We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
336
121
14
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
121
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mosquito netting boutique hotel four poster bed day bed small lap pool world heritage site first floor the breakfast area rooms are spacious lovely boutique within walking distance sister hotel the ground floor red garden lovely pool sitting area small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Lovely hotel on strategic position and enough parking space. The rooms are spacieus , clean and very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. It was a pleasure to stay there and we will definitely come back.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 68AKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

This is beautiful hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Our room was big with beautiful furniture and it was very clean. It's a hidden gem with a great location. Would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend and stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Renita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Muntri Grove was a beautiful hotel that was so classy and delightfully presented, that it helped to make Georgetown a great place to visit. The room was fantastic, the staff were amazingly helpful and the breakfast each day was to die for! We only stayed for a week and I could have happily spent another week it was so good. The only small issue that I had (and my teenage son too) was that the Wifi was very flaky, it kept dropping out all of the time so I had to use the data from my Australian provider - which was OK as I had an International plan active. However, this was a nuisance and not enough to stop me from staying here again. We loved the stay so much that we bought a matching batik bed cover to remind us of our stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank bigsc0ttieb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We were here for a few nights visiting Georgetown with friends and quite simply - we loved it. We were at the point of our holiday where the most complicated thing we wanted to deal with was working out which restaurant to walk to. Muntri Grove is within walking distance of most of the key sights with the added benefit of being in a fairly quiet location.

This boutique hotel has been adaptively repurposed from a row of 19th century terrace houses behind a school. The rooms are well laid out with very tasteful textiles, decorations and furnishings.

The staff were friendly, accommodating and professional. We had a relaxing time.

Important tip: While the address says Lebuh Muntri it's actually at the end of a laneway on the right as you enter from Leith St. Your taxi driver might struggle to find it (ours did!).

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneStick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2017

A special shout-out to Wada (I hope we got the spelling right) who was very helpful. She always managed to take us two or more steps further in answer to any question we asked. How to get around? She gives us 4 options, and then asks us if we would like her to make arrangements for us. The way to a restaurant we read about? She pulls out a map, draws the directions, then offers to make reservations for us.

The rest of the staff were very courteous and friendly as well. Everyone was always ready to help without being intrusive. Our privacy was always respected, which we liked.

Our very spacious room was always meticulously cleaned everyday. When the outside temperature got too hot for us, our room was always a refuge for us. Always very inviting for a quick afternoon nap before going out again before the sun sets.

Smack in the middle of the heritage site, everything is walking distance, though as Wada suggested, we could have taken the free bus that goes around George Town (we never did).

Breakfast was good. Going in, we knew that Muntri Grove does not have a full kitchen so we did not really expect a wide selection. But they managed to whip up a nice selection for us, along with fresh eggs cooked the way we liked them. And the staff will try to accommodate any request as much as the facilities will allow.

Muntri Grove is one of the reasons for us to visit Penang again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferdie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews