We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
It is more authentic here!

Located at the old areas of the city, this street has a lot to offer: neoclassical buildings... read more

Reviewed February 23, 2020
LolaGo1
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
via mobile
Local color

Reminiscent of times when life was not so hectic. The buzz and energy is high but not aggressively... read more

Reviewed March 29, 2019
jopin
,
Fresh Meadows, New York
via mobile
Read all 82 reviews
  
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
18
31
24
9
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
18
31
24
9
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 82 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2016

so many people, most cheap markets and stores are here. Buildings are old. not 100% safe. just be careful with snatchers and pick pocketers.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Ren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 9, 2016

Iloilo City has a place which you can best describe as a place of many splendours, and that is CALLE REAL. Located in the heart of the city,it is teeming with action from sun-up to sundown, So many sights to see , from small businessman on the sidewalks to big business man sheltered in their air conditioned office, all has a role to play in this busiest section of the city. Fruits, slippers, shoes, shades, dresses and newsstands contribute to the many colours that brighten your stroll along Calle Real. People of all denominations (if I may be allowed to say so) will delight you in whatever chores they're doing. Yes, watching people in Calle real is great fun, try it. Then, during Dinagyang time Calle real has another ambience, it has the Vibrant and Festive atmosphere that drive you to the verge of euphoria. That I experienced last January 2016. That made me conclude, that Calle real is my place, to UNSTRESS.

Date of experience: January 2016
7  Thank tedmino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 6, 2016

I truly loved the setting where people rushed to their respective destinations, buy goods, and eat out on local restaurants. Buildings along JM Basa Street were all wonderful. However, the electrical wiring could really ruin a picture-perfect view. The local government could also work on preservation of these heritage buildings.

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank May F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

This is a historic place where at one point was the place to shop. It continues as a place to get some excellent excellent bargains and among the historic landmark buildings. It's impressive the historic buildings remain considering all the new developments in the city. Hope it stays for future generations.

Definite must visit and a reminisce of Iloilo's old shopping district.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank asc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 24, 2016

This is of course a throwback to the old times and it's a good one. Not that crowded compared with Cebu City's Colon and the feel is completed by the urban renewal being pushed by the city.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Jubert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews