We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Remm Kagoshima(Kagoshima)
US$59
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$55
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

SHIROYAMA HOTEL kagoshima(Kagoshima)
US$153
US$123
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Kinseicho(Kagoshima)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$51/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$71
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$75
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$53/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$130
US$58
Hotel Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kagoshima Plaza Hotel Tenmonkan(Kagoshima)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$34
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$59
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
88
83
13
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
83
13
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinesingle roomfree wifiexcellent locationjr stationonsen
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2017

The location is bit far from JR station but near the airport bus station.
I stayed here two nights in premium twin room.
The room is on the 7/F which is the highest. The room is really large with a massage sofa. The toilet and bathroom are separate.

There is an onsen on 2/F and we visited every morning and night.
Also, we tried the in room message which really made us relax and great in value.

I will definitely stay here again when visit Kagoshima.

Room Tip: Premium room
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Den L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Hotel close to airport bus station, staff can speak English with smile and very good service. Bedroom size space good enough with big window allow a lot of sunshine, speed wifi, sufficient daily essential inside room, hotel area clean and tidy. bedding size is big and comfortable. Onsen facilities are good for relaxation. But room to room divider and corridor sound noisy and flushing system is strong but loudness. Breakfast is in Japanese style with not much choice but tasty. Receive a small gift when check in and out. Hotel close to market, restaurant, shopping center and central JR station.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sunsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

I had only a brief stay, and overall, the hotel had plenty to offer. The availability of a late night restaurant is nice, the staff were welcoming, and the facilities were clean (though nothing special... Some things were outdated and heavily worn). The room rate was very reasonable, and the location, close to the bus stop, is highly convenient. However, I was very surprised at how noisy the hotel was, especially considering how this did not show up in many other reviews. The rooms were not sound proofed at all, so all evening I could hear other customers calling through the hallways, people moving around in the room above and adjacent rooms, cars and street noise, and even people talking outside on the streets. The windows to the outside don't seem to shut properly even when "closed". As I said, not a bad choice, but if I had it to do over again, I would have paid a little more for a better sleep elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
Thank conniecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Great location a couple of blocks from the main train station. Easy to get to after a very long day of train travel from Tokyo. Very friendly front desk staff. Their English is limited but Google Translate helped when needed. Being close to the station gives easy access to the city tram and the local trains (as well as taxis and busses), so the various things to do in Kagoshima are easy to get to. The spa on the 2nd floor is very nice. Didn't try the on site restaurant, but even non-guests were eating there.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
Thank In4itt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2015

I can't recommend the Silk Inn in Kagoshima highly enough. From the warm greeting we received in English upon our arrival to the delicious breakfast buffet we enjoyed right before we left, this hotel was an absolute find.

As a Japanese American who speaks very little Japanese it is often difficult to find hotels in smaller Japanese cities and villages that welcomes me so wholeheartedly and with such genuine kindness. Perhaps the greatest testament to this was the fact that once we arrived at the property, we didn't leave again until we checked out. This is almost unheard of for us, as we usually like to explore the cities till late at night, eating at small, local establishments. However, when we arrived at the Silk Inn Kagoshima, with its kind staff, warm interiors and spotlessly clean rooms, we truly didn't want to leave. The spa, as other people have stated, is fantastic. Tastefully decorated, clean and completely relaxing. The woman's side had three baths, and all were hotter than than what I had become used to in Japan.

We also chose to eat in the hotel's well-priced restaurant. While the menu selection is not huge, it covers the bases perfectly: Sashimi, sushi, shabu shabu, black pork tonkatsu. The emphasis in the fish/seafood dishes is on the local catch around Kagoshima, and the sashimi was simply out of this world.

Our room was decently sized and immaculately clean. Once we closed the door we heard no noise from the hall and we both had a wonderful rest (perhaps aided by the trips to the spa and the excellent dinner). Although the hotel was completely full, it never felt crowded or noisy. Breakfast was equally delicious, with many local dishes to try, including a selection that focused on specialities made of the local black sugar that Kagoshima is famous for.

Perhaps the most surprising thing about the whole experience was the cost. At the height of the Japanese high-season, our room at the Silk Inn cost less than other rooms of lower quality in out of the way towns in Kyushu. We were truly surprised and delighted by this hotel and did not want to leave. I strongly recommend this hotel to locals and foreigners alike. I especially think that this is a wonderful place for foreigners to go and feel truly at home. Thank you very much for an excellent stay. I would especially like to commend your wonderful staff who made every effort to speak to us in English and strived to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keiko9066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews