We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$17
US$14
View deal
SAVE US$3
Free cancellation until 03/07/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$17
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/07/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.comUS$15
Expedia.comUS$14
TravelocityUS$14
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
16
15
9
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
16
15
9
4
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

The service at Storytel is definitely world class , especially the service you get even this is only a budget boutique hotel. All the staff are friendly and very helpful. This hotel is very recommended for those who arr first time in Sabah. They can help you plan your destination for free.

Rooms are small but cute and reasonable!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Hazwani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 8 August 2017

Hello Hazwani,
We are very much delighted to learn that you were impressed with our service. We hope you had a great time here in Storytel Kota Kinabalu. Thank you very much for your review and we'll make sure to forward your compliments to our friendly and polite staff.

Regards,
Nathalie Jane Plizardo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Arriving at the hotel which is located above the Welcome Seafood Restaurant is a bit daunting as there is major construction for you to navigate with your suitcases to the property on the third floor. After checking in with 2 people and four suitcases we ushered ourselves to the room which was the size of a sardine can. The room was a huge disappointment after spending a week in KL in the Furama Hotel. There was not much space to put any toiletries or anything for that matter. No hot pot to even boil water. We bought one! After leaving for the day and coming back we found our room not to be serviced. We asked and they told us that we had to TELL them to clean. They did not do it automatically. A first for me who has travelled a lot in Southeast Asia. So every other day we asked them to clean but the same paper remained on the floor the whole time and the sink in the bathroom was never cleaned the entire time of our stay. I would wonder if they changed the sheets? Bringing up another point about the cover on the bed. The quilt inside was too small for the duvet and therefore by the end of the night the quilt was out of the covering! The bed was another matter. We felt that we were sliding downhill and were forced to put the pillows at the foot of the bed so that our heads were higher than our feet. The only redeeming quality of this hotel is the friendly and accommodating staff!!!

Room tip: Make sure to check reviews on cleanliness.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank deweyjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackstorytel, General Manager at OYO 218 Storytel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hello, Deweyjap! Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your experience at Storytel Kota Kinabalu. We appreciate hearing from our guests as your comments will assist us in continuously improving our facilities and services. It is with regret to know that your recent experience at our property was not to your satisfaction. We aim to provide only the best for our guests and it makes us sad that your expectations were not met. We will share with the team your valuable comments to ensure that you will have a better experience at the hotel on your next visit. We hope this will not deter you from coming back to Storytel Kota Kinabalu in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2017

The hotel was very near 10 - 15 minutes away from the airport, near to the city tourist spot like Atkinson Tower, Signal Hill, Souvenir shop at Filipino or Wet Market and Mosque. Shopping mall is very near and fast food or local food was easy to find.

The lobby is really great and clean which I enjoy pretty much during my stay, their staff was helpful and attentive to your needs.

Room tip: If you wish windows room, you have to email or directly call the hotel for reservation.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathalieplizardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Cheapest hotel for budget traveler, check in process was easy and fast. The lobby was really nice and comfy you can also used their microwave and chiller at the lobby which is helpful for us traveler. The staff were generous and helpful. As for location this hotel best spot for shopping as its near the mall, waterfront bar, and Jesselton Point to go to the island. Furthermore if you are a seafood lover like me, this hotel is the right place for you as it is located at the top of welcome seafood and the new ocean seafood restaurant.

Room tip: Lobby is cozy and comfy.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hq166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Staff are very friendly! Every traveller should visit the place! Best for transit hotel because they can help you find cheapest way to go airport! Budget friendly as well!

This hotel is also at tge top of the famous welcome seafood restaurant! Alot of souvenir shop aroynd the vicinity. The staffs are all friendly especially the manager and his staff hari who always help us finding the cheapest way to travel around Sabah!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews