We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$23
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/06/22
Booking.com
$19
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/06/22
Agoda.com
$20
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/05/22
FindHotel$20
eDreams$19
Etrip$20
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
25
46
29
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
25
46
29
11
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 119 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2019

The Managers of this hotel shld learn how to approach their clients in a more pleasing manner and also their front desks officer to put a little smile on their faces. Stayed last july 2019 for 8 days.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Terebarrido
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is situated near the catholic church, Vibo Place, Escario Central and many more fantastic restaurants.. 15-20 mins drive away from IT park/Ayala. We’re just disappointed with their restaurant since KANA restau is only open during dinner time (though they have 24-hr lechon restau. ) So, we opted to eat breakfast at Pension house restau which is across the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Aillen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vya01, Manager at OYO 187 The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for giving us four stars in your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with KANA Resto Bar's operating hours. We do have Lechon Belly, which is open 24-7 and a wonderful vegan restaurant called Vegan Deli Fooodhaus, which is open for lunch and dinner most days.

We are aware these aren't adequate breakfast options. However, we would like to note that our hotel does not operate it's own restaurants. All the restaurants and other establishments operating within the hotel property are renting space from the property owners.

This is why we encourage our guests to have breakfast outside the hotel. Aside from the Pension House's coffee shop across the street, there are plenty of other breakfast options just a short walk from our hotel, including: Jollibee, McDonald's, Cafe Sarree, Birdseed Breakfast Club + Cafe, and so on. There is also a Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf and a Starbucks nearby.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

The Maxwell Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

A friend of mine from Manila stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and I crashed in. Rate for 2 nights is roughly around P2400 with no breakfast. It has basically served its purpose as a place to just sleep. Room is normal in size that has 2 single beds. Pillows were a bit thin though and restrooms is a bit rundown with no bidet.

There is a restaurant located at the ground floor that serves breakfast from 100.00. Thry also have Cebus Lechon Belly open 24/7.

Location wise the hotel is sorrounder by fastfood restaurants(Jollibee,Mcdonalds, BurgerKing) and other restaurants amd bars. Starbucks is also a walking distance and as well as Coffeebean. Convenient stores are also located within the area.

If you just want a place to sleep in a budget then this place will just serve its purpose.

Date of stay: August 2018
3  Thank lawrence071489
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verne A, Manager at OYO 187 The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear Lawrence O,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We're glad you found it a good place to sleep. Many guests are happy with our central location, close to fast food restaurants, coffee shops, and convenience stores.

Your comment regarding our thin pillows, slightly shabby state of our restroom, and lack of bidet is noted. We will raise these concerns to our general manager.

If you are on a budget and looking for an affordable no-frills accommodation in Cebu City, our hotel is a good choice.

Thank you very much,

The Maxwell Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

we checked in 7:30pm
before we checked in to our room, we have to wait 5-10minutes.they have to check the room first. wtf??? its evening they must prepare the room already given that we booked online and indicated late arrival.

as we enter the room incomplete things:
1. no towels
2. only 1 soap
we have to wait another 10 minutes for the towels and soap

we have a flight to catch on the following day, guess what! no water running!!!
they have to fix the pipe and we need to wait 15mins. we have waited 20-25minutes!
not going back here! its like an inn or pension house, definitely not a hotel experience. hope the owner can read this.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verne A, Manager at OYO 187 The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Dear Mary F,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We would like to apologize for the problems you experienced when checking in to our hotel. It is standard procedure to check the room first before letting the guest enter the room, no matter what time of the day or night he checks in.

However, that there were no towels and only 1 bar of soap in your room even after the room was checked is unacceptable, and we have reprimanded the hotel staff who were in charge of cleaning and checking your room.

We are also sorry that the water ran out when you were taking a bath on the day of your check out. We sometimes run out of water when our hotel is fully booked. But that is a temporary situation that only happens once in a blue moon, when all our guests are taking a bath at the exact same time.

Rest assured that our general manager has been informed of your experience,

Thank you very much,

The Maxwell Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

Just spent 2 weeks at the Maxwell and was impressed with the overall cleanliness and friendliness of the helpful staff.The hotel has no doubt seen better days,but most of the rooms are more than adequate size with good ensuites ,desks and power outlets. They provide soap and shampoo,but no coffee or tea facilities or mini bar. However,Starbucks and Macdonalds are just across the road with a pedestrian bridge to avoid the constant traffic .The breakfast is just fair if it's included in the cost, but better choices outside otherwise. Plenty of eateries nearby and Ayala shopping centre is only a ten minute walk or $2 in a taxi.
It's not flash,but for the money it's clean,comfortable and convenient.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verne A, Manager at OYO 187 The Maxwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear spikem49129,

Thank you for staying two weeks at our hotel. We are glad you found our hotel clean, our staff friendly and helpful, and our rooms adequately sized and furnished.

Our central location is one of the things guests love most about our hotel. Popular fast food restaurants and coffee shops are located nearby. There are plenty of breakfast places too for those who prefer to pass on our hotel breakfast.

Like you mentioned, we seek to provide a budget accommodation that is clean, comfortable, and convenient.

Thank you very much,

The Maxwell Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews