We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$417
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$417
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$335
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/21
Booking.comUS$417
PricelineUS$396
ZenHotels.comUS$515
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,083)
Filter reviews
5,085 results
Traveler rating
3,757
1,024
220
50
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,757
1,024
220
50
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean luc beach bar coconut cafe sugar beach mini golf our honeymoon beautiful beach kids club sister hotel all inclusive package special thanks evening entertainment main restaurant le morne his team at lunchtime big thanks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 5,085 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2021

Been at la pirogue and sugarbeach with friends.
Had a wonderful stay. Very good food and service was exceptional.
Staff were welcoming an courteous.
Could enjoy facilities of sugar beach also...had early check-in and very late checkout.
Front office person very helpful. GM was always around checking if everything is in order.
Bar was awesome.
Cindy and David made wonderful cocktails for us - alcohol dosed up with a precision. very polite and helpful people.
Tea time need some planning to avoid long waiting time.
Buddha bar and sushi is a must at sugarbeach.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank dish217
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Favory Jerome, General Manager at La Pirogue, A Sun Resort, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2021

Dear Dish217,

Thank you for your rave comments online, we are pleased to read that both La Pirogue and Sugar Beach were to your likings.

We hope you will visit us again very soon.

Kind regards,

Jerome Favory
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2021

Everything was just perfect. We book a day package for the birthday of my dad on the 12th February 2021. The hospitality, amenities, staff, welcoming, atmosphere were amazing. The food was really really good, tasteful and fresh. My dad was even offered a complimentary birthday cake and champagne.

Special thanks to Aurelie, Kamla, Asif, Feroze, Jean Luc, Parwez who were very friendly and helpful and of course all La Pirogue Team who help in a way or another.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillary_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Favory Jerome, General Manager at La Pirogue, A Sun Resort, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Dear hillary_16,

Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our warm hospitality and the facilities offered. We make every effort to maintain the high standards of facilities and quality services proposed, and we are delighted that we have been successful in making you enjoyed your well-deserved birthday and day pass.

We will share your comments to all our team members here at La Pirogue Hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Sincerely yours,

Jerome Favory
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 February 2021

Check-in, which was done at the restaurant was very slow and I did not appreciate the way the check-in staff explained the package we had booked, to us and other families/couples checking-in at the same time. It was like a teacher shouting to some troublesome kids in a classroom. After that unpleasant experience, I was dreading how the rest of the stay would unfold. But to my utter surprise, it was great! The room is quaint and comfortable, service good and we enjoyed the food at the restaurant. There was a wide choice at all meals. Special thanks to Mr. Lobin who really took care of us as there was an elderly person in our group. Drinks (AI) at the bar were watery but those with a supplement were better. The snacks provided at tea-time were limited and average. La Pirogue, being one of the first hotels built in Mauritius has a beautiful garden. We had a great time walking in the garden or simply lying on sunbeds by the beach and listening to the sound of waves.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LBGoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Favory Jerome, General Manager at La Pirogue, A Sun Resort, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Dear LBGoom,

Thank you for your comments posted online. We are pleased to note that you were well looked by Lobin and the team. However, your remarks concerning the check in is a real concern as this is not the impression we would like to give to our valued guests. Be assured necessary corrective actions will be taken in order to get the set standards back to normal.

Thank you for sharing your concern with us and we hope you choose to stay with us again very soon.

Kind regards,

Jerome Favory
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2021

We spent two days at La Pirogue. The staffs at the Kids Club were amazing specially @Artee who good took care of my daughter and the other kids. We had an incredible service at Magenta restaurant, the food was delicious and big thanks to @Jean Luc and @Lobin who went out their way to ensure a top service.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hkevina2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Favory Jerome, General Manager at La Pirogue, A Sun Resort, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Dear hkevina2021,

It is amazing to read your nice comments specially on the kids club. We do strive to provide the best service to our valued guests and are so glad to note that your stay with us was to your expectations.

It will be a pleasure for me to share this amazing experience of yours to all of the staffs.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Jerome Favory
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

From the entrance to the inside of the hotel, all the persons are very kind and helpful.We were very well accompanied.The food was delicious.

One suggestion from my side..I dont if its in you company policy to have one person standy at the toilet to guide the persons..but personally i think it a bit unfair to have a person stand there whole day.A guide would suffice for us.

Everything else was very good.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank govindh2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Favory Jerome, General Manager at La Pirogue, A Sun Resort, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Dear Mr Govind,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor, we are glad that your time spent at the Resort was comfortable.

However, we take note of your remarks concerning the toilet attendant. It is mandatory to have an attendant at each public area to ensure that cleanliness is maintained. Also note that the Toilet by the Swimming Pool is small and to prevent long waiting our attendant accordingly guide our guests to the other toilets available nearby on the hotel premises.

Once again thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and it will be a pleasure to have you among our valued guests in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jerome Favory
Geenral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews