We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Nearby Hotels
US$67
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Campbell House(George Town)
US$90
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royale Chulan Penang(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$17
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Muntri Mews(George Town)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Muntri Grove Hotel(George Town)
US$100
US$91
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$50
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Terraces(George Town)
US$207
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,159)
Filter reviews
2,159 results
Traveler rating
628
934
437
100
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
934
437
100
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraders hotelthe club loungegolden sandsbooked a club roomfree shuttleprangin mallbatu ferringhicentral locationbit datedbusiness hotelshopping centresister hotelwithin walking distancebusiness tripbreakfast spreadcocktail hournew lane
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,159 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Overall: Newly refurbished hotel under Shangri-La group. Very well situated in between Komtar/Prangin Mall & 1st Avenue. Affordable, stylish and very comfortable stay.

Check in:
Booked two deluxe room with city view. I have requested upon booking for high floor and Ms. Ayana has assigned us for the highest floor and also managed to get both rooms on the same floor. Check in was a little slow due to the massive crowd.

Room:
Not very spacious but it is ideal if you’re in town for a meeting or a quick getaway. Room is clean. There’s complimentary water bottles for each day. Love that it has no carpet in the room. AC works perfectly.

Bathroom:
A little tiny but it does its job. Loveeee the bidet attached to the toilet bowl. Water temperature is great.

WiFi:
It is free. No password needed and the connection is good.

Self parking:
There’s a basement parking and you’ll have to climb up the stairs (therefore if you’ve elderly traveling with you, you could drop them at the lobby ahead before you head down to the basement). Parking is FOC. You’ll need to validate the parking ticket with concierge each time you want to exit the building. There’s limited parking space but the staff has it under control.

***Breakfast:
Had breakfast at the restaurant at the lobby. Go early as the crowd picks up after 845am. Choices are okay. Not much to go about with. Lots of improvement needed. First and foremost, I wish they serve yogurt in their own individual packet instead of pouring them out in a huge bowl. It concerns me when it is put out like that. I didn’t dare to take it as I was terrified to know how long it’s been sitting out. Same goes for the milk for cereal. They were not cold and it’s been sitting out too. The condiments for bread section have no peanut butter or Nutella. Whyyyy? Everyone loves peanut butter. I hope they serve more western dishes like pancakes, or French toast. They have waffles but it is the type you get outside. Ones they use the machine and press on it. Really hope they would work harder on the breakfast spread.

***Check out:
It was pretty efficient but it was a big deal it seemed when you didn’t surrender back the hotel room card key which I thought was lame.






Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank Michiko69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJenPenang, General Manager at Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Michiko69,

Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay.

We very much appreciated the detailed review that you have experienced throughout the stay which has met many expectations. We are glad to know you have enjoyed our comfortable room, bathroom facilities and fast free Wi-fi provided in the hotel which convenient to our guest. In regards to breakfast and check-out area, we have well noted on your kind comments on some areas you have highlighted and kindly rest assured that we will be sharing these with the relevant department to improvement.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2018

After my bad experience with the sister hotel in Manila, I was unsure if I should put in my trust into Hotel Jen again in this trip to Penang. I am happy that I made the right choice in trying Hotel Jen again in this city.
The hotel looked rather newly furnished with bright lobby which is welcoming. The check-in was swift and the staff polite. The room is of a normal size though I find the toilet a bit smaller than usual. 4 bottles of mineral water were given daily and a "welcome fruit cup" was placed in the fridge. Staff were generally polite but some areas could be improved.
The breakfast was alright with enough choices and the staff asked if we would like to have coffee or tea when we were seated. Then the beverage was brought in a flask and to our surprise, it was just lukewarm. Then we realized that many such flask were prepared well in advance at an area and then taken to the guests when it was requested. Thus, a beverage that was supposed to be hot turned out to be lukewarm at best most of the time.
Another incident was that at the soup noodle station, sometimes we could not find any cook stationed there and one guest took her own initiative to cook her own noodle inside. This brought safety and cleanliness issues to my mind.
Lastly the check-out was swift as well but I remembered that being a Jade member, I was to be given a choice of 3 welcome amenities. These were never offered during check-in or check-out.
If these could be ironed out, it would be a very good stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ykhppc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJenPenang, General Manager at Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Ykhppc,

Thank you for being Hotel Jen supporter and staying with us in Penang.

We are glad to read detailed experience with us was overall good. While we appreciate your kind words of the newly redesigned hotel and hospitality, we are sorry to hear that the stay has fallen short in areas of the hotel. In regards to the dining experience, we have taken note of the areas you have highlighted which is not in our usual norms. Kindly rest assured that we will be looking into this matter at utmost urgency and will not happen again.

Thank you again for the constructive feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Was very impressed by the bright and modern looking hotel lobby and speedy check in. We needed a wheelchair accessible (room 505)so I wrote in an advance and the request was duly fulfilled. Room was great and pretty, but the first disappointment came when we found the toilet seat not cleaned properly, and even more stains when we lifted up the toilet seat. The stains were cleaned after the first room cleaning the following day.

The beds were firm and comfortable, but we still had disrupted sleep for the 3 nights because of the poor sound proofing. There was a connecting door to the adjacent room and we could hear the conversations and even the alarm clock of the next door neighbour! Woken up abruptly many times from the neighbours piping sounds as well.

Apart from the toilet stains, we also found the tea drawer filled with spilled sugar.

Location is good and convenient to walk to the older side of Georgetown murals.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lavend3rmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJenPenang, General Manager at Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Lavend3rmist,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

We are glad you were impressed with the modern, minimalist design of our newly renovated hotel and speedy check-in process from our reception team. It fantastic to hear that the hotel's location convenient and comfortable beds have helped made your stay with us. However, we are deeply sorry to hear some of the areas have highlighted has fell short during your stay. Kindly rest assured that this is not our usual standard and we will be looking into these matter with the relevant department for improvement and better enhance guest experience.

Once again, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. We would like to thank discerning guests like you who constantly help us improve our hotel for better days to come.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Penang.

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

I chose a city hotel rather than a beach resort as my interests were in seeing the historical places & temples. From that perspective, the hotel is well located. I had booked a suite - the furnitures & fixtures were dated but ok. I had access to the lounge. The lounge serves complimentary breakfast, complimentary coffee, tea & soft drinks throughout the day, and complimentary alcoholic drinks and snacks from 5.30pm to 7pm. I thought the breakfast was very good. Evening snacks were just ok. Choice of alcoholic beverages were just ok (for instance, Jim Beam whiskey; white & red wines that I hadn’t heard of).

Lobby: good, 6 out of 10
Suite: good, 6 out of 10
Cleanliness: very good, 8 out of 10
Service: good, 7 out of 10
Lounge: reasonable, 6 out of 10
Room service: average (choice + quality), 5 out of 10
Car service for airport transfers & sightseeing: excellent, 9 out of 10
Luxury quotient: 5 out of 10

Stayed: April 2018, traveled solo
1  Thank Raja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJenPenang, General Manager at Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Raja R,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Jen Penang and sharing your detailed experience with us. While we appreciate your kind words of the hotel location and Club Lounge, we are sorry to hear that some of the expectations were average. In regards to rooms furniture and fixtures, all our rooms are newly renovated and equipped with new amenities, facilities and furniture inspired by Penang neighborhood heritage culture design. Overall, we are glad would like to thank discerning guests like you who constantly help us improve our hotel for better days to come.

We're looking forward to having another opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

25th Jan 2018 we arrived in Penang Island from Singapore. I chose Hotel Jen Penang due to the Location of this Hotel and pictures of the Hotel and surroundings. if Im not mistaken, the Hotel has undergone refurbishment, looks very modern and nice. I booked 2 rooms, 1 for a friend and wife (26th Jan 2018), 1 for me and my mate.

Hotel is located next to a Shopping Mall which is very convenient. there is a small restaurant (hawker street food) opposite the Hotel, very good and cheap food.

the hotel room is very generous in terms of space, good wifi and design. very clean and great amenities. easy check in and out, reception is great.

overall experience is 9/10, will definitely come back to this Hotel if Im in Penang!

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinYu138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJenPenang, General Manager at Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear KevinYu138,

Thank you for your kind review and it brings us great joy to hear that you had many positive experiences with us. This must be the one of nicest compliment we have received, and we are so honoured to have your detailed review based on your observations. Thank you for the nice comments for our staff. It is comments like yours that encourages the team to continuously strive to deliver service excellence

We're sure that you had experienced the unique Jen feeling when staying with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you "home" again soon.

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews