We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garlic Buttery Shrimp Goodness”
Review of Diotay's

Diotay's
Ranked #8 of 319 Restaurants in Bacolod
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 January 2019

We passed by this eatery as they had an assortment of fresh seafood on view and many people ordering. Sadly we weren't too hungry so we ordered a half kilo of shrimp and a plate of scallops (for two people). We were asked whether we would like them cooked with chili or with garlic and butter and unanimously agreed on the latter (although I heard a woman after us requesting for "ribosado" style, which is shrimp dipped in batter and deep fried). We were given a number and went inside to be seated.

A waiter promptly came to take drink orders and we ordered rice. We decided on the calamansi juice, which we were warned was already pre-bottled vs. fresh, which turned out to be balanced between the juice and sweetener added -- as long as I can taste the calamansi! we have tried other pre-bottle calamansi juice which was way too sweet or watered down. Our meal came with a bowl of vegetable "Sinigang": lovely tangy and clean flavors - it was a perfect offset to the buttery goodness of the seafood to come.

Our shrimps and scallops arrived and at first glance it didn't look like I expected but the taste was like an explosion of butter and garlic. Very rich and flavorful and the shrimp was perfectly cooked and very meaty. The scallops were a bit small but I loved the taste of the char from the grill. All of course were quite fresh and it was enough to leave us both comfortably full.

It is a no-frills eatery but very efficient and the waitstaff was very friendly and helpful. I will be back next time and with a bigger appetite!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2018

Though the place was not that I expected, the food served was tasty specially the squid and the sizzling fish which were cooked fresh

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank mchisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

This is a very popular eatery in Bacolod City with spacious open-air and air-conditioned dining areas. It may look like an ordinary fish market and carinderia from the outside, but don't let appearances deceive you. The selection of fresh seafoods it serves is impressive! The staff are also very accommodating and service is fast. They also have an ample parking lot for customers. Thumbs up! Highly recommended!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank CzarEmmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Do not be deceived by the simplicity of its ambiance - simple wooden tables, chairs and little of this and that, no fuss and fancy doilies. Diotay’s compensated itself with a very good quick service and fresh delicious food. You pick your food ( variety of fresh seafoods or meat ) and instruct them how you would like it to be done - grill, broil, boil.. they do cook it to perfection. A bit crowded and busy during lunch time but you will be surely attended by the attentive waiters. Not a wine and dine place but variety of local ( alcoholic and non alcoholic ) drinks were available. Satisfying and Reasonable - the reason we visited this restaurant twice during our visit in Bacolod. A must place to dine.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Noriel_Orsini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

went there to have lunch with friends and family after 3 days of feasting on chicken inasal and the seafoods were fresh and delicious, cooked the bacolod way. all the seafood we ordered were delicious and no comment afterwards. just a full tummy and heartily satisfied.
tip: make sure to eat lunch there a little earlier as all the seafoods tends to vanish from the display area around 12 noon and all thats left are the pork and chicken meats.
it wont waste your time and prices are affordable.
its a big place but tends to get crowded around lunchtime.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diotay's also viewed

 
Bacolod, Negros Occidental
Bacolod, Negros Occidental
 
Bacolod, Negros Occidental
 

Been to Diotay's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing