We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sagano Romantic Train
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Explore Japan autumn

Magnificent♪Marvelous! The views from the Sagano romantic train. The train goes along Hozu River... read more

Reviewed November 28, 2023
Brownjapant
,
Tokyo, Japan
Scenery Train NOT Romantic Train

Although this is sold as a romantic train it is not but a Scenery train. The day started well and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Anthony M
via mobile
Read all 909 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kyoto
from ₱4,397.23
More Info
from ₱2,667.53
More Info
from ₱6,644.43
More Info
from ₱8,720.90
More Info
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveler rating
275
390
172
32
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
275
390
172
32
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hozugawa river train ride saga torokko open car jr saga arashiyama station bamboo forest slow pace boat trip cherry blossoms jr line full bloom take pictures gorge carriage tickets scenery rapids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 909 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2016

While touring in Arashiyama, you can also take the Hozugawa River Cruise but in order to take the cruise, you need to take the Sagano Scenic Railway (one way), followed by a bus ride.

The railway is nothing special and is not romantic in anyway. The scenery you see is better viewed when you are on the river cruise.

But since you need to take this, here are a couple of pointers...

- Car 5 is the one with open exposure so try and get that car.

- Cars 1 thru 4, try and get a even number and then seat C or D....this way you have a better view and going in the direction of the train.

Date of experience: October 2016
6  Thank KYL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 2, 2016

The scenic train is nice for children and takes 30 minutes.
During the trip in summertime, there is not much to see of the surroundings because there are a lot of threetops that blocked the view.
We see a lot of Japanese family's with children,and they liked it very much

We took the combi-ticket train and boattrip over the Hozugawa river,and after that a walk to the bamboo forest and a temple with beautiful garden.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank FonzyDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

This train slowly passes through a valley with dense forest, tunnels and a deep gorge below. The cool breeze and fresh air was relaxing during peak July summer. The open car offers good views, albeit noisy. Get a window seat for better views. River starts on the left, before ending up on the right.

Better to visit all arashiyama attractions and finally take this train. Took this train from torokko arashiyama station which is very near to bamboo forest. Tickets available at the same station.
Costs 620yen one way. These are hourly trains, so lookup online for the exact timings and plan accordingly.
I went on a weekday, & the train was packed to capacity!!

For return, one can take the same train or a JR train back to Kyoto.

There is also an option of returning to arashiyama by boat (4100 yen/ 2 hours i guess). From the train, these boats can be seen going downstream.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank OntiSalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 24, 2016

This ride takes you through a mountain valley with a river flowing, it's quite scenic and not too long. The seats are very hard though, and in summer, the heat can be intense as these are open cars.
A nice combo is to get off on your return trip at Arashimaya stop instead of Toroga Saka station where you left from next to JR's Saga Arashimaya, you will be right at the top of the Bamboo forest, which is free, ready to walk it down towards Tenryu-ji temple, which is also worth it by the way.

Date of experience: August 2016
3  Thank fpinchon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

Interesting scenic railway trip. U can board the train at Toroga saka station a few stns from kyoto station(toroga saka stn is just beside saga arashimaya stn- where u can see bamboo forest)Worth a trip but nothing more than once. Bought mine at the jr station. Cant use jr pass. it was 6200 jpy one way. Was advised by the counter staff to buy two way trip since there is nothing much at the toroko kamaeroka stn. U can also choose the boat trip. But i didnt opt for that. Anyway as a whole, Pretty interesting.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank naihpos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews