We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love their crazy maki!”
Review of Senju

Senju
Ranked #7 of 552 Restaurants in Mandaluyong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Senju elegantly transforms the Japanese dining experience into an art form. Each plate is treated like a masterpiece, created with passion and limitless imagination. Calculated presentations create a striking balance between beauty and flavour. The chef’s artistry can truly be seen in foods such as sushi, maki, sashimi and robatayaki, as well as special kaiseki menus. The restaurant has a total seating capacity of 130 diners and features four private rooms. Smoking is not permitted.
Reviewed 26 July 2018

The title says it all. I especially loved their crazy maki, but their other selections are also very good!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel K, Director of Food & Beverage at Senju, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Ryan P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are truly delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant dining experience. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Lionel K
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2018

On a recent stay in Manila at the Shangri-La Hotel we dined at Senju,the Japanese restaurant inside the hotel. So glad we did.

We ordered a bottle of cold sake and some sushi before ordering additional pieces of sashemi. The fish was tasty and fresh and in spite of the late hour and few patrons, the service was surprisingly inattentive. We actually had to track down the waiter in order to get our check.

However, this is a delightful and very civilized Japanese restaurant and extremely convenient if you are staying in the hotel. We highly recommend it.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel K, Director of Food & Beverage at Senju, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear atljpb,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted to hear that you are generally satisfied with your dining experience with us. Your observations have also been noted and shared to our operations team for review and continuous improvement. Once again, thank you and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Lionel K
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

After almost two months, this is the only time we were able to be back again in Senju since our office were transferred in Makati. I found out that they just released their new menu and its a good idea to try something different. We ordered the bento set as we need to go back to our office after lunch. The yakiniku teishoku, Tonkatsu ramen, buta shabu salad, mix seafood tempura are the must try.
The serving time is quick and female staff Jem did good recommendations.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank leslievponan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel K, Director of Food & Beverage at Senju, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear leslievponan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is such a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful dining experience with us and that you enjoyed the attentive service provided by our team. Your nice comments are much appreciated. Once again, thank you and we hope to have you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Lionel K
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

We are about to celebrate Father's Day in Senju since my wife loves japanese food. We are suprised because the place is already full, I suggested to go somewhere else since we don't have any place inside. My wife asked this lovely lady if there are still vacancy for us, luckily I didn't know that there is a place outside of the resto. So we settled there amd waited to get assisted. I would like to commend the service that this lady prrovided. She made sure that everything that we need is in our table to the point that we don't need to ask her for anything. I know that she is tired but she managed to keep her lovely smile. I haven't felt being provided with kind of service ever. Hopefully everyone in the team is service oriented like her... Many thanks "Rani" ...we will be back for sure...

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Apollo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel K, Director of Food & Beverage at Senju, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Apollo C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am thrilled to hear that the service provided by our team went above and beyond your expectations. Please know that your special mention of Rani has been well-noted and received. It was our pleasure to pass these on to her and she was pleased to know that she had delighted you. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experience thoroughly. Once again, thank you and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Lionel K
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

The Food at the buffet, was Super B.. the sushi bar selections was Great! It tastes so Good! The Staffs are still Attentive even tho the restaurants are busy because it's Fathers day. It's worth trying even though travel is far because we came from Bulacan. I'm very satisfied with the Service, Food, ambiance of the place very relaxing. I highly recommend this Place if you are looking a Good Japanese Food in a Buffet with your Family or Colleagues.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Mimae20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lionel K, Director of Food & Beverage at Senju, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Mimae20,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are truly delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant dining experience. Please know that we are always committed to providing the finest service and facilities to our guests who hopefully will leave with many fond memories. Once again, thank you and we hope to have you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Lionel K
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senju also viewed

Mandaluyong, Metro Manila
Mandaluyong, Metro Manila
 
Mandaluyong, Metro Manila
Mandaluyong, Metro Manila
 
Mandaluyong, Metro Manila
 

Been to Senju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing