omelettes or fried eggs to your specifications, but the other cooked items (sausages, potatoes/wedges, baked beans) were a little bit sporadic. That’s not a complaint, just letting you know in advance. If you do have the option, I would definitely take the breakfast package because it makes life easier.

Our apartment was on the 23rd floor and when we stayed there, there were views to Starhill Gallery and Petronas Towers. However!!! There is construction going on next door and goes throughout the night. Most of the time it didn’t disturb me, (it did disturb my husband who is a light sleeper), but as the construction of the floors go up, it got louder, so our last night was very noisy, and annoyingly so as the sounds weren’t consistent. There was a lot of banging even in the very early hours of the morning. If you are staying here shortly, expect to be disturbed, however at the pace they are building, I wouldn’t expect it will take long to be completed. We stayed for 7 nights and I would estimate that they were constructing a floor nearly every night.

The apartment itself is lovely - equipped with a bath (and TV), shower (there were two bathrooms in all, although the second bathroom did not have hot water, which we reported immediately, but was not fixed during our entire stay). Both showers have rain heads, but the floor was constructed badly so that it nearly flooded the entire bathroom every time you had a shower. I didn’t report this as the only way I could see that it could be fixed is to rip up all the tiling. This will be the hotel’s problem in the long run. The beds were comfortable - we had a queen size in one room and two singles in the other. There was a lounge/dining room (complete with chandelier!) and a big screen tv, which got extra channels - the tv in the bedroom and bathroom had local channels only.

The kitchen has a washer/dryer and plates, cups and glasses, but nothing to clean them with or wipe up any spills.

The second bathroom looked unfinished - as mentioned previously, there was no hot water, the toilet seat was not attached securely and there was no shower screen or curtain.

It sounds negative but these were the only bad things - we had a lovely time, the pool towels are in the top of the cupboard and the pool and the view from the pool is amazing. There is a small playground near the pool but it’s really only for very young children.

The hotel itself is located close to Starhill Gallery. You need to cross the road to the Ritz Carlton, go in the last set of doors, up the escalator and around the corner is a fully enclosed, air conditioned walkway directly into the “Indulge” floor of Star Hill Gallery. By going out near Dior, you will come out in front of the cross walk to the Pavilion. The Star Hill side of the road has the bus stop for the Go KL free bus service, which is a very convenient way to get to the Petronas Towers (take the Green line).

Free wifi in the room ( not in the pool area) was fast. All the staff we encountered were friendly

Room Tip: Maybe requesting a room facing Jalan Imbi whilst construction is going on will reduce the noise?
Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank rachndale2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKL, General Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your detailed feedback and observations, which are useful for our continuous improvement. On a positive note, we are glad that you've had an overall enjoyable stay with us. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the time to come to make your return visit a more enjoyable one.

Thank you & warm regards,
Adele Ang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Dorsett 14 years ago, and I have to admit to being a little disappointed this time round. It's still in a great location of course, excellent malls adjacent and walking distance (around 1/2 an hour) to other attractions such as the Twin Towers. However, they have now built the Dorsett Residences adjacent to the hotel, which means that the view from one side of the hotel is that of a featureless grey wall. Not a 5 star quality at all.
There is a tiny gym open 24/7 and a small outdoor swimming pool. Changing rooms could be improved.
The rooms themselves are pretty nice: the usual amenities including safe, stocked minibar, robes and slippers, as well as a freebie reusable Dorsett-branded shopping bag.
My other disappointment was the food (and I am not a fussy eater). Breakfast buffet had a good variety of Eastern and Western options. The juices available were not very good in quality. The coffee was poor (we preferred going back for a sachet of instant coffee in the room!) and the tea was just about ok. Pastries/bread rolls were not very good at all. Fried eggs were strange: over-cooked fat little circles of egg (no runny yolk) whereas the scrambled eggs were usually a runny unappetising mess. The rest was fine. Omelet station was good, and Eastern options were decent as far as I could tell. I had remembered the quality of food being better when we were last there. I think with a little effort, the food could easily be upgraded to 5* standard.
The whole experience was just about 'good enough', but with all the other hotels available in KL, I'd probably choose to stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank qarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKL, General Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Kuala Lumpur recently. We have taken note of your comments regarding your stay experience and please be assured that the issues would be looked into and rectified.

We sincerely hope you would accord us another opportunity to being of service to you again soon.

Thank you & warm regards,

Adele Ang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews