We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
33
46
29
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
46
29
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basic amenities recommend this hotel min walk two nights short stay budget hotel jr station other hotels non smoking japan bus exit map supermarket onsen yen
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights and the reason we chose this hotel was its proximity to the JR station. It was only about 5mins walk and the rate included daily breakfast too. Staff could speak English and were helpful in recommending us places to visit and where to have meals. Room was small but comfortable and clean. The JR station is also where the buses are so we could visit the Safari and onsen/boiling hells area easily. Beppu is a small town so spending 3 days here is sufficient to explore the place. There are many onsens around so if you like hot springs, this is the place for you.

Exit by the Mountain side when you arrive at the JR station, turn right and walk all the way down to the hotel.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneveive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
別府第一ホテル, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Beppu Daiiti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear customer, Thank you for staying with us at Beppu Daiiti hotel. we are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all the staff tries our best to provide the best possible service to our dear customers. Out hotel is located very near to Beppu station with almost all the transportation access to downtown Beppu. Also there are many hot springs near us , so if you are the fan of hot springs then Beppu is a real good recommendation for you. We hope you will visit this beautiful town Beppu again and stay with us in your next visit to Beppu. Thank you for your precious review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Right on the mountain,
It was long drive from Fukuoka airport to come here, I was stay at river view, the other night I was upgrade to the city view.
The Onsen is very nice
Restaurant is okay
supermarket is complete
The room”s key still old style

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Dendy717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

1. Conveniently located: close to JR Beppu Station; just 2 min walk; easily found
2. Inexpensive; we paid 22000 yen and got the biggest room in the whole floor for two nights; plus free breakfast
3. Excellent breakfast: homemade; fresh and delicious; you should not miss.
Only drawback: the wall is thin (usual in Japan); sometimes you may hear the noise of next room or the corridor. But the bed is so confortable. I still can fall into sleep easily.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Chingyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
別府第一ホテル, オーナー at Beppu Daiiti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us in Beppu Daiiti Hotel. We are so happy to hear your praising words. Our hotel is very close to station with a good transportation access and also we are very much committed to make the delisuos breakfast. We hope to see you soon in Beppu and hope that you can stay with us. Thank you for taking your precious time for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 November 2017

I stayed here for two nights in November. The hotel is conveniently located five minutes walk from the train station as well as the place where the buses stop to take you the 'hells'. I stayed in a one-person room with a spacious one-person bed and a view of the railway tracks. With the windows closed there is little to no chance you will hear the trains or have them bother you in anyway should this be a concern. As it goes with mid-range hotels like this one in Japan the room can feel small for a western person. This is even more so the case with the bathroom. After having stayed in countless hotels in Japan over the years I know out of experience what to expect and this hotel definitely did not disappoint. Perhaps the only minus was the rather hard mattress. Staff is cordial, friendly and helpful though their English is limited, which I found surprising considering that this is very much a hotel that appears to cater to foreign tourists. Breakfast was included and quite okay: breakfast tends to be a simple affair in Japan. If your intention is to spend a few days in Beppu, and you want to be conveniently located this is a good place to stay.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
別府第一ホテル, オーナー at Beppu Daiiti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us in Beppu Daiiti Hotel. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy the Beppu tour. We always try our best to give full satisfaction to our precious customers. Also we always try to make our service much better from now on. Our hotel beds might be little hard for some customers, we are planning to add much softer feather pad to our beds. If you stay with us again then please ask the front staff for it.
These days many foreign customers are visiting this small town and our hotel also provides accommodation for many foreign customers. We will try our best to make each and every customers fell satisfied staying with us and make our service even better. Thank you for your precious time for writing the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We arrived late at night and our friend helped us to choose this hotel. Location is really good where it 2-3 mins walking distance from the train station.There are a lot of restaurant nearby but mostly close around 9-10pm. The room is clean and the hotel looks quite new. Overall, I did have a good sleep here.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmethystAme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
別府第一ホテル, オーナー at Beppu Daiiti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for staying with us in Beppu Daiiti Hotel. We are so happy to know that you are satisfied with our service. This hotel is near to Beppu station and have a lot of restaurants nearby. If you need any information about the restaurants then please feel free to ask to the front staff. Our hotel also tries to keep the room neat and clean. Once again when you visit Beppu, we hope Beppu Daiiti hotel will be your choice to stay. Thank you for your precious time for writing the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews