We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful. Wonderful.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abaca Boutique Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lapu Lapu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abaca Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful. Wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2017

The images don't do this marvelous little property justice. While the place is scheduled to be renovated soon, every corner of the hotel was pristine and well cared for and the water views are stunning. The staff could not have been more welcoming and the food was marvelous. Manager Edwin, Butlers Anthony, Angelo and Shena made our stay extraordinary. We appreciated the care they showered on all of us and we will be sure to come back to this gem of a "secret" in Cebu.

  • Stayed December 2016, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    38
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
77
211
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2016

Words cant describe how amazing this hotel is, we came here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon and I dont think the photos online do it justice, its simply stunning and a little bit of paradise away from the busy streets of Lapu Lapu. We were picked up at the airport and met with cold scented towels and bottles of water which are wiped clean before being passed to you. We arrived and were taken to our room to check in, we had a poolside oceanfront suite which was a fabulous room with a huge bathroom and lovely sunken bath! The butler offered to help unpack our suitcases for us which was a lovely touch and then settled us into the room and arranged dinner for us in the restaurant. The food was delicious and we ate in the restaurant each evening, one night they made a special Thai green curry for us which was so delicious we asked for the recipe. Chef Jay was so accommodating and came out to talk to us about the dish he'd prepared and also the night we had a private cabana dinner as he did a special dish just for us. I would highly recommend a cabana dinner if you are celebrating something special, the pool is lit with flame torches and they set up a table in one of the cabanas and serve your food to you there with your own private butler. We also ate breakfast each morning at the end cabana by the sea which was the perfect setting to start the day. We managed to get a cabana each day and the pool attendant looked after us even so far as to put towels around you when you get out of the pool. The butlers also couldnt do enough for us throughout our stay, they even went out to get some medicine for me when I felt unwell and when we took a day trip to swim with the whale sharks (an absolute must if you are in the area, well worth the 3 hours drive) they gave us pillows and a packed lunch for the journey as we had a very early start. I wish we could have stayed a few more days and I can honestly say I had tears in my eyes the morning we left I enjoyed it so much, Ive never felt like that about anywhere I have stayed before. Thanks to all the amazing team at the Abaca you truly made our honeymoon memorable and we cant wait to return for an anniversary!

  • Stayed November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisesolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2016

I purposely chose this resort because of all the high ratings it received from Trip Advisor. As someone who has been to several resorts all over the region, I expected much from a place that charges $600+ for a room. I also expected good food.

Well, the room is the same as what you will see in resorts all over the region. No really mind blowing amenities. Then the only facility the resort has is a pool and that's it. If you want a quiet time to relax, the resort is sandwiched between 2 resorts that, if you are unlucky will have loud groups the whole day.

The food is OK. Breakfast was very good but dinner was a big disappointment. I ordered their ribeye (among others) which costs P4400 for 650grams and it was not good at all. Considering all the new steak places in Manila (Wolfgang's has a 900gram ribeye for P4800) this was an overpriced tourist trap.

The saving grace - great service and very gentle and polite staff. But that alone will not make me want to come back or spend USD1,000 for an overnight stay for 4 (with meals, etc). Sorry Abaca, you need to make some changes...

Room Tip: Don't choose the room with the private pool, it's so small that it hardly qualifies as a poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gojollygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2016

We stayed at Abaca three nights in November 2016 and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. Service was friendly and attentive. The room was beautifully designed and decorated, and quite large and comfortable. The bathroom was also well-designed and comfortable, although there wasn't enough hot water to fill the large soaking tub; the hot water kept turning cold. Abaca Hotel began life as a restaurant, and the food is excellent. We had one breakfast brought to the room, and had several meals, both during the day and at night, in the restaurant. The food is really amazingly good! We would gladly return to Abaca, and wed recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yalofath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2016

this resort is definitely the best!! My family and I had a wonderful lunch here and it was amazing!! Chef Jay and his staff are very accommodating and very attentive to our needs..The FOOD IS GREAT!! Thank you for making our Cebu Trip extra special :)

  • Stayed November 2016, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank che b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.0 km away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
2.3 km away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
11.7 km away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 85 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
3.6 km away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaca Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaca Boutique Resort

Property: Abaca Boutique Resort
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price range (per night): ₱17,358 - ₱29,936
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abaca, one of the most exclusive boutique resorts is located in the beautiful central Philippines on Mactan Island. Abaca is a tropical hideaway that offers the tranquility of very private deluxe suites set in a lush tropical oceanfront retreat. In addition to the spacious suites and villas, guests enjoy full luxury spa and restaurant experiences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abaca Boutique Hotel Lapu Lapu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing