We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
magpiedragon
prestatyn

So much rubbish

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 4, 2018
We took a trio to this Islan from our resort at Gaya Island. It was very disappointing, so much rubbish in the sea, and on the beach. The staff were making some attempt to clear up, but there was just so much of it. We took our snorkels, but due to the above we never used them. The plus side is, that the staff are very cheerful, and helpful.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CharlesKok, Sales & Marketing Executive at Mari Mari Sepanggar, responded to this review
Responded Oct 29, 2018
Hi magpiedragon,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your nice compliments on our staff. They have always been the jewels of our organization and we will continue to provide the best customer service experience to our guests.

It is, however, our aim to reduce the rubbish on our island surroundings and washed up rubbish is a constant battle we are facing every day. For your information, recently (on the 19th to be exact! 😊) we have conducted a public community beach clean up at our public beach at Tanjung Lipat, Kota Kinabalu. We will continue our efforts to a more major area around the island in the not so distance future. We hope that this efforts and awareness from the community will enhance our beach and island environment future and health.

Once again, thank you for your comment and hope we will be seeing you again on your future visit to our beloved Sabah, Borneo.

Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₱6,456
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
9.5 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱9,558
₱8,435
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
10.7 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱22,397
₱17,250
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱17,250
12.2 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱10,972
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hyatt.com
  • Hotels.com
8.4 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
Beachfront View
₱2,394
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
9.1 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₱20,671
  • Lol.travel
    ₱6,593
  • eDreams
8.0 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱6,683
  • Vio.com
8.9 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
Main lobby
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱5,337
  • Expedia.com
    ₱5,869
10.4 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱1,925
  • Priceline
10.0 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
16
20
13
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
16
20
13
7
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 57 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

An early boat ride over to this island for a swim and snorkel but disappointed with the clarity of the water..a lot of debris around but staff are trying their best to keep cleaning it off the beach and water. It was another warm and sunny day so swimming was a pleasure to cool off. We did snorkel just on the other side of the net seeing quite a number of very colourful fish...water was a little clearer. Lunch was also a little basic but nice considering it’s an island..left after lunch back to KKB...

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 925ChrisA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CharlesKok, Sales & Marketing Executive at Mari Mari Sepanggar, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Hi Chris A,

Thank you so much for leaving us a nice review.

It is a constant battle our team underwent every single day, not a day in our life that we wished there's no rubbish at the sea. Sadly, this is not just us, but globally. All around the world government and non-profit organization are trying hard looking for solutions to tackle this serious problem. We are no exception. Thankfully, our team are able to clear the area as much as they can to ensure our guests are able to enjoy their sunny relaxing day with a clean beach.

Chris A, we hope you will visit us again. Hopefully this time, you will stay overnight in our lodge. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

I visited this island for a morning, during a 10 day tour of Malaysian Borneo. The boat ride out is fast and comfortable. The day visitor part of the island is nice, but there is not much to do there.

Snorkeling was offered, but those that did this activity said there was nothing really to see, plus there were a lot of sea lice stinging the day we went, so everyone was out of the water within an hour. There is quite a bit of rubbish on parts of the island and in the water, so much so that the net which I thought was for safety reasons was actually to keep more rubbish out of the snorkeling area.

The buffet lunch we had there was really good and there was an option to have a massage which I didn't take up.

My friend and I did do the optional parasailing which was 120RM each. I'd recommend that, it was fun and it passed the time. Got an extra boat ride while others had their turn and it was more fun than just sitting on the beach. Note: When they ask you if you want to be 'dipped' in the ocean, this actually means dragged! At first I wasn't sure they actually knew how to get the sail up and thought we might drown hahaha, but they did send us up and it was all fine... until we came back down and got dragged again. It was fun, a lot of laughs, but just so you know what you're getting into.

Room tip: I did not stay at the accommodation here, just visited the island on a day trip.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank NewTravellerAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 31, 2018

We were encouraged to come to Sepanggar for the snorkeling. Once we got to the island we were stuck there until our 3pm service came and got us. While this is an all-inclusive tour, we really felt like we had been sold a bit of a lie. WE weren't advised that it was jellyfish season so the water was dangerous ( and yes I did get stung and it did make me unwell) however the areas for snorkeling were really small and after 20 minutes we had observed everything, yet still had 5.5 hours left to fill in. We could paddle board and kayak in the same area that we snorkeled if we wanted too. There wan't anywhere to walk to that we were shown. Every time we asked if we could explore we were met with the response " it is dangerous'. It was such a shame!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank JoMuirhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

We decided to take a last minute trip to this wonderful resort and were pleasantly surprised with how peaceful and romantic it was. The beach was beautiful, the grounds were well kept with staff even raking the leaves and sand on the beach. Reynold in the diveshop was very knowledgeable and accommodating to our needs. We stayed in the beach villa and couldn't have been happier with amazing view of the ocean and the city right off our deck and from our bed in our room. At night the view was perfect of the city and all of the lights from anywhere on the resort.I'd have to say one of the things we enjoyed the most was anytime we were in our room it was nice and peaceful listening to the ocean while relaxing. The food was good and plentiful with coffee and cold water whenever needed. I would have to say we enjoyed our stay very much the resort was beautiful and staff were all friendly and wold definitely come back again sometime.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank BillandLalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile

When arriving by speedboat this has the makeup of an island paradise. On a clear day you can see the sun hit the water as the empty beach reveals itself in the distance.

Once you get up close and walk along the bridge to the beach you will start noticing litter here and there in the water. Unfortunately a huge amount of waste drifts towards the island every day and there is no point going in the water - or to the beach - until that has been cleaned.

Opted for the cabin just by the beach rather than the ones on the hill. It’s next to the main building and you can almost roll out of bed and land on a chair for breakfast. You will need to lock all doors when leaving as monkeys love to venture around, looking for their latest toy or some food.

When the sun is out it does fulfill the promise of an eco island paradise. You can disconnect from the world (the WiFi is really poor) and enjoy your time paddling around the island, scuba diving or just enjoying the sun on the beach.

So downsides: if it’s raining there’s nothing to do. The metal roof is really loud when the rain hits it and you’re just stuck listening to it. Electricity is scarce and you should bring a few battery packs as well. Food is repetitive and you should turn up on the set start time for the meals to guarantee that it’s hot. If you’re not a huge fan of bugs you might want to avoid the beach cabin. Ants and other insects roam about from time to time, as does the occasional lizard.

Make sure you’ve got the weather on your side when visiting and you’ll love it.

Date of stay: October 2017
2  Thank NiklasJ423
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews