We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rangoon Residence
Nearby Hotels
US$75
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royale Chulan Penang(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Campbell House(George Town)
US$90
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$50
US$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muntri Mews(George Town)
US$100
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$17
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Muntri Grove Hotel(George Town)
US$100
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Terraces(George Town)
US$207
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
81
23
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
23
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrangoonmr chiduplex roombalcony overlooking the streetnoisy environmentmezzanine floorgreat locationbeautiful place to staynice balconywalking distancecat buslorong selamatgreat showercomfortable bedswashing machinefantastic staydefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

I've spent three nights with my family in this boutique hotel. The service quality provided by the staff were exceptional. They go beyond to assist and accommodate the special needs of the guest and recommended where we should visit and eat around Penang. The hotel is generally well maintained. There is however a bit of pest issue (ants), probably due to the timber flooring? Overall, I would definitely recommend this boutique hotel if you plan to stay in Georgetown.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We were up in Penang for Cheng Beng and decided to stay somewhere new in town, walking distance to New Lane, durians at Macalister Road, New World Park, Lorong Selamat, etc. The residence has about 3 lots for parking but you can park on the road and pay for parking if this is full. We parked at the residence most of our 2 nights there. This is like an old house (ah mo lao), refurbished, and is very quaint. As such, as per Asian custom, remove your shoes before you enter. They even provide you with slippers to wear when indoors. I don't even understand why some guests take offence. As the saying goes, when in Rome, do as the Romans do. When in Asia, respect the customs. No biggie. The place is clean, and at the "lobby", you can help yourselves to drinking water, hot water, biscuits (there was even a box of Him Heang tau sar pneah), coffee, tea, milo, kaya, etc. The rate comes with a simple breakfast of eggs, whatever style you want, and sometimes pancakes, etc. We did not have breakfast there as we were in Penang to eat hawker food at our favourite joints but the residence was very accommodating and even offered to cook us breakfast at 6am. We declined but they have shown that they were very attuned to the guests' needs and were willing to bend over backwards to accommodate. Shannie (not sure if I got the spelling right) was very friendly and greeted me by name when I arrived (I guess with 7 rooms and knowing who was arriving that day, she deduced this). She warmed up even further when she knew we were Penangites and we shared notes as to where to buy certain foodstuff in Penang - so very helpful! Our room had a Q sized bed and a loft with a single mattress for our son. There were 2 units of aircond so it was plenty cool. There is also a kettle and some mugs in the room. Hope my son did not wake anyone up with his heavy elephant strides up the wooden stairs to the loft! Bathroom was clean. However, the towels smelt a tad of sweat so would suggest to check the quality of washed laundry. The bed had some sand on it. The lobby has foosball and is very quaint, as you can see from the pics. Overall, extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiPetalingJaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2018

A wonderful stay in a very nice and cozy hotel. Lovely and warm atmosphere, perfect for couple or family. Enjoy a more authentic neighborhood in Georgetown still well connected with transport and even walking distance to main temples and special sites of the city. Excellent local food courts around.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank vitosm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Spent three nights here and had a fantastic stay.

The residence is beautifully decorated, spacious, clean and all round comfortable place to stay. The air con in the room was freezing which was great relief after walking around all day in the heat and humidity.

The owner is fantastic, a very friendly guy, extremely helpful and happy to sit and chat away to you.

The hotel is walking distance to old town and numerous places to eat and shop.

If you do choose to book this place go direct, as they offer the same rate as all hotel comparison websites but the money goes to them (obviously) as opposed to a cut to the Hotel sites.

Would happily stay here again and would definitely recommend to a friend.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangoon R, Owner at Rangoon Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Matthew,

Thank you so much for the review and didn't expect such great compliments from you.
It was lovely chatting with you guys and wish you all the best and hope all your plans turn out well.

Yes, this is for people who are reading and this and thinking of staying with us. Yes please book with us directly. We are building a new website now and you can check us out on our facebook page.

Stay happy always !!!


Thanks,
Fred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

It was a last minute decision as we were so busy all the wedding galore, hence , after all said and done, we wanted a cosy place to just chill for a day and to celebrate New Year in the heart of Penang ... a little bird sort of whisper to me about this place ... went online and we decided to give it a shot.... it was such a memorable day.. spacious place, cosy, nice balcony to have my morning coffee and best part was the service... friendly and homely ! Will definitely come back for a longer stay!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Mazita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews