We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Residence Mauritius
Nearby Hotels
US$230
US$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$552
US$495
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Beach Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$499
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$339
US$328
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Solana Beach(Belle Mare)
US$150
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambre Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$374
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
LUX* Belle Mare(Belle Mare)
US$473
US$458
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (1,995)
Filter reviews
1,995 results
Traveler rating
1,560
296
104
22
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,560
296
104
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation restaurantyacht clubocean frontylang ylangcolonial feelrose petal bathscolonial stylea la carteour honeymoonan ocean view roompersonal butlerhalf boardbutler servicekids clubseafood buffeticed teacatamaran cruise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,995 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful location, great beach and pools. Fantastic staff and overall good service. Comfortable spacious rooms with good facilities. Good food and overall had a wonderful break - felt like 14 days! However quite pricey if not on a full board basis for drinks and extras.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank keryboucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking your time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Your suggestion and feedback are so essential for our continued improvement for quality service and by attending to areas that require our attention.

We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay and you enjoyed the resort thoroughly.

We reiterate our thanks for your valued comments and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our shores in a not distant future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a week after travelling around South Africa for three weeks.Everything about this hotel is first class.The only complaint we had was the extortionate price of the drinks.Luckily we had read previous reviews and had stocked up with wine in duty free and made the eight minute walk to buy cans of beer from the local supermarket.We had also read about the charge for water at dinner so we insisted on having tap water which was free.We believe that if the management reduced the price of the drinks there would be a better atmosphere in the evenings to support the live shows.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful to you for having chosen our property for your holidays and are delighted to read that you did enjoy your stay.

With regards to our pricing policy of our Beverage, we understand your concern and wish to inform you that we are currently reviewing our drink cards for better competitive rates.

We reiterate our thanks for your valued comments and sincerely hope to have the immense pleasure to welcome you back to our shores for another memorable and unique experience in a not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This resort is absolutely amazing, from the moment we arrived to the time we left.

The resort was everything we could have hoped for and more. The rooms were a good size and to a very high standard and the level of service from all levels of staff was impeccable and all delivered with warm friendly smiles. The food was also to a very high standard, we generally chose to eat at the Plantation restaurant which had a good selection of food and also a separate vegetarian menu on request.

Only negative would be the resort not enforcing the evening dress code of no T-Shirts in the restaurants as this let down the ambiance! Otherwise no complaints.

The resort is well positioned on a beautiful stretch of beach, suitable for swimming and long walks. A 2 hour trip on Miamore speedboat located on the beach is a must, skipper Vikki is very friendly, knowledgeable and made our elderly parents feel very safe.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank flopflip23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for sharing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor.

We certainly pay attention to our customer’s feedbacks as it will prove very useful to help us enhance our existing standards.

It is through positive feedback such as yours that our team members continue to be inspired to provide impeccable service and do their utmost everyday to make each of our guests feel special.

We reiterate our thanks for your recommendation and sincerely look forward to your return trip in the near future.

Thank you and kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at The Residence for 10 nights and was not disappointed. This colonial styled hotel is set alongside a beautiful beach, my favourite on the island with the turquoise Indian Ocean lapping the shore. The staff are incredibly friendly and so helpful. The food through out our stay, in the dining room which serves a themed buffet and in The Plantation , was of a very high quality. I thoroughly recommend this hotel and look forward to visiting again.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank richard_knight1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for sparing some of your precious time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

It gives us immense pleasure to read that you appreciated the services provided by our team members and that you are still cherishing those enriched moments you had captured at our resort.

The whole team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon for another warm sojourn.

All our personal regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved it. From the moment we arrived we felt totally relaxed. It's not a huge resort which makes it that much more special. The lodgings were really quite nice and could not find fault at the cleanliness. Food was good and really did not need more.

The beach and pool area was fantastic, never really felt that there were many people around (even though there were) making the stay that much more "exclusive".

Would we go back? Yes.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierrotBarbe, Manager at The Residence Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam

It was, indeed our great pleasure to welcome you to The Residence Mauritius, and we were delighted that you choose to spend your holidays with us. We note that your stay was a most enjoyable one and do hope that you will remember these happy memories.

All feedback that you have wholeheartedly shared on Trip advisor is of the utmost importance to us and we pride ourselves on the high levels of service we provide to our much valued guests

We reiterate our thanks for your valued comments and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on our shores in a not too distant future.

Thank you and kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews