We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the way it has to be....”
Review of Fairmont Makati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Makati
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“the way it has to be....”
Reviewed January 8, 2017

great location just a few steps away from restaurants and shopping. very friendly staff. room are really spacious and nicely decorated. and i have to be honest this hotel is the only one giving me a late checkout (4pm) without any comment or asking a charge. thats really the way it should be. if i may suggest only one thing is to cool down the lobby a little less....maybe 2 degrees less. for sure i'll go again...no doubt
salamat

  • Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffles and Fai... M, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, March 10, 2017
Dear GD73,

Thank you for your kind review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to have served you to the best of our abilities, and we thank you for your gracious kindness. We've also taken note of your feedback regarding the lobby temperature, and will look into the matter.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Oliver Dudler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,122
    376
    64
    24
    17
See reviews for
329
326
127
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

We have stayed in the Fairmont chain of hotels in the USA and Canada, have always been impressed by their quality. However, this one was disappointing. Let's start with the positives first: fantastic location for shopping & dining, staff was curteous, the gym was fantastic, spacious and well equipped.

The negatives: we are a member of the Fairmont President club, no additional benefit here, we had to queue up like everyone else at check in, while the President club check in was unattended! We booked a room with twin double bed ( there are 3 of us) , and paid extra for corner room, we got a small corner room with a TV cabinet placed in front of the window( what's the point of having corner room???), and worse one king size bed. When we brought this to their attention, they suggested that they will bring an extra bed with no extra charge!! were we supposed to be thankful ??? We persisted and finally they said they will move us the next day to another room.

The pool was very cold, yes cold ! in Manila's hot weather, how is this possible? The pool staff was very annoying , bothering us to order from bar, not to play pool games, not to wear t shirt in the pool etc.

Finally, on Christmas day, we got a phone call saying that they have reserved a table for us for breakfast in the restaurant, but when we went down, there was a long queue to get into the restaurant and was told that the restaurant was full! We ended up eating at the lounge.

This hotel has some issues they need to work on. Our recommendation: stay elsewhere, we will not be back . Shangrila is probably a better option.

Stayed December 2016, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ClassyOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffles and Fai... M, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, March 10, 2017
Dear ClassyOZ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear that you have a number of issues regarding your stay with us. Our apologies for the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. As we value our guests' comfort, we will certainly look in to the points you mentioned and investigate on how we can improve.

We hope that despite your disappointment, we will have the opportunity in the future to make it up to you.

Sincerely,
Oliver Dudler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2016

Stayed overnight with family at the executive (Gold) floor.

Pros:
-Superlative service! It was my first time to stay, but the staff at the executive floor seemed to know who I was and greeted me by name. Check-in was a breeze at the Gold Lounge. Our party was promptly seated and offered refreshments of our choice.
-Every little request was accommodated with a smile. Staff were genuinely happy to be of service. While at the lounge, my grandmother asked me if I saw any mangoes being served. I didn't see any and said there were none. After two minutes, a staff member presented her with some. They must have overheard us taking as we didn't ask them directly.
-Food at the breakfast buffet and the executive lounge was of excellent quality and variety. Afternoon tea at the Writer's Bar was also great and of good value.
-The lounge itself was tastefully furnished, comfortable, and inviting. Even though it was the holiday season, we felt we had the place to ourselves.
-Lovely hot tub at the Willow Stream Spa. Again, not very crowded.
-Centrally located in the main business district. Walking distance to several malls, weekend markets, parks, museums, restaurants, bars, banks, convenience stores, a metro station. You name it!
-Le Labo bathroom amenities are a great touch.

Cons:
-Smallish pool.
-Rooms have so-so views.

Overall:
-Outstanding service
-Excellent location
-Great food
-Mediocre views

I've been spoiled rotten. I will now hold every other hotel to standards set by the Fairmont.

Room Tip: Book a room at the executive floor. Definitely worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AurelianoBuendia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffles and Fai... M, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, January 2, 2017
Dear AurelianoBuendia3,

Thank you for your thorough review. It was a joy to read through your spirited and sincere comments. We are humbled by your kind and gracious compliments for our staff. I assure you that it was our pleasure to have had the chance to serve you. Indeed, we are quite proud of Fairmont Gold - our very own "hotel within a hotel" experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon, and for a longer visit next time.

Sincerely,
Oliver Dudler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2016

we stayed here only for a night during a lay over going to Palawan. Hence we did not see most of the amenities, but i believe we saw enough to ensure that the hotel gets a fair rating. In short the hotel was perfect, there were no problems what so ever. Even better the breakfast restaurant had a hostess called Csarina, it can't get much classier than that ;-).
Even so there are two things i want to mention, first is outwith the management control the second isn't.
First, traffic in Manila is awful, it took us 90 minutes to get there from terminal 3. Second the uniform of the women working behind reception is perhaps a bit too revealing. While they certainly look stunning they are professionals doing a job who work in a 5 star hotel, not a strip club. They deserve better than be ogled by middle aged bald men like me. It is 2016, not 1970.

  • Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadedexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffles and Fai... M, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, January 2, 2017
Dear jadedexpat,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you chose to stay with us for your short stint in Manila. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the amenities that you had time to experience. We've taken note of your feedback regarding our Front Office staff uniform. We thank you for your feedback and assure you that the propriety of our colleagues are of utmost importance to us. We will look into where we can improve and thank you for your constructive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon, albeit for a longer visit next time.

Sincerely,
Oliver Dudler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2016

I'm a business traveler and usually opt for a Hilton or IHG. Fairmont was recommended and here is my first hand experience of staying in this property for 5 days.

Airport Pickup: I had booked a hotel car, while most hotels had their people stand with name cards, which I know is not allowed by the airport authorities. Fairmont was one of the few to follow protocol, they provided me written instructions on the counter location and once I reached to the counter, the team tool care of the rest. I appreciate the ethics.

Check In: This was a pleasant surprise, I was escorted directly to my room and the lady simply did the check in formalities using a tablet. It was all done in 5 mins at most and I was already in my room. I hugely liked this.

Room: Spacious, with ample sun light. And it faces the pool with a city view. So yes, I loved it. The standard room is so well equipped with a modern bath and tub, for me, I liked working out of my room for a day.

Internet: Good wifi connectivity. The speed was acceptable and the connection did not drop. Most important for a business traveler.

Service: This differentiates them from the rest. The moment you walk in till you reach your room...everyday I was greeted with a loud and clear greet with happy faces. Every morning for breakfast @ Spectrum you are greeted by enthusiastic crew, the service at the pool bar is exceptional. To sum it, I don't need to waive my hand to get attention, they are always on their toes. To execute this day on day, is exceptional. Keep it up guys.

Food: I've had meals at Spectrum, pool bar and long bar. As I mentioned, am very impressed by their consistent service and attention to customer.
Spectrum: The breakfast spread is lavish, quality very good. And you end up binge eating. I've had a buffet lunch here and again a huge spread with quality and taste as king. Thumbs up for the dessert selection, gained few inches :-)
On ala carte, I ordered for a blue cheese burger. The experience was poor, I did bring it to the hotels attention and I trust they have taken heed to it.
Pool Bar: I had fish and chips with margarita, the bar tender was attending to me. Great energy, lots of suggestions and he wanted to get it right. The fish was crunchy and soft from inside and the margarita had the right amount salt on the rim.
Long bar: Had a couple of beers here. I respect local traditions but was uncomfortable sitting around piles of peanut shells (I was told it's a tradition to throw peanut shells around) all over the table, floor and sofa. No offence here folks, I would appreciate if the table can be cleaned up on request.

Amenities: I've used the gym which I think was clean, tidy and had all the equipment's for cardio and strength training. The instructor was attentive yet not intrusive.
Pool, is not very big. But it is very well maintained. More often than not, I would notice the cleaner cleaning every nook and corner of the pool late night.

At the end of my stay, Fairmont left a strong impression. A fellow business traveler staying same time had the same impression as we exchanged notes on our way to the airport. I recommend this place over several other properties in Manila/Makati.

Room Tip: There aren't any high floors, take a room which faces the beautiful pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dipayan_Nag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raffles and Fai... M, Hotel Manager at Fairmont Makati, responded to this review, March 10, 2017
Dear Dipayan_Nag,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Fairmont Makati.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be delighted to share your kind comments and compliments with all our colleagues.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to warmly welcoming you again to the Fairmont in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Oliver Dudler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 km away
New World Makati Hotel
0.5 km away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 82 in Makati
2,093 reviews
0.4 km away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 82 in Makati
408 reviews
0.5 km away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 82 in Makati
430 reviews
0.4 km away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Makati

Property: Fairmont Makati
Address: 1 Raffles Drive, Makati Avenue | Corner Arnaiz Street, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Price range (per night): ₱6,937 - ₱11,261
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Makati 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Makati's prestigious commercial business, the luxurious Fairmont Makati is a hotel with 280 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites including Fairmont Gold - our exclusive lifestyle hotel experience. This luxury Makati City hotel features six restaurants and lounges, over 1,700 sq m of versatile meeting and function space, including a 859 square meter ballroom accommodating up to 720 diners. Relax and re-energize in hotel's Willow Stream Spa, one of the city's most luxurious retreats, or the adjacent fitness center and outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing