We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
William D
San Francisco, California

A stunning oasis of beauty in crowded West Lake with interesting Party vibe (not that kind of party...)

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 22, 2014
This is a good luxury hotel, somewhat below the level of a 4 Seasons, but also less expensive. The main draw for me are the jaw-droppingly stunning grounds and the quiet. Like many tourist destinations in China, West Lake is crowded and has terrible traffic. This hotel is an oasis of quiet and peace and I loved it. The rooms are very nice, though show a bit of wear you wouldn't find in a top of the line hotel. The english proficiency was a bit hit and miss but always friendly. I was the only westerner I saw there in 3 days, so perhaps this is unsurprising. The buffet dinner was a bit overpriced and the relative isolation (which is a big benefit) means not many non-hotel options for dinner. The breakfast buffet was very good and worth it. The fact that this is a state hotel lends some interesting things: the PLA guarding it is interesting (mostly nice but one or two jerks) and at night you see luxury cars in the VIP villas, presumably local Party higher ups.
Date of stay: March 2014
Room Tip: worth the extra for a view room, I wish I had done this after seeing how stunning the grounds are.
Trip type: Traveled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Tripadvisor
₱8,951
₱7,705
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.0 km from West Lake State Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
₱16,305
₱13,640
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.5 km from West Lake State Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
Courtyard
₱4,984
₱4,317
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    ₱4,316
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
5.0 km from West Lake State Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
₱10,436
₱9,395
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from West Lake State Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
酒店鸟瞰图
Tripadvisor
₱10,221
₱8,826
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.2 km from West Lake State Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
₱10,221
₱8,826
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
8.0 km from West Lake State Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Shangri-La.com
    ₱10,241
  • Priceline
3.9 km from West Lake State Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱4,214
  • Priceline
7.5 km from West Lake State Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱5,552
  • Priceline
28.7 km from West Lake State Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hangzhou
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
109
44
9
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
109
44
9
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 164 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Heard so much from the locals about this place so I checked out early from the Hyatt to see for myself. This place used to host Party (yes, capital P) officials and the Chairman himself was rumored to have stayed at Guesthouse 12. Don't think it's open to the public though. I stayed at Guesthouse 8. The room is clean and modern-ish. All guest houses are two-story buildings but no elevators. The place is literally built on the side of the West Lake so the hotel is hidden from the main road that surrounds the Lake. Amazing views. It's tranquil and a stroll through the gardens by the Lake is incredibly relaxing. The service is attentive. Didn't see any Westerners at the place. Military police guard the entrances. A great experience!!!

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank Frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel's location at West Lake trumps all the surrounding hotels, such as InterContinental and the 4 Seasons. Why? Because this hotel has the exclusive spot at West Lake. Walking into the building where the restaurant is located, you can see many pictures from all the Chinese President who have visited this hotel from Mao Ze Dong to Hu Jing Tao. Many government officials also visited this hotel as well.

There was a problem in our initial room due to a problem in the shower head. The staff was very helpful and quickly upgraded our room to VVIP (Very Very Important Person). Their English is well spoken and didn't give us any headaches. My girlfriend and I enjoyed the free breakfast at the main buffet near the reception. Cook to order omelet was fantastic and the won ton was delicious! Totally made our day. Coffee was superb also.

Beautiful city, the lake, and the hotel made our trip very special! Will definitely come back.

Room tip: Pay a little extra for the VIP rooms. Great location near the lake and the view from your room is picturesque.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swiftler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We here stayed 2 nights mid Nov 2013 and enjoyed the experience. The slightly variable comments are understandable, but we would stay again if we returned to this area.
The location, in what is virtually a private park, is superb. The gardens are just beautiful and perfect for a morning or evening stroll. There are views over the West Lake.
Our room was fine and very comfortable.
The breakfast was good, but we did find the evening meal buffet items were not as hot as they should have been.
Little English was spoken, but it was not a problem - I guess this can be frustrating or nice aspect of the holiday depending on your outlook. Everyone was polite and helpful.
It's difficult to put a value on the location and grounds, but for us it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room tip: You could ask for a Lake View - not sure of the premium and I have read comments about humidity.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff3881
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The location is wonderful, one quite place in the busy city. The room is just ..uhm...ok...And the breakfast is just standardized. As a general 5-star hotel, there is nothing special but the secured by the PLA military police.....sounds scary ^^~LOL

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonicHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a South China tour. Arrived in evening. Room was large, excellent facilities and moderate wifi access. Decided to have dinner in main restaurant - big mistake! Buffet was cold, limited and staff spoke virtually no English, so lots of pointing and acting out. Meal was very disappointing and buffet closed at 8.30pm, when we were only ones in restaurant. Next morning, we saw lake side walks from hotel - excellent place to chill out and walk along lake. However, hotel remote from all restaurants and shops so you need taxi. Felt like staff were still learning about customer service and hang over from state run building, used mainly for business meetings and large government banquets.

Would not recommend this, unless you want to be remote, quiet and have access to taxi.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BrianML
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews