We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
deborahluton
Bristol, United Kingdom

Little bit of quiet beach paradise outside of KK

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 5, 2024
After a couple of hectic weeks touring Sabah, this little haven was what I needed for 2 days to reenergise.
I did a day trip each day rather than staying. 9.30am boat, back 3pm to KK craziness. 55 MYR without lunch ( i have a difficult diet so usually bring own food).
Litter in the sea is an issue they try their best to deal with it, its an issue in all of S E Asia tbh.
They couldn't be more helpful and friendly.
I felt so comfortable as a solo woman traveller. I could snorkel ( free lockers keep bag safe), kayak, swim, chill on sunbeds or hammocks, snooze even. All included.
Monkeys and goats could be naughty, looking for food ( it is a jungle after all) staff kindly chased them away if needed.
Jessica even took me on a hike and tour of local Bayau ( fisher) village which took over an hour..no charge and really interesting. She is lovely.
The other guests were mainly Chinese or Korean divers, lycra clad. Seemed friendly but max 20 on island and usually in the sea. I was 1 of 3 beach guests today. There were about 10 yesterday so definitely not busy. Maybe I got lucky from some of the comments on here !
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Take mosy repellant
Trip type: Traveled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Property Exterior
₱5,090
₱4,739
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    ₱5,090
8.3 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
₱12,686
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₱11,021
  • Vio.com
    ₱5,073
  • Priceline
    ₱5,217
8.0 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
₱7,465
  • Hilton
    ₱7,459
  • Expedia.com
    ₱7,481
  • Hotels.com
    ₱7,470
9.5 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱8,356
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    ₱8,349
  • Expedia.com
    ₱8,368
  • Hotels.com
    ₱8,355
8.9 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
₱8,630
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,580
  • Vio.com
    ₱7,723
  • Hotels.com
    ₱8,271
10.7 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱17,216
  • Priceline
    ₱17,195
  • Agoda.com
    ₱16,407
  • Expedia.com
    ₱17,254
12.2 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱2,709
  • Priceline
    ₱1,900
  • Agoda.com
    ₱1,797
  • StayForLong
9.1 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Beachfront View
₱3,071
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₱3,532
  • Agoda.com
    ₱2,928
  • Hotels.com
    ₱3,527
9.1 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
NEWLY RENOVATED STANDARD ROOM
  • Agoda.com
    ₱10,550
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
8.3 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
16
20
13
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
16
20
13
7
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2020 via mobile

We only stayed here 1 night as a small tour group. The boat trip to the island was pretty rough no riding the waves. Met at the dock for what was supposed to be a briefing re the Island. There are about 200 steps to the top tree house lots of steps all over. The islanders are very good trying to clean up the plastic being washed up onto the beach twice a day. The food is average. Monkeys are very active, nice to see the water monitor swimming. No WIFi only a few cabins have charging plug. The water is clear just a few stingers. Lots of water activities to do & massages.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 12, 2019

After flying in from Europe we acclimatized here for a day and a half, before travelling through Sabah for 2 weeks. We booked hill lodges in advance, but these were quiet a climb up the hill, so we finally decided to choose for the beachfront rooms. There are two with a balcony and others without seaview and balcony. The accomodation/beds is/are basic, shared bathrooms separate from the bedrooms, but with hotwater boiler. The lunches are abundant and tasty and there is much choice for seafoodies, veggies and meaties. The staff, especially Wesley, the accomodation manager, is very helpful and friendly. Each day 200-300 daytrippers visit the location and have lunch at the premises. Nevertheless it stays a pleasant place to sit on the beach and enjoy the views. The polluted sea, with lots of plastic is a disguise. Though the staff cleans the beach ànd the seafront every morning, there is a constant flow of plastic coming in.
If you are interested you can make a walk to the watervillage, about half a kilometer from the accomodation. This is another world where seagipsy's try to survive in their rackle shackle homes on poles in the sea, with pollution all over. Ask the manager to guide you there and don't go on your own.

Room tip: Hill lodges if you don't bother to climb, 2 seaside rooms with balcony in the resthouse.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Klaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 25, 2019

This is not a luxurious resort it is a small independent resort set in the jungle overlooking the sea. The chalets are reasonably furnished and have cool showers which is not a problem. The bar and restaurant offer limited food but it is fresh and tasty and it is easy to find something to eat whether veggie or not. staff are incredibly accommodating. and helpful. During the day for a few hours there are Korean day trips so the beach is busy but you can always find a quiet bit of beach but the rest of the time the island is very quiet and peaceful. I think the most people staying whilst we were there was 12. although I think there is space for about 40 in total. If you want a getaway from it all place this is a good one. The one downside is the rubbish Malaysia is using a lot of plastic and we were constantly fishing out plastic rubbish from the sea. The staff clean the beach but there is little encouragement to stop the tourists leaving rubbish and they don't seem to worry about the damage to the reef by the tourists which means the reef is mainly dead. There are plenty of fish to observe snorkelling and they offer dive trips and kayaking.

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank MPPLANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 16, 2019

A popular day trip from Kota Kinabalu with a buffet lunch included. There are kayaks and snorkelling gear for use by guests or just relax in the warm waters. Very safe area for children. Protection from the sun can be had at your assigned table. There is a bathroom for getting showered and changed.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 3, 2019

Wasn't sure what to expect, normally base my bookings on lonely planet but stumbled across this wee gem on booking.com.

After having a busy 10 days in borneo full of early starts and activities this was an ideal break before I flew home. I was flying home from kk so this option was perfect for me.

Yes there are a lot of day trippers that visit the island but I based my self at one end of the beach and wasn't bothered by them at all.

As other reviews point out there can be a lot of plastic wash up but the staff do clean up what gets washed up with the changing tides, but what do you expect being only a 15 minute boat ride from a main city?

As for water activities I can't comment as I'm much more into sunbathing.

The food was lovely however a le carte menu is limited.

Rooms and facilities were clean and as described "rustic".

As for the staff all wonderful!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Emma98879
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews