We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kitty_cat_0318

Nice place but needs improvement

Review of Aureo la Union
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 4, 2024via mobile
Aureo La Union.. we went here to celebrate my Mom's bday. First off, the place was big and has guarded parking. However, the drop off area can accommodate only 1 car at a time and you have to queue. The area has 2 pools and 2 restos but the area feels a bit cramped due to overgrown plants and circling paths. From the main building, there is limited to no view of the beach. Only the poolside and beachfront villas will have direct access or view to the beach. We occupied the family room which was spacious and can accommodate 6 pax. However it is located towards the end of the hall. Each unit has a big aqua flask which you can fill with water near the elevator lobbys. The room has free snacks 2 small nova, 1 small oreo roll. We requested an extra bed with extra charge but the one provided has a thin mattress. The poolside rooms located at the ground floor have their own stretch of pool not accessible by guests. Breakfast was included in the rooms. It is served in the restaurant near the beach area. Swimming in the pools are until 10pm and in the beach only until 6pm. Waves are stronger in the afternoon. Sand was fine and water was clear. Though sometimes there are trash in the beach area and no one cleans them until morning. Breakfast was ok but not spectacular. Mostly dried fish, cheese sausage and regular food like pansit or breaded porkchop. Refill is taking awhile. Self service for coffee and ice tea. The egg station is also taking time to serve food. Also, there is not much activity at night. There was a setup in the beach area for evening dining and projector for movies however it was for a private event. I hope they can offer beach bbq dining or other night activities at night like in bora. The food in the first resto served international cuisine but it's not really that appetizing and sometimes they forget your order. They only have buffet for meryenda. One more thing, i informed them that we have a birthday celebrant, they said let us know when we leave the room. When we left the room at 7pm for dinner and informed them, they said no one is available to setup the birthday surprise anymore. They can do it after bfast the next day which was not that valuable anymore. The resort also encourages everyone not to give tips, you can put them in a general tip box. Overall, the stay was good and staff were friendly but since people are travelling 3 to 4hrs to reach their resort, they should offer worthwhile activities that would entice people to return.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aureo Launion, Guest Services / Front Office at Aureo la Union, responded to this review
Responded Jun 3, 2024
Greetings from Aureo La Union! Thank you for your feedback. Apologies for this experience and rest assured that the management has taken action to address this matter and will continue to improve our services so this will not happen again. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you here again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Trip.com
1.7 km from Aureo la Union
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱1,709
₱1,605
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₱1,611
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱1,709
  • Vio.com
1.8 km from Aureo la Union
₱1,674
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    ₱1,950
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,337
  • Hotels.com
    ₱1,772
2.6 km from Aureo la Union
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Elegant
  • Agoda.com
3.9 km from Aureo la Union
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Trip.com
7.1 km from Aureo la Union
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
19.0 km from Aureo la Union
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Breakfast Served on Hotel Mikka. (Sauteed Hotdog, Egg with Rice. Served With Coffee.)
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Aureo la Union
Room service
Worst hotel ever
    5.7 km from Aureo la Union
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    5.0 km from Aureo la Union
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    6.7 km from Aureo la Union
    View more hotels in San Fernando La Union
    Reviews (252)
    Filter reviews
    252 results
    Traveler rating
    84
    74
    35
    28
    31
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    84
    74
    35
    28
    31
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews beach front swim up room la union buffet breakfast lagoon pool relaxing stay nachos big servings early check front office rice beautiful resort san fernando other resorts soup beach area deluxe room
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 252 reviews
    Reviewed March 19, 2024

    We had fun and enjoyed staying in the hotel. We initially booked for an overnight stay, but ended up extending for another day because it was affordable due to my PWD discount. Since the hotel was informed that we will be spending our wedding anniversary there (so a heads up pays up), they had a surprise of us waiting when we got in to our room. My wife and I appreciated it very much. We did not expect a crowd, but then again it was the weekend. The view from the balcony was also very nice, overlooking the lazy river and the beach. The room was clean. The water dispenser is at the far end while our room was almost at the other end, it's quite a walk. The lazy river is very nice, very clean. My 6yo daughter loves it. She can manage the other pool near the beach by herself since it has a slope. The food at the breakfast buffet is okay, it's just that it's crowded because everyone wants to dine with a beach view. We ordered a cripsy noodles for lunch, the sauce was a bit salty.

    Overall, it was a good experience. and we would like to stay some time again. Thank you very much for the treat!

    Room tip: Pools and buffet are gets crowded during the weekends.
    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Jevin O
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Aureo Launion, Guest Services / Front Office at Aureo la Union, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2024

    Greetings from Aureo La Union! Thank you for enjoying your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 4, 2024

    On our first day of stay, guards held us at parking lot because they said we cannot bring out the beach towels. Did we check out already??? Please charge us during check out, if we lost or did not return your off white/stained bath towels. As your hotel guests, we have all the right to use the towels however and wherever we want to go.By the way, we booked 3 rooms and 2 villas for our family to stay for 2 nights. So it shows we can afford to pay for your cheap towels!

    Room tip: Stay somewhere else with good staff attitude and value for your money. Beach towels can’t be placed on sand?
    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank charlottecR5873GI
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Aureo Launion, Guest Services / Front Office at Aureo la Union, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2024

    Greetings from Aureo La Union! Thank you for your feedback. Apologies for this experience and rest assured that the management has taken action to address this matter and will continue to improve our services so this will not happen again. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you here again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 28, 2024

    Menu on restaurants have so many items that are not available. Better to limit the menu to food and drinks that can actually be served. Quality of food is so bad, particularly the pasta and pizza. Price of food is not commensurate to its serving size and quality. Service on restaurants is just as bad. Servers are inattentive, slow to react, and generally poorly trained. Also, regular guests should not be cramped with large number of convention delegates for breakfast, or any other meal. No one wants to have a meal outdoors with falling dried leaves and a pooping stray cat. Didn't see any lifeguard for three days (serious safety issue). Can also be noisy in rooms because of nearby airport. All in all poor value for money. Will NOT come back and will NOT recommend.

    Room tip: Dont go. Other nearby hotels provide better value for money
    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank ALC63
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Aureo Launion, Guest Services / Front Office at Aureo la Union, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2024

    Dear ALC63,

    Greetings From Aureo La Union!

    Thank you for your feedback. Apologies for this experience and rest assured that the management has taken action to address this matter and will continue to improve our services so this will not happen again. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you here again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 29, 2023 via mobile

    Situated in the San Fernando, La union, near the busy city, around 10 minutes from the local mall and a few more minutes to our tourist attractions, what more could you ask for?

    The front desk staff were courteous and always ready to accommodate visitors.

    The room we stayed in was one of the best rooms we stayed in already, and considering it was only their more basic rooms, and each room has one of the best views of the ocean, im a little biased because i prefer a sunset view.

    Pool area (especially the moving river) topnotch, a lot of restaurants within the hotel to choose from you wont need to go out. Which what we did for our Christmas dinner.

    A wonderful 1st Christmas for me and my wife because of the place, Truly a gem in the North, Aureo, highly recommended.

    Room tip: There are loads of parking spaces in the hotel grounds. There is another breakfast buffet on the beach side ( we didn't realize it earlier)
    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    Thank julianeduardoc970
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Aureo Launion, Guest Services / Front Office at Aureo la Union, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2024

    Dear julianeduardoc970,


    Greetings from Aureo La Union!

    Thank you for enjoying your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 12, 2023

    The GOOD: nice beach with white powdery sand, accommodating staff, lots of play area for kids, adequate room size, ample parking, convenient location- near the city

    The BAD: poor sound proofing- need to pull the door to close which generates a lot of noise, food so-so yet expensive, toiletries subpar- soap consistency worse than laundry bar.

    Anyway, things would have been ok acceptable if one looks at the whole scheme of things. However, i accidentally left my gold necklace @ the desk and realized it was not in my person close to 12 hrs after check out. When I called the resort regarding this, they reported it was nowhere to be found. I dont want to speculate nor make any unfounded accusation but I am pretty sure it was left at the desk. The hotel did exert SOME effort to locate it but this experience tainted my impression of the place. Will definitely NOT be going back

    Date of stay: December 2023
    Trip type: Traveled on business
    Thank 888jjk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Aureo Launion, Guest Services / Front Office at Aureo la Union, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2024

    Dear 888jjk,


    Greetings from Aureo La Union!

    Thank you for your feedback. Apologies for this experience and rest assured that the management has taken action to address this matter and will continue to improve our services so this will not happen again. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you here again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews