We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place for accessibility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #43 of 356 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Hotel was clean and really accessible. Within walking distance to Berjaya Times Square. However, it is quite run down. Located near the main road so be careful when walking with young children. The parking is terrbile. Not much space to maneuvre and gets really eerie at night. Did not eat the breakfast there as we could find food elsewhere.

Room Tip: Higher floors for lesser noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Abby013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKL, General Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Dear Ms Abby,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and observations, which are useful for our continuous improvement. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the time to come to make your return visit a more enjoyable one.

Thank you & warm regards,
Adele Ang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2018

A very nice hotel with a good location.The suite we stayed in was an upgrade that was very modern,clean and spacious.We had a few minor issues with the suite but mostly all was good.The restaurant on site was pricey and the pool was amazing.Too call this hotel a 5 star might be stretching it but it is definitely a solid 4+ star.
If I should return to KL,I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwalk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKL, General Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and observations, which are useful for our continuous improvement. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the time to come to make your return visit a more enjoyable one.

Thank you & warm regards,
Adele Ang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018

We spent a few days at this hotel over New Year. The hotel is well located near the Pavilion and Bukit Bintang areas. The hotels is pretty tired with a very underwhelming entry. Needs a revamp! Issues with our booking were not dealt with very well and we ended up getting shunted around the hotel. Not a good experience. Excuse was always, "Sorry, we're full". Not an excuse when I booked the room months in advance.

The rooms are comfortable and reasonably clean, some with really nice views. There is a building site next door, but I can't say it was an issue. Lifts are not air conditioned, which was strangely annoying. Requests for room service were quick and efficient.

Breakfast was horribly overcrowded, and the breakfast itself lacks options. The quality of the food was not great either. We had dinner in the hotel on our last night. The food was fantastic and service very attentive, however, the dining room lacks ambiance and they do not serve alcohol.

Generally not great, there are better options. We've stayed at a number of places in KL and this has been the worst.

Room Tip: Make sure you insist on non-smoking and away from building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Macowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKL, General Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Kuala Lumpur recently. We have taken note of your comments regarding your stay experience and please be assured that the issues would be looked into and rectified.

We sincerely hope you would accord us another opportunity to being of service to you again soon.

Thank you & warm regards,

Adele Ang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018 via mobile

Decided to stay at the Dorsett Kuala Lumpur for a short trip of 5 days and 4 nights after recommendations by friends.. Overall we were satisfied with the room which was spacious and clean.. the bed was very comfy and the aircon was functional.. The staff was also very friendly and helpful especially the room service.. The other great thing about the hotel was the location.. its just a 5 mins walk to the Pavilion Mall..

The downside of the hotel was the breakfast.. The breakfast spread was quite dull and unappetising.. in fact we skipped the breakfast after going for it twice.. the other downside was that there was no proper footway or pavement from the hotel entrance to the road leading to the mall.. it was quite unsafe since we were with our 3 year old and using a stroller to move about with a busy construction site nearby.. the nearest 7 Eleven store is along Jalan Imbi and a street away but the walkways are rather quiet in the wee hours..

It was still a pleasant stay and I might consider returning because of the friendly staff, location and the room quality..

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Alzrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKL, General Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Dear Alzrin,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Kuala Lumpur recently. We have taken note of your comments regarding your breakfast experience and please be assured that the issues would be looked into and rectified.

We sincerely hope you would accord us another opportunity to being of service to you again soon.

Thank you & warm regards,

Adele Ang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018

We initially booked 2 rooms, but upon check in were advised that we had been upgraded to the Residence next door, which was a two bedroom apartment. Check in (at 1am) was great, we were advised of the newly initiated “tourism tax” upon check in. The cost of the tourism tax is R10 per room per night. As it was a two bedroom apartment, I was unsure if this would mean R10 or R20 per night, so planned for R20.

Breakfast was included in our room rate - I think it was worth the money as it was fairly comprehensive, with a strong emphasis on Asian breakfast items, but there was also a great deal of Continental style items. They have an egg station to make omelettes or fried eggs to your specifications, but the other cooked items (sausages, potatoes/wedges, baked beans) were a little bit sporadic. That’s not a complaint, just letting you know in advance. If you do have the option, I would definitely take the breakfast package because it makes life easier.

Our apartment was on the 23rd floor and when we stayed there, there were views to Starhill Gallery and Petronas Towers. However!!! There is construction going on next door and goes throughout the night. Most of the time it didn’t disturb me, (it did disturb my husband who is a light sleeper), but as the construction of the floors go up, it got louder, so our last night was very noisy, and annoyingly so as the sounds weren’t consistent. There was a lot of banging even in the very early hours of the morning. If you are staying here shortly, expect to be disturbed, however at the pace they are building, I wouldn’t expect it will take long to be completed. We stayed for 7 nights and I would estimate that they were constructing a floor nearly every night.

The apartment itself is lovely - equipped with a bath (and TV), shower (there were two bathrooms in all, although the second bathroom did not have hot water, which we reported immediately, but was not fixed during our entire stay). Both showers have rain heads, but the floor was constructed badly so that it nearly flooded the entire bathroom every time you had a shower. I didn’t report this as the only way I could see that it could be fixed is to rip up all the tiling. This will be the hotel’s problem in the long run. The beds were comfortable - we had a queen size in one room and two singles in the other. There was a lounge/dining room (complete with chandelier!) and a big screen tv, which got extra channels - the tv in the bedroom and bathroom had local channels only.

The kitchen has a washer/dryer and plates, cups and glasses, but nothing to clean them with or wipe up any spills.

The second bathroom looked unfinished - as mentioned previously, there was no hot water, the toilet seat was not attached securely and there was no shower screen or curtain.

It sounds negative but these were the only bad things - we had a lovely time, the pool towels are in the top of the cupboard and the pool and the view from the pool is amazing. There is a small playground near the pool but it’s really only for very young children.

The hotel itself is located close to Starhill Gallery. You need to cross the road to the Ritz Carlton, go in the last set of doors, up the escalator and around the corner is a fully enclosed, air conditioned walkway directly into the “Indulge” floor of Star Hill Gallery. By going out near Dior, you will come out in front of the cross walk to the Pavilion. The Star Hill side of the road has the bus stop for the Go KL free bus service, which is a very convenient way to get to the Petronas Towers (take the Green line).

Free wifi in the room ( not in the pool area) was fast. All the staff we encountered were friendly

Room Tip: Maybe requesting a room facing Jalan Imbi whilst construction is going on will reduce the noise?
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank rachndale2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKL, General Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your detailed feedback and observations, which are useful for our continuous improvement. On a positive note, we are glad that you've had an overall enjoyable stay with us. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the time to come to make your return visit a more enjoyable one.

Thank you & warm regards,
Adele Ang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 km away
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
#37 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
3,585 reviews
0.8 km away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#42 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
2,377 reviews
0.9 km away
Ramada Suites Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.8 km away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.4 km away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Kuala Lumpur

Address: 172 Jalan Imbi | Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: ₱3,212 - ₱6,165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's Golden Triangle, a stone's throw away from Malaysia's finest shopping malls, eateries, tourist and entertainment spots. A short 5 minutes' walk will take you to the doorstep of Pavilion, Starhill Gallery, Fahrenheit 88, Lot 10, Sungei Wang, Berjaya Times Square and Low Yat Plaza. The KL Convention Centre and Petronas Twin Towers are also within walking distance from the hotel through an air-conditioned link bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Regency Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing