We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where one must visit, Santo Nino de Cebu is a very miraculous one, its the little Jesus”

Basilica del Santo Nino
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.00*
and up
3-Hour Small Group Cebu City Tour
Ranked #1 of 85 things to do in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous church dates back to the early Spanish colonial era. The Church was founded by the Augustinian friars since their arrival in 1565. You could also find in the church the miraculous image of Sto. Nino (Child-Jesus).
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I always love to go to church and specially if I am in Cebu, It doesn't matter if its full of people, People from all over the world, will come and pay respect to the Little Jesus.

Date of experience: December 2011
1  Thank Reiser1Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"old church"
in 77 reviews
"magellan's cross"
in 144 reviews
"child jesus"
in 54 reviews
"beautiful church"
in 53 reviews
"bell tower"
in 18 reviews
"light a candle"
in 34 reviews
"pay homage"
in 16 reviews
"attend mass"
in 15 reviews
"holy place"
in 20 reviews
"catholic faith"
in 18 reviews
"sinulog festival"
in 32 reviews
"visit this place"
in 32 reviews
"visit cebu"
in 21 reviews
"tourist spot"
in 17 reviews
"historical place"
in 15 reviews
"fort san pedro"
in 15 reviews
"devotees"
in 125 reviews
Filter

1,403 - 1,407 of 1,960 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

One of my itineraries whenever I went to different provinces is to visit some local churches or religious structures. When I went to Cebu, my colleague strongly suggest to go to Basilica de Sto. Niño. I must say that this is the most beautiful church I've been to. Plus, I just learned that this is much greater than a "shrine" or a "cathedral" because it is a "basilica" in which the Pope only will have the authority to rank a church to a basilica.

Upon entry, you will see the Magellan's Cross, a symbol that brought Christianity/Catholicism to the Philippines based on our history. You will see a lot of people going from and to the basilica. This, I must say is one of the oldest and grandest I've seen. For Sto. Niño devotees, you have the option to look at the Sto. Niño Shrine just be reminded that it will took you some time since the queue is very long. Along the alleys, you can see different paintings and pictures that shows Cebu's famous people of faith. I felt a strong feeling of faith when I went here. This is really a must see in Cebu.

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank mrqr_dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2012

It was the first friday of the month so the place was buzzing with locals and tourists. It was like any other old church, much like the ones in intramuros and very much like the architecture of UST. I liked that it had such an old world charm that somehow brings back memories of going to church when i was a kid in the province.

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank Tanya Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2012

One of the first basilicas built outside Europe, this is a musts-see for visitors of Cebu. Although one has to line up to get near the image of the Holy Child Jesus (15 to 30 minutes depending on the day and time. At 1pm on a saturday, we waited 15 mins.), the feeling of being blessed from such a sacrifice was worth it. Don't forget to light a candle at a separate area outside the church or request from the old women outside the church to light some candles and help you pray for your intentions. This might look like a money-making scheme but your 5 or 10 pesos can go a long way to help these people with their daily basic needs.
After visiting the basilica, proceed to Magellan's cross just outside the compound. It is an octagonal kiosk containing the black wood casing which houses the original cross planted by Magellan to commemorate the conversion of the islanders to Christianity.
TIP - Just like in any public place be extra careful with your bags. Better not wear jewelries.

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank rose168_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012

A must to see when you visit Cebu, though I do not particularly like the crowd. It's hard to concentrate inside because of the many devotees that visit the church.

Date of experience: January 2012
Thank SyShore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica del Santo Nino also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Basilica del Santo Nino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing