We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Yel_ldn
London, United Kingdom

Nostalgic hotel. Comfortable stay.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 11, 2023
I’ve stayed at this hotel many times. It’s quite nostalgic going back. My last visit showed that the hotel is in need of an update as the rooms are a little dull, and the beach is quite depressing.

However, the location can’t be beaten, nor can the price of the rooms. The hotel is dated but it’s clean and my stays are always pleasant. The hotel has good security and the typical facilities to make it a good option while in Davao.

Most of the staff are very helpful. I found the café, spa, restaurant and reception staff very sweet and eager to assist. However, some of the bell boys would stand around and gossip about guests at the entrance to the hotel which was inappropriate. They were speaking in the local dialect which I can understand (but as I’m mixed and don’t look at all like a local, it wouldn’t appear as if I wouldn’t speak/understand Visayan so those bell boys thought it would be ok to gossip around someone who looked foreign). There were at least 2 instances during my stay where I was waiting at the entrance while security got a taxi/my hired driver, and I overheard the gossiping. I looked pointedly at the group of men because their comments were really offensive. I heard comments about the weight of an American couple and comments on the attractiveness of female guests…

In short, this hotel is fine to stay in while in Davao.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waterfront Davao, Marketing at Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao, responded to this review
Responded Nov 20, 2023
Dear Yel_ldn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your continued loyalty and are delighted that you find our hotel nostalgic and enjoy the comfortable stay we provide.

We understand your concerns about the need for updates in our rooms and the state of the beach. Please know that we take your feedback seriously, and we are constantly working towards enhancing our facilities to provide our guests with the best experience possible. Your comments will be shared with our management team for further consideration.

We're glad to hear that our location and room prices meet your expectations. We strive to offer competitive rates and a convenient location for our guests to enjoy their stay in Davao.

We apologize for the behavior of some of our bell boys. Rest assured that we do not condone such behavior. We will address this issue with our staff to ensure that all guests are treated with the utmost respect and professionalism.

On a positive note, we are thrilled to learn that most of our staff, including those at the café, spa, restaurant, and reception, were sweet and eager to assist you. We pride ourselves on providing a warm and friendly atmosphere for our guests, and we will continue to encourage our team to deliver exceptional service to all.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us. We value your feedback, as it helps us improve our services and provide a better experience for our guests. If there is anything else we can assist you with or if you have any further concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Davao.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₱1,437
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,320
  • StayForLong
3.1 km from Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱3,394
  • Expedia.com
    ₱3,852
  • Agoda.com
    ₱3,111
  • Hotels.com
    ₱4,349
2.5 km from Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱5,888
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
    ₱6,778
  • Agoda.com
    ₱2,025
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱6,413
₱5,605
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₱5,601
  • Hotels.com
    ₱5,600
  • Radissonhotels.com
    ₱5,600
2.4 km from Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱2,131
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
    ₱2,033
  • Agoda.com
    ₱973
  • Hotels.com
    ₱2,170
6.2 km from Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱2,308
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
6.0 km from Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱2,990
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,091
  • Agoda.com
    ₱2,762
  • Hotels.com
    ₱9,089
6.2 km from Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱2,162
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,854
  • Vio.com
6.2 km from Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₱1,326
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,270
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    ₱1,316
  • Agoda.com
    ₱928
  • StayForLong
5.9 km from Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Free parking
View more hotels in Davao City
Reviews (1,662)
Filter reviews
1,662 results
Traveler rating
433
639
347
153
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
433
639
347
153
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut trees samal island breakfast buffet wedding uno security relaxation seminar foods philippines convention personnel cafe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,662 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2023 via mobile

After back from our honeymoon we decided to stay in davao for a night and since my husband is an indulgence member so we use our suite voucher for upgrade. The place was old but comfortable. It was just like 10-15mins drive from the airport to hotel. Staffs was very welcoming and accommodating. Room was spacious and had a huge balcony. But please trim the coconut trees near the balcony so the guest can see the beautiful greeny scenery if they prefer to relax in the balcony area. Food from outside is also allowed but informed the reception prior ordering your food and it was a plus❤️ Food was great, the greeny surroundings will help you feel more relax, we had dinner near the pool area and they have the best shrimp pizza! (Forgot the name though)😁 Please don’t miss it! Also got a fresh buko juice! The supervisor was awesome and very attentive, everyone was warm❤️

Con’s: Since the place was old, you will use the stairs to your room, hotel don’t have an elevator, good thing the bellman will help you to send your bags to your room using the stairs.
But overall, it was indeed a good stay. Will surely come back again.🌻 Thank You!

Room tip: Don’t bring huge trolleys coz hotel don’t have elevators. If you will be coming with seniors better you request for the 1st floor rooms🙏🏻
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank queenaze l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waterfront Davao, Marketing at Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2023

Dear queenaze l,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as part of your honeymoon experience in Davao! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay and that our Indulgence membership program allowed you to enjoy a suite upgrade.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the comfort of our rooms and the warm welcome you received from our staff. It's wonderful to know that you found the room spacious with a huge balcony. We understand your suggestion about trimming the coconut trees near the balcony to enhance the view, and we'll definitely take this into consideration for the future.

We're delighted that you enjoyed the flexibility of being able to order food from outside and dine near the pool area. The Chili Garlic Shrimp Pizza and fresh buko juice are indeed delightful choices! We'll make sure to pass on your compliments to the rest of the team for their attentiveness and warm service.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the absence of elevators. Due to the unique architectural design of our hotel, we don't have elevators. However, we're glad to hear that our bellmen were helpful in assisting you with your luggage.

Once again, congratulations on your recent marriage, and thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests, and we hope to welcome you back in the future for more memorable moments.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2023 via mobile

Good service specially Manager Mr Russels. Continue the good work Mr. Russel.
Very thankful also for giving us a lovely suite room. The view from bay side was very relaxing👌
All staff from housekeeping is doing thier duties very good.
Ms Regine of Cafe Uno very good too! 👌
The food, the place, and all the staff were giving them a 10 rating.
Thank you again for taking good care of us..

Room tip: Nothing, all is perfect for us. 👌❤️
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ligaya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao, Marketing at Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2023

Dear ligaya s,

It was a pleasure serving you during your last stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experiences with us, especially in our food, ambiance, and service.

We're glad you felt the warm hospitality we've continued to uphold. Do know that we will let Russel, Regine, Housekeeping Staff, and the rest of the team know about your compliment and commendation.

We hope you’ll come and see us again soon!


Sincerely,

Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2023

We got married in this hotel in 2017 and to see it decline is shocking,its has the most amazing grounds and a beautiful view od Samal,its inside the rooms are so dated,Ac doesn’t work properly and i feel sorry for the staff who have to deal with the complaints and they know it cant be fixed because it’s ancient,no hot water to have a shower,towels were old and damaged with overuse,I wouldn’t let my Daughter go in the pool it was that dirty
I understand the decline might have something to do with covid closures but the owners need to invest back into the hotel to bring it in line with the more modern hotels and help the lovely staff
All that’s happening now is your getting big room rates but the reputation is bad with the state of the rooms,this has the potential to be once again be the gem of Davao but owners need to invest in modern decor and the AC is a joke

Room tip: Dont go near til its updated,no AC or hot water
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao, Marketing at Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2023

Dear P9377YPbrendanb,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Our goal has always been to provide our guests with memorable stays and we apologize if this wasn't exactly reflected during your stay.

Rest assured that we have taken note of your complaints, escalated them to our departments, and have taken measures to address the issues you encountered. We look forward to making it up to you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2023

Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The ambiance was inviting - nicely landscaped and surrounded by lots of trees and plants. What stood out in our stay was the excellent customer service of their staff. From the Front Desk to the restaurant, staff were knowledgeable, professional and courteous. Ms. Mary Ann Gulayan (Front Desk) went above and beyond in resolving some issues we had during our stay. She was just a wonderful person. Restaurant staff did the same thing - very service oriented and attentive to guests (Rose). Rooms need to be refurbished badly. They need to be overhauled.

Room tip: Rooms need to be refurbished badly. They need to be overhauled.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kalayaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao, Marketing at Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2023


Dear Kalayaan,

We appreciate you for taking the time to write such a polite and thorough evaluation of our hotel in which you praised the breakfast buffet spread and facades.


As the premiere hotel-resort destination in the city, our goal has always been to provide the level of exceptional service that our guests deserve and we're delighted to know that we have succeeded with this objective.

Do know that we will let Mary Ann, Rose, and our whole team know about your warm commendation. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2023 via mobile

Had several issues while staying here. Called front desk 3 times and asked to speak to a manager and never did I get a reply from any management staff.

Further when I came to check in it was slow and seeming the staff not interested in getting things done.

On a positive side the waterfront is an older hotel with wonderful grounds and beautiful walking areas. Rooms are quite large but older with bathtub showers.

Food was average and seemed more quantity than quality for my tastes.

Beautiful hotel but then they need to be able to hear feedback for quality improvements and seemingly they don’t.

Room tip: Yes ask or book a pool view overlooking the water No elevators so have stairs.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
7  Thank lchilcoat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao, Marketing at Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2023

Dear Ichilcoat2000,

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your time to provide us with this valuable feedback.

We are very sorry you didn’t have a great experience in our hotel as you encountered an unresponsive staff. Our mission is to provide excellent guest experiences, so we are sorry that this was not reflected in your recent stay with us.

We have taken your feedback on board, escalated them to our departments, and have taken measures to address the issues you encountered. Nonetheless, we thank you for appreciating our hotel grounds and walking areas.

We look forward to making it up to you on your next visit.


Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews