We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
64
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom visit penang again min walk street art earplugs whatsapp accommodation georgetown shophouse uber
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay in the Vintage House. After our first two nights we booked to more nights, so we experienced two different rooms.

The location is good, everything is very clean and Cheah is incredibly helpful. Our rooms shared the shower, but I don't mind if it's well organised and clean (and my standards are high).

Furthermore: warm water, free coffee and tea and the possibility to watch Wimbledon finals on a big tv screen. Machine washing for free, with enough drying space.

Just one thing: we did not notice street sounds, but if other guests are noisy you find out that the walls are quite thin.

To come short: I would definitely come back here!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Excursion714860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Even before our arrival, Cheah contacted us and advised us on how to get to her place as well as getting a cheaper transport from the airport via Uber (compared to normal taxi).

Basic toiletries (shampoo, body soap) and towel are provided. Bring your own toothbrush and toothpaste.

Vintage House itself is basic but clean and full of old vintage shophouse charm. Except for 2 rooms with ensuite toilet/bathroom, the other 4 rooms are using shared toilet/bathroom facilities. Guests are free to use the living area to mingle with each other.

Location is good within 5-15 min walk to the street arts/morning market/clan jetties.

The most charming aspect of Vintage House is Cheah, the owner/host. She gave us exact location on the recommended food places to eat and where to go. She is chatty and ready to share information on Georgetown.

The slight minus point during our stay was the slow internet connection on our second night. Cheah popped down late at night to try and resolve the issue. The other minus point is that voices from the living room and other guest rooms are easily audible. Cheah provided ear plugs though. If all the guests are considerate towards each other by speaking softly at night, then this is not a problem.

We had a wonderful stay at Vintage House and will love to come back here if we visit Penang again.

Thank you for the wonderful hospitality, Cheah!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

so very good and the best for your trip
Same as live in your home feel good if stay here that is very vintage and very clean
บริการดีเยี่ยมค่ะ รู้สึกเหมือนอยู่บ้านตัวเอง สะอาดสะอ้าน บรรยากาศดี ราคาถูก รักที่นี่ค่ะ ถ้ามาปีนัง จะพักที่นี่ค่ะ

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank SainupB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Stayed one night at Vintage House, was a really pleasant experience.
Great location and nice room in a Penang Vintage house.
Host was very helpful - from providing information about easiest way to reach the guesthouse, where to eat (local) in Penang to facilitating the airport transfer.
Thanks Cheah for being a wonderful host.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank divx2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Location is excellent, rooms are clean and big.
The patio is lovely (as seen on the pictues).

Guesthouse manager is the best.
Very helpful and with the best (eating) tips.
She even helped with my next accommodation.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank daisyk548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews