We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Klagan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Imperial Boutec Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Le Hotel Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Celyn City Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Traveller(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hii-5 Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Ruby Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Kooler Inn(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Monaco Boutique Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
      Reviews (358)
      Filter reviews
      358 results
      Traveler rating
      71
      199
      68
      17
      3
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      71
      199
      68
      17
      3
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsrooftop cafewarisan squarewalking distanceshopping mallfilipino marketspacious roomtop floorseafoodcentre pointnice view of the seahotel is locatedrain showermoney changerairport taxismall citybreakfast buffetborneo hypermall
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      34 - 39 of 358 reviews
      Reviewed July 29, 2017

      Stayed here for a week. Spacious room with everything we needed. Breakfast buffet with ample choice and (which I appreciate very much) an egg-station. Very close to the Waterfront where there are a dozen or so bars & restaurants. Shopping mall across the street.

      • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Johan H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed July 7, 2017

      The view over the sea was spectacular and made choosing this hotel worth it.
      The room was spacious and we loved the red armchair (two would have been better).
      Breakfast was good with quite a lot of variety.
      The hotel is centrally located with shops, markets and restaurants within easy walking distance.
      The king size bed was really comfortable too.

      • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      1  Thank Nestlein
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

      The Klagan is located central to everything, the centre point shopping centre is across the road, the waterfront in the opposite direction and a cheap taxi fare to Jessleton Point. The room was of a generous size, clean and quiet. The view was pleasing. The staff were always helpful, at times there was a slight language barrier however they were always able to find a solution and provide advice. Would recommend to anyone staying in Kota Kinabalu

      Stayed: May 2017
      1  Thank Tegan W
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed May 26, 2017 via mobile

      This hotel is located at center of the city.Just cross the street to Centre Point shopping mall and walking distance to the seafood night market.
      The breakfast is ok.
      If you come by plane it is better using the airport taxi and buy taxi voucher RM 30 at taxi counter to this hotel.
      But if you want to join city tour it is better to cross check to several travel agent first.Don't buy the city tour package immediately like I have done.
      I have bad experience on 23 May 2017 which I bought city tour package Mari Mari Tour with THY Borneo Tours at Centre Point their price RM 200 per person ,but accidentally after checking with other travel agent(Ma Senang Travel Agent) their price is only RM 140 or it means 30% cheaper for the excactly same itinerary.So be careful and be smart not like what I did.

      Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
      Thank BENARTO K
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

      I love The Klagan. It's walking distance to everything I needed to go and do in Kota Kinabalu - Oceanus mall, Philippines market, Helen's massage parlor (highly rated on Tripadvisor and that's another review I will rate highly too), the Waterfront, Centerpoint, etc. So put in the perfect spot, the hotel's convenience of locality to everything is its strongest point.

      If you know about D'Place (they serve delicious traditional Kadazandusun food - a must try!) and plan to go there, do know it is just about 10 mins by foot to Plaza Shell where the restaurant is located.

      The room we stayed in was huge, above normal standard deluxe measurements. I have no complaints on anything this hotel has to offer - wifi connection was good, the tv channels clear and many, beds clean, hot shower worked fine. I love the room! Staff were affable and helpful, and we had welcome drink! I did not expect the hotel to be this wonderful, after all it's the small things that counts.

      Again, I must say The Klagan was an excellent stay for me. My pictures are not that clear but I think the many good reviews about this hotel should be enough to help you decide if you are contemplating on it as a choice.

      Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
      1  Thank dellilapatchouly9
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews