We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
191
67
10
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
67
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea house boutique hotel night market top floor free walking tour tea tasting pent house view over the lake window alcove helped me arrange friendly english speaking staff breakfast room is leave early the next morning arranging transportation interesting antiques the penthouse museum pieces
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2019 via mobile

Even before we came, the staffs have been very helpful and helped us a lot in organizing various tours for us with a good price. They also lightning fast in replying to all my emails.
We got a room upgrade from the 2nd floor to the 3rd floor. The higher level room you got, the better view it will be.
The buffet breakfast was also quite good and the highlight was the view from the restaurant that's facing the four lake.
The location is also very good. Closed to the shopping mall and just a stone away from the Ronghu lake.
Everything was excellent and we really enjoying our stay at the hotel. Will definitely stay here again if we return to Guilin

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank 889Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AromaTeaHouse, 经理 at Aroma Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2019

Dear Friends,Thank you very much for your kind words! We do our best to serve all guests at our hotel and we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our service. Our hotel is decorated in the traditional Chinese style and we have numerous unique room options to fit different purposes of stay. We believe that breakfast with a fantastic scene is a great way to start your day ,as you know we only have 22rooms, and we provide such services accordingly. It's our responsibility to do everything to make your stay smoothly. We appreciate your time and patience to write down this review for us. Your recommendation means a lot to us. We sincerely hope that you would choose our hotel once again and we promise to provide better service next time. Best, Aroma Tea House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2019

lovely large room at the front of the hotel, which is next to the lake.
Lots of antiques and fossils on the hallways etc. Receptionists so helpful- and has a VPN so could upload photos etc.
There is a huge dining room on the top floor with picture windows- if you want to eat there you can order by about 17.30 and look at the view of the lake with the coloured lights.
We had a waitress and and at least one chef, just for us and the food was delicious.
Didn't particularly take to Guilin in the day time- crowded with tour buses, but at night it is wonderful, so full of local life and felt completely safe too.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AromaTeaHouse, 前厅部经理 at Aroma Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Aroma tea house,we are happy to see that you like our hotel, our staff. During the recently 1 year,all the rooms and the restaurant has been decorated ,the additional facilities and cultural activities will bring a memorable impression to the guests. After that,a vacation assistance team will provide personal butler service for 24 hours, we also lead the guests to visit Rong Lake and Shan Lake everyday,and supply a whole explanation for the tour。Aroma tea house aimed at adhere to the inheritance, development of Chinese traditional culture. It has been encouraging us from the past to the future. Thanks for your support and look forward to your arrival again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2019

This was our second trip to Guilin and first stay at the Aroma Tea House. We liked this smaller Boutique Hotel for its location and very friendly and helpful team.
Some parts of the hotel are already in their years and need some rejuvenating maintenance, but the overall atmosphere is pleasant and comfortable.
The location, facing one of the four lakes, is very convenient and the major points of the city are within walking distance.
Breakfast is very good (dinner on special request, fixed menu) and the staff is charming and very helpful.

Room tip: we certainly recommend the Suites with lake view
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bajatraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AromaTeaHouse, 前厅部经理 at Aroma Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Aroma tea house,we are happy to see that you like our hotel, our staff. During the recently 1 year,all the rooms and the restaurant has been decorated ,the additional facilities and cultural activities will bring a memorable impression to the guests. After that,a vacation assistance team will provide personal butler service for 24 hours, we also lead the guests to visit Rong Lake and Shan Lake everyday,and supply a whole explanation for the tour。Aroma tea house aimed at adhere to the inheritance, development of Chinese traditional culture. It has been encouraging us from the past to the future. Thanks for your support and look forward to your arrival again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2018

We were recommended the Aroma Tea House by Nora Zheng of China Culture Tours also situated in Giulin. We had stipulated no 5 star luxury hotels, but more authentic boutique style hotels and we were not disappointed. The hotel is situated opposite a beautiful lake, within walking distance of Guilin town centre. It is furnished and decorated with authentic Chinese furniture. Breakfast is excellent on the 5th floor(there is a lift!), with a view over the lake. the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke good English.walking through the park around the lake at night was magic. We even saw people dancing spontaneously to their own music. In the morning we could see people doing Tai Chi in the street in front of the hotel. The whole experience was a joy.

Room tip: The higher floors have better views over the lake.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennywrenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AromaTeaHouse, 经理 at Aroma Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2018

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Aroma tea house,we are happy to see that you like our hotel, our staff. During the recently 1 year,all the rooms and the restaurant has been decorated ,the additional facilities and cultural activities will bring a memorable impression to the guests. After that,a vacation assistance team will provide personal butler service for 24 hours, we also lead the guests to visit Rong Lake and Shan Lake everyday,and supply a whole explanation for the tour。Aroma tea house aimed at adhere to the inheritance, development of Chinese traditional culture. It has been encouraging us from the past to the future. Thanks for your support and look forward to your arrival again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

This hotel is amazing! The common areas are full of antiques so very characterful and the 4th floor rooms have great views over the treetops to the lake. The top floor restaurant has even better views and a great buffet breakfast to boot featuring cereals, fruit, cooked breakfast and local dishes. Perhaps the best feature of the hotel is the super helpful reception staff. Michelle invited us to accompany other guests on a trip to Xianggong mountain for a token charge and Lynne (Linlin) even went to the pharmacy for me when I was ill. Not many receptionists offer such a high level of customer care!
Our only issue was that we could not access WiFi from our rooms due to China’s firewall and the fact that none of the free VPNs worked. However, the reception area offers a good connection and whilst there we were invited to drink puer tea with the manageress. The introduced us to actually tasting the tea as opposed to drinking it. The whole process is a ceremonial one which we found fascinating and which we would have missed had we been using the Internet in our rooms.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Indie-Brindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AromaTeaHouse, 总经理 at Aroma Tea House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Dear Brindie,
First of all, thanks very much for stay with us . We are happy to see you do enjoy your stay with us. We are a very small hotel with 22 rooms. Near by the most beautiful lake . A free walking tour at night 19:30-20:30 was provide by hotel guide everyday. Also we would like to went out of our way to do the best service . We know once your western people travel in Guilin will meet lot of problem . A very small problem will influence your trip. During your stay with Aroma tea house , anything problem you have please no hesitate to letting us know. We all the team are working 7:30-24:00 can give you help. Stay with us not only just sleep here, we would like you stay here like stay in your home .Nice view, good service, English-speaking guide , and comfort room will make you have a memorable stay with us. Thanks again for trust us and give us a so nice comment . Just a few mints for you but its a big difference for us. You will always encourage us our team
Regards,
Aroma Tea House All team member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews