We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty water”

Ras Al Jinz Scientific & Visitor Center
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent the afternoon on the beach of Ras Al Jinz, the one where the turtles are supposed to lay their eggs. Unfortunately the water was dirty (foam on the water surface). The tide was low and we also saw four whirlpools about two meters away from the seaside, which looked like sewage (probably not visible during high tide). It was disgusting, we did not feel like swimming at all! Pity, because the beach is very beautiful...

Thank chi2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay H, Manager at Ras Al Jinz Scientific & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve!

Thank you for your feed back, we will surely take up the issue with the concerned authorities to look into this.
It is unfortunate but we will put in efforts to resolve this soon. It is always our endeavor to keep our beaches clean but some time water in the sea is naturally dirty which is beyond our control to clean, our efforts include cleaning the litters on the beach & restricting a lot of human movement on the beautiful beach.

Also this beach is not suitable for swimming as it has quite a few rocks.

We assure you of our sincere efforts in this field.

Best Regards,
Vijay Handa
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the reserve"
in 22 reviews
"ras al jinz"
in 42 reviews
"turtle watching"
in 28 reviews
"eco tents"
in 18 reviews
"laying eggs"
in 30 reviews
"baby turtles"
in 27 reviews
"low season"
in 13 reviews
"night tour"
in 10 reviews
"green turtles"
in 12 reviews
"one night"
in 8 reviews
"sea view"
in 5 reviews
"turtle tour"
in 4 reviews
"audio guide"
in 4 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 12 reviews
"main building"
in 5 reviews
"whole process"
in 3 reviews
"moon light"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 352 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2018

This is one among the best points of visit if you are at Sur. The turtle reserve is a must watch. The tickets can be pre booked online. The reserve have ample car parking outside.

1  Thank VinuC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay H, Manager at Ras Al Jinz Scientific & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and the encouraging comments on your visit to Ras Al Jinz Scientific & Visitor Center.

We are very happy to have given you a wonderful experience, and to have been able to make it memorable and unique. I will share your positive reviews with my team members.

We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best Regards,
Vijay Handa
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2018

We were very impressed by the whole experience at the turtle centre. An interesting modern building and museum was followed by a walk onto the beach with a knowledgeable guide in a small group that respected the rules. We saw a turtle nesting and two baby turtles head for the sea. We were especially impressed by our guide who was both knowledgeable and respectful of the turtles.

Thank writingfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay H, Manager at Ras Al Jinz Scientific & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve!

Thank you very much for your so positive feedback, we are glad to know that you had enjoyed your trip. This is truly an amazing experience which is not to be missed by all.
Your compliments will certainly be an encouragement and a boost of strength to our team and will motivate them to continue delivering the best services.

I shall convey your regards to Abhay and team on your behalf & look forward having you stay with us in the near future.

Regards,

Vijay Handa

Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018

Decided to stay at the reserve on 24th August and booked ourselves about 10 days in advance using their website.
On 24th we left Muscat at about 4.20PM and with a few short stops, reached the place at about 7.30PM. At the reception we were informed that we were not charged on the card and could pay by card or cash. It was OMR 48 including taxes. The night tour was to begin at 8.30 and we were asked to assemble at the lobby 5 minutes prior to that. We noticed there were other tourists/residents coming to book only the tour (not staying at the reserve). Previously there was a restriction of 200 people per visit which is no more in place. So any number of visitors can book themselves for a tour. Abhay Pandey who was at the reception was very helpful in answering our questions with a smile.
The room was clean and since it was the closest to the reception, there was a weak wifi signal. Wifi is free for guests of the hotel. You need to request for a voucher at the reception. The voucher is valid for a day.
Saw the menu and the prices were not bad. The restaurant closes at 8.30PM.
We were at the lobby in time but the tour started at 9PM. The sky was so dark that the Milky way was visible with the naked eye. Sad I didn’t bring my tripod down with me. It was going to be a 15 minute walk to the beach. On the way we saw first one and in total 3 baby turtles having lost their way. The guide Ali, demonstrated how the baby turtles moved towards light.
Another group guided by another guide, had gone in another direction looking for turtles laying eggs. We were called there and shown the turtle laying eggs. There were 4 groups of about 25 people each. We were shown 3 turtles after which we returned.
The next morning we were ready before 5AM and the tour started at about 5.15AM. We got to see 3 turtles going back to the water after camouflaging the nest. We got to see many more babies making their way to the sea. Some were going in wrong directions. We were told that there were foxes in the area which were a threat to the baby turtles and I noticed a few paw marks and believed that information.
We were back in about 90 minutes. Had complimentary breakfast at the restaurant. The breakfast spread was decent. The usual scrambled eggs, sausages, breads, oats and the like.
Caught up on some sleep and visited the museum housed in the same building. The museum trip is passable as we noticed few of the displays were not working well. Even If you decide to visit, you can finish it in about 15 minutes. Checked out at 11.45AM and headed towards Ras Al Hadd for a visit.

Thank alanjoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay H, Manager at Ras Al Jinz Scientific & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve!

Thank you very much for your so positive feedback, we are glad to know that you had enjoyed your trip. This is truly an amazing experience which is not to be missed by all.
Your compliments will certainly be an encouragement and a boost of strength to our team and will motivate them to continue delivering the best services.

I shall convey your regards to Abhay and team on your behalf & look forward having you stay with us in the near future.

Regards,

Vijay Handa

Cluster General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

The turtle reserve has a welcoming staff and the Omani guide was well informed and engaged in interactive sessions while taking us on spotting turtles. We were lucky to spot one big one in the night and proper care was taken to get few shots of turtle. The restaurant serves delicious dinner and the staff are more than helpful. The museum gives a good insight and the place is a must-see for visitors coming to Oman. Well done, the team at the turtle reserve, Ras Al Jinz

Thank Ashok P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay H, Manager at Ras Al Jinz Scientific & Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and the encouraging comments on your visit to Ras Al Jinz Scientific & Visitor Center.

We are very happy to have given you a wonderful experience, and to have been able to make it memorable and unique. I will share your positive reviews with my team members.

We look forward to see you again!

Best Regards,
Vijay Handa
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ras Al Jinz Scientific & Visitor Center also viewed

Sur, Ash-Sharqiyah Governorate
Sur, Ash-Sharqiyah Governorate
 
Sur, Ash-Sharqiyah Governorate
Sur, Ash-Sharqiyah Governorate
 

Been to Ras Al Jinz Scientific & Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing