We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sagano Romantic Train
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Explore Japan autumn

Magnificent♪Marvelous! The views from the Sagano romantic train. The train goes along Hozu River... read more

Reviewed November 28, 2023
Brownjapant
,
Tokyo, Japan
Scenery Train NOT Romantic Train

Although this is sold as a romantic train it is not but a Scenery train. The day started well and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Anthony M
via mobile
Read all 909 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kyoto
from ₱4,397.23
More Info
from ₱2,667.53
More Info
from ₱6,644.43
More Info
from ₱8,720.90
More Info
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveler rating
275
390
172
32
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
275
390
172
32
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hozugawa river train ride saga torokko open car jr saga arashiyama station bamboo forest slow pace boat trip cherry blossoms jr line full bloom take pictures gorge carriage tickets scenery rapids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 909 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2016

It takes 25 mins from Saga station to Kameoka, enjoy the nature scenery. After a 5-min pause in Kameoka, the train departs for Saga. Take car 5 if it's not too hot or sunny, this is the car without ceiling.

In return trip, you are recommend to get off at the last 2nd station - Arashiyama, then you can walk through the bamboo (what a great shade from the sun-ray) and take a 15-min walk to the north entrance of Tenryuji Temple (you can buy the entrance ticket there as well) with the protection of bamboo. It definitely save your time and energy.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank Willie KM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

So glad we did this tour out of Kyoto ..

The Sagano Scenic Railway also known as the Sagano Romantic Train is a sightseeing train line that runs along the Hozugawa River between Arashiyama and Kameoka. Its charming, old fashioned trains winds through the mountains at a relatively slow pace it only takes about 25 minutes to make the seven kilometer journey but giving a stunning view of the scenery as they travel from Arashiyama through the forest and into rural Kameoka.
Once there we then decided to hop on
A Hozugawa River Boat Ride back down ..
What fun that was !! Seoerate review required for this !! See

Hozugawa River Boat Ride

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank FrankieM958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

Standing tickets in a hot day, it is not a good option. The train is packed with people, information and announcements are in Japanese only. You may try but our kids were just board.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Tkonik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Reading the description of the Sagano Romantic Train ride our expectation was that this would be something we would enjoy.
It turned out to be not romantic it all. First off the train was stuffed to the top with a lot of passengers also standing (there are no handrails or any other points on the ceiling to hang on to when you are standing).
And it was very very loud as we had a lot of Chinese tourists as well. The train is old (obviously) and therefore is not comfortable to ride on at all. The space between the rails is so big that you feel it each time the train passes fro one to the next. Part of the ride is also going through tunnels. When you can see towards the right side (going up) you have a nice view onto the river.

Date of experience: July 2016
5  Thank TravelerGermany62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Our party of four thoroughly enjoyed to train ride that took us winding through the valleys and native vegetation. It was great to see kayaks negotiating their way through the tame Rapids as we passed.
The seats were wooden without cushions so a little uncomfortable to sit on.
At the end of the journey a 10 min walk saw us back at the JR station to return to Kyoto.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank Calamari1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews