We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Refugio Amazonas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Wasai Tambopata Lodge(Tambopata National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Puerto Amazonico(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Fernando Plaza Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
Hospedaje Chonta(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Torre Inn(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandoval Lake Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Hotel Centenario(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Hotel Cabana Quinta(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    D"Milez Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)
    View Hotel
    Reviews (877)
    Filter reviews
    877 results
    Traveler rating
    663
    163
    32
    15
    4
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    663
    163
    32
    15
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsrainforest expeditionsopen wallthe rivertree climbingharpy eagletambopata research centrehour boat rideclay lickfarm visitwrapped in banana leafopen airamazing experiencemosquito netbeautiful lodgehot waterserved buffet stylefood was great
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 877 reviews
    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We were surprised and delighted at the lovely accommodations and service that we received here. Truly a little paradise in the jungle. The food was delicious and the rooms were beautiful. The guides were also extremely knowledgeable.

    Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Queenhikinglady
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Rainforest E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

    Dear Guest,
    Thank you for sharing your Tambopata experience at Refugio Amazonas.
    Glad that you were delighted with our lodge´s accommodations and our team´s quality of service.
    Best wishes,
    The Rainforest Expeditions Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

    I stayed here for three days as part of my tour of Peru. Rode for an hour to the Topobato River and set off on a 3 hour downriver ride. Stopped when we saw a family of capybara on the riverside. Extremely interesting animals. Set off and got to the lodge.

    Settled in my room before dinner. Open to the elements on one side side the beds have netting although the bugs weren’t bad. Power is on for 3 periods of time during the day but it works fine.

    All meals are eaten with your Naturalist. Food is served buffet style. Quite varied and well presented. You won’t go hungry.

    Rained 7 inches the first night so we delayed heading off but when we did we walked with high boots through the jungle to a beautiful oxbow lake. Saw bird, piranha and so on. Saw various monkeys including howler monkeys.

    I could wax on but in short we went bird watching and saw hawks, a baby eagle, macaws, toucans ands on.

    Went to a local farm to learn about all manner of native crops. Did a night walk and saw cayman. Learned about all sorts of trees along with plants that are used for natural medicines.

    You can’t get a better experience than this.

    Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
    Thank gwlcjl1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Rainforest E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

    Dear Guest,
    Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback on your three-day journey through the Amazon with us!
    Sounds like you experienced Tambopata in a unique way, with great wildlife sightings, learning about the forest and medicinal plants from our naturalist guides, and enjoyed the diveristy of our Peruvian food.
    Best wishes,
    The Rainforest Expeditions Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

    After 2 months of research, we decided to make our first visit to the Amazon rainforest by staying at Refugio Amazonas. Due to an annual maintenance shutdown, we got upgraded to the Amazon villa for 3 days in January 2018. My wife and I are very fond of being in properties that take us close to nature and chose this experience for our first wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. A one hour drive, 2.5 hour boat trip upstream and then a 20 minutes walk later, we reached our accommodation. We saw at least 5 species of macaws and parrots on our way in.

    The accommodation was spectacular to say the least. We had walls on 3 sides and a net on the fourth which gave an unrestricted view of the forest from the bed.my wife is vegetarian and they ensured our dietary needs were met. For our anniversary, they did small extra steps for putting up candles on the dining table which was thoroughly appreciated. We did various activities during our stay there such as visit to the macaw clay lick, mammal clay lick, climbing up the canopy tower and a canoe around the oxbow lake. The macaw clay lick and canopy tower were the best in my opinion. It also helped that we were the only guests at this time of year, so could spend a lot of time on each of the activities and do the walks at our own pace.

    There are some down sides to such a holiday, primarily the massive number of mosquitoes, but I guess that would happen in any rainforest experience. You are also at the mercy of the weather (we were fortunate to not have any rain when we went to the macaw clay lick), and need to be extremely patient to see the animals. We waited for about 1.5 hours at the mammal clay lick but did not have any luck there.

    Finally, I want to put in a word for our guide, Aldo, who was awesome. He taught us to track sounds and spot insects at night. He gave us a lot of insights about the animals and ensured that our first visit to the Amazon rainforest was not disappointing.

    Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    1  Thank Aditya N
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Rainforest E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

    Dear guest,
    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Refugio Amazonas. We are so glad you were able to enjoy nature´s best wildlife and forest in the Tambopata river while celebrating your wedding anniversary with us!
    We will share your comments with Aldo, his passion for the rainforest is inmmense!
    Best wishes,
    The Rainforest Expeditions Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 17, 2018

    Going to the Amazon had been on my bucket list forever, so when my son mentioned that his office was closed between Christmas and New Years, we decided to go. This gave us only four weeks to plan a trip, but thanks to Jaxson at Expedia CruiseShipCenters in Sammamish, WA, we were able to pull it off. We left Christmas night.

    It took a long time for us to get to Refugio Amazonas, our ecolodge deep in the Amazon jungle. A five-hour flight to EWR, then a five-hour layover, followed by an 8 Hour flight to Lima to stay in a hotel for one night before continuing our trip. There was no one waiting for us at the airport that we could see, but the hotel was literally directly across the road, so we went there. The next day we were collected to go back to the airport for the short flight to Puerto Maldonado (with a stop but no change of planes in Cuzco). Some odd rules to know – you aren’t allowed to take water onto the plane, even if you bought it past security.

    Once we got to PR, we were transported by bus to the Rainforest Expeditions HQ. From there we were given lunch and then boarded another bus to go down to the river. Once at the River Tambopata, we boarded a large boat (20 pple) that took us 3 hours upstream. Once there, we climbed a long staircase (141 steps) and walked about 20 minutes through the jungle to reach the off-the-grid eco-lodge Refugio Amazonas. Once assigned to our rooms, our luggage was brought there. Through it all, from deplaning to settling in to our rooms, the luggage was transferred by staff without any worry on our part. Excellent organization.

    We were the last to be given a room, and unfortunately once we walked in, we saw a single king-sized bed. So we were switched to a one-level-lower room, but with two beds. The customer service person, Tanya, was terrific and very concerned throughout our stay that we have everything we need. She felt really bad about the room mix-up, and eventually gave
    us each credit for a couple of free activities (we both went kayaking and my son went mountain biking) to make up for it – fair enough. All the rooms are fully open on one side to the jungle, and mosquito nets are provided around each bed. Elevated wooden walkways run between each building; in our building there were six rooms. The single building roof is over all six rooms, and each room is open at the ceiling, so privacy is limited. Someone in the room next to ours had a noise machine running one night, and the sound clearly carried. I was told that this lodge is quite rustic compared to Inkaterra Lodge, another high-end rainforest eco-lodge. Personally, I would rather feel more part of the jungle, as I did here, than have more amenities such as enclosed rooms, as at Inkaterra.

    The food at Refugio was more than adequate – plentiful and healthful. The menu was posted each day at the beginning of the buffet line in English and Spanish. An interesting and helpful aspect of our stay here is that at each meal we sat with our guide. This meant that we got to know the others in our small group, and also got to chat with our guide about the activities and the things we had seen that day. I found this to be a really nice touch.

    The program is set up so that guests can experience 3-4 “activities” each day. Each morning one usually leaves the lodge at 4:30-5:30 AM. Since this is near the equator, the daylight hours are extended, and beginning so early allows you to miss the midday heat, since you usually return to the lodge by then.

    The first day we set out on a long hike to Oxbow Lake. Along the way we were able to climb a very high but sturdy tower to the top of the canopy. We also saw a fabulous giant tree with above-ground roots that one could walk into. Oxbow Lake is a slow-moving lake that nonetheless houses some interesting animals, and we boated around it in a long canoe-like boat that the guide paddled. Besides turtles sunning themselves on logs, we saw a few extremely unusual birds. Bring paddled around the lake was also a nice break from hiking all morning.

    Other activities included a visit to a fruit farm, a night walk, visits to a macaw clay lick, and an afternoon kayaking. The kayaking was fun and easy – the lodge staff drove us upstream and we got to drift/paddle downstream to the take-out point. Along the way we saw an armadillo, several capybara, lots of small monkeys, and many macaws. The night walk included spiders (of course), and several different kinds of frogs.

    At this lodge, each evening there was a brief talk by a member of the science team studying the Tambopata National Reserve. These were great – very informal and informative.

    Overall, the lodge staff members were extremely helpful and fun. I had a couple of massages (@60 USD), and my son spent a fair amount of time at the bar. Our stay here overall was extremely positive. At the end of it, we simply settled up with our credit card.

    A note: I use a CPAP machine which requires overnight electricity. Since the hotel shuts off the generators in the evening, the staff kindly brought in a separate battery to keep my machine going at night.

    Room Tip: All rooms open on one side to the jungle.
    • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Janet W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Rainforest E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2018

    Dear Janet,
    Thank you for taking the time to describe in detail your experience at Refugio Amazonas lodge.
    We are glad to read that your experience of Tambopata´s Amazon experience fulfilled your bucket list wish!
    And happy that you and your son enjoyed different activities together. From the kayaking, to the canopy tower, and to the oxbow lake, we feel that you had full immersion in all our jungle activities!
    Best wishes,
    The Rainforest Expeditions Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 10, 2018

    We stopped here none night on the way to TRC and the food was good and the rooms were spacious. There is no screen, though, just open to the jungle, all other jungle places we've stayed have been screened, so I'm not sure the reason why. There was also no fan, which has been typical in our other jungle stays & would probably help with an afternoon nap! (which you will likely take at some point with the early mornings)

    If you're really into Macaws, I would recommend going all the way in to TRC, but if this location visits the Chuncho lick and you're not really into Macaws that much, this would be a perfect place to stay. It's not quite as remote, so the lodging is a little nicer, a little quieter...although, the rooms are open enough you will hear your neighbors...everything! We've been used to rainforest lodgings that are a little bit more isolated from neighbors, at least enough that you don't hear everything they say or do! We know of people that stayed here that caught piranha & saw otters, while we did neither of these at TRC, although we saw a lot of monkeys that they didn't see.

    I think the rooms were nicer here than TRC (but keep in mind TRC was built for researchers!) and the food was a little better, probably because it's closer to get supplies.

    They still need to use refillable soap/shampoo bottles instead of the individual disposable ones. And there are A LOT of steps up from the river, making it a pretty good workout to get to the lodge from the river.

    • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    2  Thank LookingForFamilyFun
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Rainforest E, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2018

    Dear Guest,
    Thank you for sharing your experience at Refugio Amazonas lodge. I see that you were in your way to Tambopata Research Center lodge and that you enjoyed both locations.
    Yes, the concept design of the open windows is unique in all of our lodges. RFE´s founder, an architect and nature lover, wanted everybody to experience the jungle as if you were sleeping in the middle of the forest, so there is not a physical barrier and you are immerse with the experience!
    We will be taking care of the toiletries for all three lodges, coming up very soon!
    Best wishes,
    The Rainforest Expeditions Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews