We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
217
135
21
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
135
21
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public bath wear yukata kyoto station top floor ryokan experience traditional dinner tatami mats the bus minute walk japanese breakfast tea service shabu shabu tea set kyoto style great ryokan bath house hot bath
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed three nights at Ryokufuso on a room-only deal (we also wanted to try some of Kyoto's delicious restaurants), and we loved it.

As is standard in Japan, the Ryokan is pretty strict about check-in and check-out times (we found this to be common), but they'll happily store luggage and when you do check-in they offer a nice welcome tea.

An 8-mat room was comfortable for two of us, with a little carpeted seating area behind the traditional Japanese sliding doors and a separate toilet, wash basin and bath/shower. The Ryokan staff come around between 7pm and 8pm (when people are usually out at dinner) to lay out the futons and bedding in your room, and they pack it all away the next morning.

The WiFi was decent quality. We didn't try the onsen at this Ryokan but I'm sure it's in keeping with other wonderful onsen we experienced in Japan. The location is handy, about a 15 minute walk from the main Kyoto station, although note that it's more like 30 mins walk to the Pontocho area (or a short bus ride, which we did one night). The front desk staff were always very friendly when we were dropping off/picking up the room key each day.

Overall I'd recommend Ryokufuso as a nice balance between service, price and quality.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank rich_coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yadoryokufu, 広報担当マネージャー at Ryokufuso, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear rich_coleman,

Firstly, we'd like to thank you for choosing our ryokan for your wonderful trip in Kyoto.
It was our honor to provide you a "ryokan" experiences, and we are truly pleased to know how you have liked and satisfied your stay at our ryokan by seeing your kind review.
Ryokan as Japanese hospitality provider, our service and hospitality are based on Japanese cultural hospitality spirit "omotenashi".
This is very unique and we are eager to improve for our guests from overseas for experiences of great culture pieces of JAPAN.
SO, your review with your impressions are really valuable for us to maintain our service and hospitality.

We thank you so much for your kindness and wishing to welcome you again here at Kyoto Friendly Ryokan RYOKUFUSO.

Yours sincerely,
Kyoto Friendly Ryokan
RYOKUFUSO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

We came to this ryokan for the experience - it’s quite different from most of our lodging which were more budget. Needless to say, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean, with all the amenities you might need. Staff are helpful and abundant. It’s a modern facility that retains the beauty of tradition and is well worth the stay for those looking to experience tradition in comfort (try one night if you’re on a Budget!).

We had dinner and breakfast with our stay. The meals were well attended and there was a variety of flavours. Every dish was thoughtfully and beautifully presented! ***I would say though that a liking for this cuisine is an acquired taste.***

P.S. We liked the public bath. It was simple and clean. Served its purpose for those who do use it!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank audreyhan_273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yadoryokufu, 広報担当マネージャー at Ryokufuso, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear audreyhan_273,

Thank you very much for choosing our ryokan for your wonderful trip in Kyoto.
It is certainly our honor to have your review with great impressions about our service and hospitality.

Your impressions would definitely be a source information of knowing our ryokan for world-travelers.
We are truly grateful to know that you have enjoyed of staying a "ryokan" and its experiences.

Overall, we'd like to take this opportunity to "Thank you" again, and we wish you to stay our ryokan on your next trip in Kyoto.

Best regards,
Kyoto Gobal Friendly Ryokan
RYOKUFUSO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Nice location and decent but somewhat old ryokan. However they ruin a good experience with strict and unfriendly rules: breakfast at 8.30 LATEST, choose between coffee OR orange juice (despite asking for both twice), checkout 10.00 SHARP etc. So would not return with current management (eventhough staff was friendly)

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 500andreasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yadoryokufu, 広報担当マネージャー at Ryokufuso, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Andreas D,

First of all, Thank you for your recent stay at our ryokan "Ryokufuso".
We are pleased to receive your honest review and impressions.
We do respect your points of view and apologies for the inconvenient that we made to your stay.
Your impression and opinion are the source of our hospitality and service.
We thank you again for your kind support for sharing us your impressions.

Wishing you all the best and see you again by any chance.

Yours sincerely,
-Friendly Ryokan-
Kyoto RYOKUFUSO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

I’ve lived in Japan in the past so expedient, good service was expected. However, this place way exceeded my expectations. The kind folks working here went above and beyond to ensure we were happy and taken care of—plus, the traditional rooms were an amazing experience!! Even with a zillion choices in Kyoto, I’ll come back here for sure :).

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 799alexat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yadoryokufu, 広報担当マネージャー at Ryokufuso, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Dear Alexa T,

First of all, Thank you very much for select our ryokan on your recent trip in Kyoto.
We are very much appreciate and pleased to see your review with your impressions which have mentioned your amazing experience.
It is our honor and the most valuable thing are the guest's review and it will help us to maintain our traditional service and hospitality.

We wish you to visit Japan again and hope you to have you back here at Ryokan Ryokufuso by any chance.

Wishing you all the bast and see you again!
Very truly yours,
-Kyoto Friendly Ryokan-
RYOKUFUSO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Nice and available staff. Traditional dinner, expensive but very good. Quite Onsen (alone at the time we went), large room (double superior). Big hotel, inside arranged as a traditional ryokan.We spend one night, had a good stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Culture62939366811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yadoryokufu, 広報担当マネージャー at Ryokufuso, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Dear Culture62939366811,

Thank you so much for your previous stay at our ryokan, and we are truly pleased to receive your detailed review and impressions during your stay.
By reading your review, we are glad that you have enjoyed and satisfied with our hospitality, food, onsen and facility.
As we are "ryokan" the Japanese accommodation, and we are always considering and dedicating to every single guests for their unforgettable moments, your impressions are truly the honorable thing for us.

We wish you all the best and very much looking forward to seeing you again!!

Yours sincerely,
Kyoto Friendly Ryokan
-RYOKUFUSO-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews