We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dried Seafood”

Taboan Public Market
Ranked #25 of 114 things to do in Cebu City
Attraction details
Marilao, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dried Seafood”
Reviewed June 26, 2015

This is the place to be for dried seafood. They also sell other pasalubong. If your not familiar with the actual price of the products, canvass the price in different store. Check the quality of the products and don't forget to haggle for a lower price.

Visited November 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AELorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    46
    15
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dried fish and mangoes”
Reviewed May 22, 2015

A one stop shop market where you can find not only Danggit but also dried mangoes and Otap. For tourists, can just buy a lot of "pasalubong" here much cheaper than buying at the airport. It's just that I have doubts on vendors selling jewelries made of pearls. I'm not sure if those are real. One store staff told us that it is fake.

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank Soy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dried Fish”
Reviewed May 19, 2015

Every time I visit Cebu Taboan Market is always in my list to go to. Its better know compared years back. There is a big space know that parking is not a problem. Great bargain for upward back in Manila

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank Morris Adelon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dried Fish to the Max!”
Reviewed May 1, 2015

If you need to do your shopping for dried fish this is the place you need to be in Cebu. This is quite popular so transportation would not be a problem. Try to get here early in the morning before your other itinerary or late after you're done with your itinerary for the day since the place is quite smelly and the smell would definitely be all over you after you leave the market.

You can also buy other pasalubong items here like dried mangoes but a bit more expensive. You can also buy dried fish inside the market which is cheaper than the stalls outside.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank AnywhereJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Taboan Experience”
Reviewed April 28, 2015

It all started when we received gifts of Cebu's Treasures: dried mangoes, dried fish and "dried" looking stuffs like piaya and pinasugbo. They looked dry but they all tasted deliciously crazy. Stories from friends about their trip to Cebu made all the dining mouth-watering.

Holy week was fast approaching and most of our friends went lunatic on looking for best deals and air fares. Well, we booked ourselves a week after the Holy Week when everyone preferred to stay home and busy planning on how to pay their credit cards bills.

The Ninoy Aquino International airport was half-full and half-empty (depending on how you view it). We had enough chairs and tables sipping our favorite latte in one of the coffee shops in the lobby. The wifi connection was strong and no toeing the line at the comfort rooms.

The sun was up and we could almost hear the splashing of the waves when we arrived in Mactan. Or we were just so delirious with all the excitement. After few minutes from the conveyor, a representative from the hotel ushered us to the van.

We opted to visit the Taboan Market in Cebu City as instructed by our friends. It would be best to see the place first and buy all these dried stuffs as Cebu has "full of things to do".

The Taboan Market is located in Pahina Central, Cebu City. The market offers all kinds of dried fish. They vary from sizes, colors, smell and even parts of the fish: fins or skins (scales). But the most favored one is the "danggit". You can ask for the salty ones or the unsalted ones.

The prices are not actually friendly but they are a chunk cheaper when you prefer to buy them at the malls. Dried mangoes also come in different packing, packaging and pricing. But I preferred the unpacked ones because they are so affordable.

Caveat, the smell of the dried fish is so pleasing to my nostrils but tend to be so unfriendly with your labandera. The smell sticks to your clothes and better be prepared with extra plastic bags should you decide not to wash them until you get back home.

To capture your memories with Taboan, have your camera ready or your cellphones battery packed with energy. Or you will literally eat your memories with their famous danggit,

Happy shopping.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank ShortsTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taboan Public Market also viewed

Cebu City, Cebu Island
Cebu Island, Visayas
 

Been to Taboan Public Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing