We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveler rating
357
293
116
33
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
293
116
33
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dolphin restaurant different theme driving range beach restaurant bit dated health club pool bar breakfast buffet the ground floor hired a car visit salalah sea view great beach duty manager tennis courts f b salalah airport
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 825 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

well, first I would like to convey my sincere thanks for the kindness and approach we have received me and my family from the hotel desk especially worth to mention Mr. Darshana and his Egyptian colleague (can't remember his name ..sorry for that).
they were absolutely professional and helped us a lot in planning our stay in Salalah.
the hotel is old but the rooms were comfy and big, there are 3 pools one for the infants, one for kids with slides and water splash, and one for adults.
the resort not far away from the downtown and walking distance from the delicious fruit market, taxis are available around the clock.
Breakfast was medium nothing special but well organized.
Room reservation and booking were easy but expensive compared to the old furniture and classic ambiance.
finally, the experience was special especially at this time of the year where the weather was wonderfully cold and misty.

Room Tip: they have a nice villa in a detached building with garden view
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank emada1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Emad,

We are really happy to read that you have decided to choose Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah during your recent stay. Additionally, thank you for the fact, that you have shared such an enthusiastic opinion with us and all the other TripAdvisor users. Your compliments especially those about our staff are extremely rewarding. Please be assured that we will spread them among our team for the sake of a further motivation. On the other hand, we appreciate your candid feedback regarding our breakfast. Your feedback holds great value for us, please be certain that all your constructive points are taken under consideration and will be addressed with relevant management team members.

We hope to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Manuel Levonian
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The reception staff were helpful and friendly and accommodated for us by providing an early check in and late check out which was very much appreciated. We also enjoyed a great evening in the bar, with reasonably priced drinks and excellent service, as well as a great breakfast spread in the morning. The room was comfortable and house keeping made sure we were fully stocked up with water, coffee etc which ultimately provided great value for money as the hotel initially seemed pricey. We also appreciated the free shuttle to the airport which was an added extra. The only small complaint I have is that the room service order we placed took nearly an hour to arrive when we were promised 30 minutes. This was not great when you are trying to fuel yourself for a half marathon and have time constraints but never mind! I will certainly stay here again next time I visit Salalah, I will just order my lunch slightly earlier!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
Thank VicMombasa_Kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Vic,

Thank you very much for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah for your recent stay. We appreciate your loyalty as an IHG® Rewards Club member.

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. We appreciate and wish to thank you for the positive comments on the friendly staff, bar experience, great breakfast, shuttle service as well as housekeeping. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortcomings you have encountered with In-room dining. Please be assured that this matter will certainly be looked into as actions will be taken accordingly. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Kind regards,

Manuel Levonian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Firstly the positives:
1. All the staff are incredibly professional, friendly and helpful. I especially refer to the breakfast staff who were always seeking to keep the busy restaurant clean and everybody attended to.
2. The breakfast was of good quality. Only issue with breakfast is staff asked on 3 separate occasions to write TripAdvisor reviews!
3. The location is next to Anantara that has some nice restaurants and bar (you will need them).
4. The upgraded room was clean albeit dated. Bed was comfortable

The negatives
1. The hotel is old and not welcoming in any form. The rooms are musty and dated (just enter the word 'musty' into a search and you will note regular complaints).
2. The gym is really old and dilapidated, not at all enticing for a workout.
3. Construction of new buildings directly at beach of hotel although did not cause noise.
4. The breakfast area is large but not vented so expect to a smell of food on your clothes when you leave.
5.The bar is depressing and like the hotel is tired in appearance.
6. Finally (and I could continue), as a Platinum member this is the worst physical Crowne Plaza/IHG hotel ever visited by some considerable way. Upon check in late at night, we were allocated a room overlooking the car park with broken curtains, damp smell and general depressing feel. Moved the following day thanks to staff but indicative of stay.

Suggestion,
If budget allows, Anantara nicer although the Hilton was a far newer and better choice in my opinion. The hilton also has nice restaurants and a positive feel due to the appearance of the property both internally and externally.

Room Tip: Opt for Hilton, Salalah
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear James,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience related to your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah. I am very sorry to hear of your less than ideal experience at the hotel during your stay with us.

I have gone through your review and wish to thank you for bringing it to our attention and indeed apologize if we have come short of meeting your expectations, rest assured that each comment is reviewed with members of the concerned teams and adjusted wherever possible.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back in not too distant future to demonstrate our ability to deliver service and facilities to your expectations.

Yours truly,

Manuel Levonian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

My stay at the Crowne Plaza Salalah exceeded all expectations, from the smooth check-in and lovely helpful reception staff, to the quality of the food and spa services. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and I was actually rather sad to leave!

Breakfast included a wide variety of options, all of a very good quality. The Balinese massage I had was top-notch. The shuttle to the airport was an unexpected but very welcome bonus.

All the housekeeping and support staff are incredibly helpful and all the staff I spoke to seemed genuinely interested in making sure every guest has a first-rate experience.

100% recommended - just go ahead and book!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank Cheery123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Cheery,

Thank you for your time writing this wonderful review about Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding to know that our colleagues were able to provide the seamless service that Crowne Plaza Hotels promises to all our guests. We have taken note of your extremely positive comments and will be shared with our entire team as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, one of the best resorts in the country.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor users.

Best regards,

Manuel Levonian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel room included a King Bed and a balcony with sea views (just). It was a comfortable room but the decor was dated and the ensuite shower/bath facilities really needed updating. The bed itself was very comfortable. The reception staff and breakfast staff were all helpful and courteous.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled on business
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Salalah, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. We appreciate and wish to thank you for the positive comments on the staff. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortcomings you have encountered. Please be assured that this matter will certainly be looked into as actions will be taken accordingly. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Kind regards,

Manuel Levonian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews