We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great overall but too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2017

village resort with separate buildings, golf carts driving around, family oriented. very nice rooms, ours with huge terrace, nice facilities and water areas although most of it too shallow to swim properly. The beach was nothing special, food is ok and the resort is visited mainly by Koreans. Very nice staff with sense of attention (we got wine bottle and chocolates for free as honeymoon treat). However I find it too expensive for what you get compared to other 5-star resorts.

Room Tip: ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank danielarfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_Cebu, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2017

Dear danielarfi,

Thank you for coming all the way from Germany to celebrate your honeymoon at Plantation Bay!

We're pleased that you loved our rooms and facilities and that you appreciated our staff's efforts at making your honeymoon more memorable.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 163 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile

Our family of three stayed the during the season period. The service was of very high quality. Staff were friendly. When they are stopped working staaff were swift in allocating us a new room. Great choice of food. Just were high fees for in room dinning.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank pnghenryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_Cebu, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

Dear pnghenryb,

Thank you for the positive comment about our staff; they were happy to hear that you appreciated their efforts at assisting you with your room transfer.

Thank you too for complimenting our food. Most of our dishes are good for sharing. Next time you come back, please remind us of your comment about prices so that we can provide tips to frugal gastronomy at Plantation Bay.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017

My friend in the Philippines found this place and thought I would like it. So much so, he booked the room for me. It is an AMAZING property! My room had a large porch with steps right into the water. Lots of Palms, sand, and beautiful places to hang out at this resort. One of my favorite places in the Philippines has been the Pearl Farm Resort on Samal Island, however, I think this place just might top Pearl Farm! The room is large as is the bathroom. Room Service was very good. The buffet breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevewilhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_Cebu, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

Dear stevewilhite,

It is always a pleasure to read rave reviews from well-traveled guests like you! Considering the many fine hotels you have visited in over two hundred cities, we consider it high praise that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found Plantation Bay an amazing resort with well-appointed rooms, good food, and an ambience that truly feels "away from it all."

Thank you for the kind sentiments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile

Very nice service at a very reasonable price. I am already getting more than I expected.
They discribed not only the good side but also their weakness clearly on their website, which meant they are very confident with their facilities and services. And that was just right!
The lagoons and pools are so beautifully arranged. People serving here are very well trained. Food and drinks here are very nice. And ahh the spa. I'm returning there tomorrow <3
I was looking for simple and natural (or rather casual) resort rather than pricey and luxurious ones this time and this was just it! Thank you sooo much for such a great experience.

値段以上の、素晴らしい内容でした!
まず予約の段階でホームページでハッキリと長所短所を包み隠さず書かれており、その潔さがすばらしい。むしろ自信の表れなのだろうととることができました。実際に来てみてそのとおりでした。
ビーチが狭いので、ということで作られたラグーンですが、とてもきれい。
従業員もよく教育されています。ご飯も高すぎず、おいしい。すべて想像を超えてました。5日間見事に一歩もホテルから外にでませんでした。本当にお世話になりました。

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank えりお0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_Cebu, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear えりお0714,

We're happy to hear that Plantation Bay surpassed your expectations and was a pleasure for you and your friends.

Thank you for sharing that you found our saltwater lagoons and freshwater pools beautifully arranged, the staff well-trained, and the food and drinks impressive. And a big Thank you! for complimenting Mogambo Springs, our health and relaxation Spa unlike any other.

Our website features a Frank Discussion page, and like you, many guests find our honesty refreshing.

Thanks again for the kind review.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017 via mobile

We had a five day stay here and have enjoyed it very much. I would of given it 5 stars but the breakfast needs more variety like JPark. Also the entrance looks unattractive full of cars and the foyer is not modern enough. Kids pool are great. Beach area not attractive either.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank 861melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation_Bay_Cebu, General Manager at Plantation Bay Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

Dear 861melissa,

We're glad that you enjoyed your five-day stay at Plantation Bay and that you found our swimming facilities impressive!

While we constantly refurbish the hotel's lobby, we are careful to maintain its theme to match the resort's ambience. Our lobby features a 35-foot high vaulted ceiling with a central atrium in a unique style that evokes "plantation" but is also vaguely reminiscent of a 19th-centuryEuropean railway station.

Thank you for your review. We have taken note of your suggestion and will do our best to improve for your next visit.


Sincerely,
Efren P. Belarmino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
5.2 km away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
6.5 km away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
7.0 km away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
8.9 km away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,451 reviews
3.9 km away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: ₱9,923 - ₱14,707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing