We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature retreat that is worth an entire day to visit”

Malagos Garden Resort
Ranked #11 of 74 things to do in Davao City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Be one with nature and rediscover Malagos!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nature retreat that is worth an entire day to visit”
Reviewed December 1, 2016

If you love nature with the serenity of a sprawling complex of well maintained nature then this place is worth a visit for you might spend an entire day here. You do notice that years have been invested to carefully shape this place to where it is now. It is also home to an award winning Malagos Chocolate that can match the quality of other black chocolates around the world. They do have accommodations if you want to stay overnight. Of all the places I've been in Davao, this is #2 with #1 being the Philippine Eagle Center (which happens to be less than a kilometer from Malagos Garden Resort).

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Gali_Valiente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagos-Garden, Manager at Malagos Garden Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2017
Hello Gali_Valiente,

Indeed it took years of hard work alongside the local community to give this place the attention it deserves. We really appreciate you noticing! It is an honor to make it to your Top 2 places in Davao! Hope you can come back and enjoy more of our chocolates. You should try our cheeses and vegetable salad from our hydroponic garden next time to complete your Malagos Experience!

Thank you so much for your feedback! :)

In service,
MGR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    65
    33
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“lovely, serene garden”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

We visited this coming from The Eagle Center mainly to buy the Malagos chocolates and cheeses. It is a garden with lots of interesting activities but with pockets of quiet corners if one would just want to have some peace and quiet. Worth visiting. Of course, the chocolates are very very good, as well as the Blush cheese that I got.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank tonitanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagos-Garden, Manager at Malagos Garden Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2017
Hello tonitanch,

We're very pleased to know that you find the peace and calm of the resort to your liking. We try to offer a place that people can go to retire and retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city.

We're also glad to know you find our chocolates and cheeses good. Have you tried our chocolate dessert platter and cheese platters? Or maybe a sip of our homemade Bignay wine? It's a must.

Our staff are happy to know of your positive feedback. Thank you for visiting! :)

In service,
MGR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good, but not enough”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 via mobile

Soooo expensive, entrance fee, plus swimming, sky walking, kalesa ride uuggrrhh! Almost everything and dont have much animals to watch to. Not worth for a 100 peso tour

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank maeanndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagos-Garden, Manager at Malagos Garden Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2017
Hello maeanndrea,

Thank you so much for giving us your feedback!

We're sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your visit. But just a thought, maybe you weren't able to roam the entire resort? Our P100 peso rate already includes access to our Science In The Park tour which includes our interactive indoor and outdoor museums and exhibits aside from our interactive animal domes and zoos all laid out on 12-hectares of land. Our staff may have fell short in letting you know of our other included amenities.

Will let our staff know! Thank you again for your visit and hope you can come back so we can serve you better.

In service,
MGR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Memorable visit to happy birds”
Reviewed November 11, 2016

This is a spacious resort with cottages with ethnic motif, trees, plants, restaurant with ingeniously prepared food, and happy birds perched on handler's shoulders as part of the Welcoming Committee to arriving guests. The resort owners are also into conservation of different bird species and upgrading of their cafe's menu from native goat cheese and tropical fruit wine. They even train small, medium-sized and large birds for beautiful exhibitions to every one in Davao to enjoy. Sometimes, they bring these lively and bird-friendly shows to other parts of the Philippines. It's truly a joy to be at Malagos Resort!

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank tito u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagos-Garden, General Manager at Malagos Garden Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2016
Hello tito u!

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Us in the entire resort, including Midori and Toby (our welcome birds) are glad to be of service to you as well. Hope you can come back! :)

In service,
MGR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best chocolates in town”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

The place is huge with lots of fun activities for people of all ages. Everything going we ordered for lunch in their restaurant/cafe tasted really good. We ordered lechon kawali, twice-cooked adobo, pinakbet, pork binagoongan. The chocolate freeze and the desserts, chocolate panna cota & chocolate molten lava, were to die for. They have their own chocolate farm/ factory & they make the best chocolates this side of the planet.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Abbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagos-Garden, General Manager at Malagos Garden Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2016
Hello Abbie!

I'll make sure to let our kitchen staff know that you find the food they prepared beyond satisfactory. I'm sure they'll be really happy. Were you able to try our Malagos Surprise? It's one of the best crepes in town! Hope you can come back again and try it.

Thank you so much for your feedback. We try our best every day. Balik-balik! :)

In service,
MGR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malagos Garden Resort also viewed

Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 

Been to Malagos Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing