We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$37
View deal
Booking.com
US$52
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/05/21
FindHotel
US$52
US$32
View deal
SAVE US$20
Expedia.comUS$37
PricelineUS$37
eDreamsUS$52
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,605)
Filter reviews
1,605 results
Traveler rating
402
560
391
139
113
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
402
560
391
139
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view swimming pool f b front office coffee house check in was smooth spacious room jb singapore johor gym ballroom spread ms rm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,605 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

I stayed for a night there got room 1026 upgraded for free . Tq to Mr. Nice guy sorry I forgot to ask your name and syafiqah. Tq to both of u that always help me during my stay here. The check in and check out was smooth. I ve been to this hotel years ago and what I can say that the service is very good, warm staff, the room facing the see was sooooooo calming. What I like about the room is that they have bath tub. If you realize nowadays hotel dnt hv that. The bed is comfy, the bedsheet is clean. The food here is tasty , but 1 thing that maybe need to be improved is the rice quite hard and I taste twice lunch and dinner the same thing i taste like jelantah. Should improve on that. Overall I enjoyed my stay. Surely come again. I highly recommended people to stay here and do request for sea view.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank travelismycupoftea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management Thistle Johor Bahru, Other at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Thank you so much for your honest review! We work really hard to offer the best stay experience to all of our guests, so I am very happy to hear that your last visit was such a pleasant affair. You'll be happy to learn that "Mr. Nice guy" is none other than our Guest Service Associate Saiful and I made sure both he and Syafiqah got the recognition they deserve. Your remarks on the rice texture and taste have been communicated to our restaurant team and we will look into our training procedure to ensure consistent quality moving forward.

Thank you again for your kind recommendation, it means the world to us!

Kind regards,
Robert Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2021

Staff Very Friendly (Ain / Athira) Very good Service. Thanks alot for the birthday cake and birthday song suprise.the food is really good. We really enjoy it. The environment really good. Very neat and tidy. We really enjoy the moment.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Samsul_Yatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management Thistle Johor Bahru, Other at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2021

Dear Samsul,

I am thrilled to read about the enjoyable time you had at Glass restaurant and thank you so much for praising our associates Ms Ain and Ms Athira. We pride ourselves in providing our guests a dining experience that is both memorable and safe. It was wonderful to welcome you on the occasion of your loved one's birthday. The entire team has such great memories of your visit and everyone sends their best wishes!

Once more, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Kind regards,
Robert Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

We had a BLAST thanks to Thistle staff especially Glass Staff : Amira, Athirah, Syafiqah, Nashihin, Hafiq

You guys are awesome
Serve great food, stunning ambience & friendly

The Pricing are reasonable too

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ferozamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management Thistle Johor Bahru, Other at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2021

Dear Feroz,

First and foremost, I would like to congratulate both of you on the 10th year anniversary of your marriage! Thank you for choosing Glass as the ideal venue to celebrate this momentous occasion. It brings me joy to learn that our service and food made it a memorable experience for you. Your special mention of our associates Ms Amira, Ms Athirah, Ms Syafiqah, Ms Nashihin and Mr Hafiq is much appreciated and I will personally commend them on a job well done.

Once more, thank you for your kind compliments and we look forward to serving you again soon. Meanwhile, stay safe and keep well.

Kind regards,
Robert Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2020 via mobile

Checked in for 3d 2n there with my parents. My dad is half paralyzed which is hard for him to take shower since its only bath tub available. But its okay coz we already assumed how the Hotel is. Once we enter the room smells like wet carpet (mildewed) if you know wht i mean. The room was very dusty, the curtain makes me sneezed all the time. The toilet water stagnant, we were okay at first coz thinking if we go out early morning, the floor will dry by the time we get back. Sadly once weโ€™re back its not even dry at all and the smell is even worst.

The 2nd night was the climax, NO ELECTRICITY!!! We woke up around 5.30am coz its dark and hot inside the room. I went to doorway and look up for any assistance but its too dark! I called the room service million times ringing but they did not answer my calls. But oh, they picked up one time and when i asked wht happened they hung up!! So we got so pissed and waited until 10am then only the room service called us back! We questioned wht happened and why didnโ€™t you guys pick up or atleast hv a courtesy to inform us anythng?? He didnt even apologise and just mentioned that theyโ€™re having trouble with the generator or somethng. So I showered in the dark, (my dad almost skid!) and didnt even get to iron our clothes and checked out! We are very unhappy with the hotel!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank shmsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management Thistle Johor Bahru, Other at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2020

Dear shmsz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us during your visit in September.

It saddens me to learn of your unpleasant experience with the room upon checking in. I hope our team was able to assist you with the issues you encountered. Our hotel does provide accessible rooms which are equipped with a shower stall for ease of use, this is aside from the standard bathtub facility available to all rooms.

I am aware that on 25 September at approximately 5.30am, the hotel encountered a power outage and our team members on duty immediately took action to provide in-house guests with as much assistance as possible. Subsequent investigation by our emergency response team confirmed that the power supply disruption was caused by a breakdown at the public utility substation servicing the local area. I truly regret the great inconvenience this incident had caused you and your family.

Thank you once again for the valuable feedback and I hope to welcome you back under improved circumstances in the future.

Kind regards,
Robert Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2020 via mobile

Well maintained. Ample parking lots. Room okay. Beds and pillows comfortable. Air conditioning not cooling enough. Shower room too small that impossible to take proper shower. Wish they provide mobile shower head.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank yslserene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Management Thistle Johor Bahru, Other at Thistle Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Dear Serene,

I am happy to learn that you appreciate our efforts in keeping the hotel well-maintained, enjoy our ample car park facilities and was able to have a comfortable sleep in the bed. Your feedback on the air-conditioning, size of our standing shower stall and preference for a mobile shower head have been duly noted. I will share your generous remarks with our team for their improvement moving forward.

Thank you for staying with Thistle Johor Bahru and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Robert Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews