We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy environment at night”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Century Plaza Hotel
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed March 28, 2017

There were 4 of us in a family room. Lots of noise outside due to a disco bar nearby so you can't have a restful sleep. There is no refrigerator in the room so we can't store leftover food and drinks. The battery of the aircon remote was weak so we had some hard time during the few hours of our stay. The free breakfast meal is in a small open canteen outside offering free bottled water, service water and budget meals. It is a free smoking zone so beware. There is a convenience store across the street for simple needs. We didn't notice any other hotel guests. Wifi in room is good. It is near Fuente Osmena so the location is good. Very senior citizen-friendly with the ramps and rails.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shane3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 27 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

Excellent and good value for money..quiet room even though located in the center of the action.
It is a basic hotel so do not expect Hilton standards and extras. For a solo male traveller it is perfect.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2017

Stayed here with family. We took a family room for only 850 pesos during that time. The room was actually big but nothing fancy. Just don't expect too much but also don't expect too little. If you want to walk around Colon and Carbon, you can stay in this hotel. If you also want to ride a taxi or a jeep going to Ayala, the jeepneys stop just outside the hotel to pickup passengers so there's no need for you to walk to jeepney stops. There are also nearby cheap shops outside if you want to look for cheap clothes, gadgets, watches, etc. Plus they have a wifi. The only problem I encountered staying in our room is that there is no mobile signal. I had to go outside the room and look for a signal.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2016

I stayed in Cebu at a $20-per-night hotel the night before. I decided I would upgrade to a nicer, classier place, so I stayed at this place which was almost triple the cost of the other place I stayed in. Man, was I disappointed.

I walked into the lobby, and it was air conditioned, so that was a nice first impression. The staff were professional and welcoming. Check in was easy enough. I needed to leave a 1000 peso deposit.

Then I went to my room. The first thing I noticed is that there is about a one inch (or more) gap at the bottom of the door to the room, which opens to the outside. As you can imagine, this create two huge problems. 1. The air conditioning goes out of the room. 2. Any insect (cockroaches, mosquitos) can come into the room whenever they would like to. To try to solve these two problems, I used one of my bathtowels whenever I was in the room and laid it across the floor to cover the gap as well as I could.

The beds were nice, and comfortable. Overall, a quiet enough place to sleep too.

The TV did not work. The elevator to the lobby occasionally did not work. The two deal breakers for me though, were that the site I booked said the hotel has laundry services and in room wifi. The wifi... DID NOT WORK. ...and there was no laundry service. I went to the front desk, and changed my three day booking to a one day booking. I figured at the very least, I would go back to the $20 per night hotel and at least have good wifi when I needed it to book things.

I killed the biggest cockroach I have ever seen in a hotel. That was expected since the door is basically an insect-welcoming one inch gap over the floor. It crawled in under the door from outside (through the towel I had used to try to keep them out) and headed straight for the bathroom, as I expected. (Interestingly, these cockroaches do not employ the 'dodging skills' of cockroaches I experienced in China, which you had to swing at like 20 times before you got it. These Cebu cockroaches seem to not even be aware that you are coming for them, which makes it easier!) While going to the lobby to use the wifi there since there was no room wifi, I saw a wide variety of sizes of cockroaches. Again, stomping my feet, and waving things at them did not deter them from coming closer to my feet than I wanted them to be.

I would have given this place a 2 rating, but this was a PRICEY HOTEL for Cebu standards!!! They should not be charging more than $30 a room to stay in such a place! There are many hotels within a five minute walk which are much cheaper, where you would have the same problems, but with good wifi and better insulated doors.

This is not like America. You are very unlikely to find a 'bug free' room for under $100 USD per night, so it is not the same kind of indictment as it would be in the USA. But still, I was insulted that I had paid more money to come to this place which was worse than the much cheaper place I had stayed in the night before... There is no way to express the disappointment except by giving the first 1 rating I have ever given to a hotel.

Even if the room wifi had worked, I would have left and gone back to the previous hotel, which was very similar, but less than half the price.

I will say that this hotel is in a good location (like all of the cheaper ones beside it are) and you can easily walk to a variety of restaurants, coffee, and bars. They say they usually have wifi but it had not worked for a few days.

I can't say I would ever stay there again... I hope they improve on these things in the future after getting this kind of review, which I know nobody wants to get.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BalikpapanRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

We had an ok stay. Rooms were big & bathroom too. But no other amenities such as hot water kettle or mugs, or fridge in our family room. The family room is good for 3 people only and they will charge fee for additional person, but they will not offer additional beds nor towels or breakfast. The lobby leaves much to be desired. The day we checked out the lobby smelled overwhelmingly of week old trash.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.6 km away
Holiday Plaza Hotel
Holiday Plaza Hotel
#53 of 92 in Cebu City
79 reviews
0.1 km away
Premiere Citi Suites
Premiere Citi Suites
#45 of 92 in Cebu City
148 reviews
2.5 km away
Zerenity Hotel & Suites
Zerenity Hotel & Suites
#36 of 92 in Cebu City
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Canberry Hotel
Canberry Hotel
#46 of 92 in Cebu City
24 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#16 of 92 in Cebu City
175 reviews
0.5 km away
Cebu Grand Hotel
Cebu Grand Hotel
#60 of 92 in Cebu City
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Plaza Hotel

Address: Juana Osmena Street | Century Plaza Commercial Complex, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: ₱1,570 - ₱2,836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Century Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing