We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Ok, fills an emply stomach but nothing much more”
Review of Hola Espana

Hola Espana
Ranked #26 of 222 Restaurants in Lapu Lapu
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 23 January 2016

I was disappointed, the restaurant has a fairly small menu of Spanish items, but even then they had a number of dishes that were not available. The strange thing is that they have an attached deli with wonderful cold cuts and cheeses but platters of these were not on the menu. I will give credit to the quality of their house wine which I found to be very pleasant, so in conclusion its an ok place that I am sure with better focus and attention could be a good restaurant

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

We really enjoyed the paella and pizzas although the service was a bit slow.
The ambience was nice as well
The fish dish was not cooked properly

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Avital H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

Whenever I fly to Cebu in never fail to eat at Hola Espana. Food is excellent especially the paella. However the pizza is really fantastic. My kids are saying how funny it is that their favorite pizza is in Spanish restaurant. One should not fail to eat here and grab a pitcher of Margarita. Wine selection is good too! Prices are very reasonable. A must in the Mactan area!

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank aroundtheworldwithC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

A small but good selection of tapas plus great red wines at great value compared with the shangri-la. Pretty much directly opposite to the shangri-la exit and great to escape the resort!

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank UKFemaleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 November 2015

We dined in for dinner here 2 nights ago as it was just right in front of the resort that we stayed in. We think their spaghetti was inconsistent. The shrimps was a good touch in the dish but the spaghetti sauce was too salty. There was too much cream sauce in the carbonara.

For a Chaine des Rottisseurs member, it was not really an appealing site to see the restaurant staff eat their meals in front of the guests and a kitchen staff not on uniform who was just standing around untidy visible to the guests. Their receipts don't also give you a breakdown of what you ordered and its costs. They just wrote it down on a piece of small paper and only give you a credit card receipt reflecting only the amount (with no breakdown attachments).

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Wigglefoottravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hola Espana also viewed

 
Mactan Island, Cebu Island
Mactan Island, Cebu Island
 

Been to Hola Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.