We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveler rating
355
232
64
24
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
232
64
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian restaurant japanese dinner sand bath jr station sea view spacious room onsen hotel comfortable futons great room english speaking staff half board japanese tradition pine trees well worth a visit japanese style room the owner outdoor onsen
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Beautiful hotel, nice room facing the ocean and Mt. Aso. beautiful yard with swimming pool right next to the ocean. italian restaurant in a traditional Japanese structure. Nice room with very comfortable Ta-Ta Mi bed. Good food, Great services and Huge indoor and outdoor onsen, plus sand bath. When you talk about paradise, this is the place.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidh285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
指宿白水館, 営業本部 at Ibusuki Hakusuikan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for your reservation and staying.

It was a pleasure welcoming you to Ibusuki Hakusuikan for the first time on your recent visit - We are so glad you were extremely happy with your decision to stay with us!
We always love it when our guests make the most of the facilities we have to offer.

Our staff are a huge part of our success and we appreciate you taking time to let us know that they met your expectations, especially everyone at the "Sand steamed hot spring".

We look forward to welcoming you again to Ibusuki Hakusuikan in the not too distant future. Until then, our best wishes to you from all of us.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

If you like to have a very relaxing time, this is the place... You can practically wear your Yukata and walk around the premise all day. It's true there was nothing much to do but that is exactly the point. This is the onsen hotel, one should just relax and enjoy the onsen all day, The hotel is huge so there is a lot of walking, staffs are friendly and helpful. Sanbath was a little disappointing as I thought it would be outdoor, but a great experience nonetheless. Onsen is huge and so does not feel crowded. 16 course Kaiseki dinner was a pleasant surprise and included, no extra charge. Considering the quality and quantity , it was good value. Even without a sea view room, one can enjoy the sea as the promenade is right outside. I woke up early and manage to catch the beautiful sunrise. The hotel is a little dated but that will not deter us from coming back. The Satsuma museum next door is also worth a visit.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank RRla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
指宿白水館, 営業本部 at Ibusuki Hakusuikan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your staying at IBUSUKI HAKUSUIKAN and wonderful comment to us.
And,Thank you for your satisfaction with the our hot spring and service.

We translated your comment to Japanese.
We were really glad to read it.
Your comment encouraged them.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Excellent service with attention to tiny details when staff asked your preference before preparing dinner!

Spacious room with mix Japanese and western style. Very nice view by the sea and mountain. Swimming pool should be good but it wasn't open yet...... what a shame...

Onsen area was massive!!! Long walk but worth it. Very comfortable rest area.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JChappyparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
指宿白水館, 営業本部 at Ibusuki Hakusuikan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your staying at IBUSUKI HAKUSUIKAN and wonderful comment to us.
And,Thank you for your satisfaction with the our hot spring and service.

We translated your comment to Japanese.
We were really glad to read it.
Your comment encouraged them.

Our hotels Swimming pool is open from July to September.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 June 2015

I found Ibusuki Hakusuikan on the internet, we didn't really know anything about the hotel or the area. It was meant to provide 2 adults and a 6 year old some needed R&R after 6 days in Kyoto before moving on to Kagoshima and Fukuoka. What a pleasant surprise!

We arrived after a long train journey from Kyoto. Having not investigated whether there was a free shuttle (there is), the three of us took a taxi to the hotel. As someone pointed out, there is nothing much around the hotel.

Check-in was swift and efficient despite the language barrier (quite normal in Japan, and almost never an issue). Our traditional Japanese room on a high floor was large, spotless and airy, with a beautiful view of the ocean. Tiny safe, with only enough space for passports, jewellery and wallets. Free wifi in the room.

The hotel has several restaurant, we had half-board and were able to test the keiseki restaurant as well as the Italian restaurant lodged in the same building as the Satsuma Museum. The food was excellent in both. The only thing, I wish we had been told upon arrival that the only restaurant open for lunch (at least when we were there) is the Italian restaurant; had we known we wouldn't have reserved there for dinner but would have eaten a second time at the gourmet restaurant. Breakfast is buffet style and everyone in our family appreciated the wide choice of Japanese and Western food. Junior wasn't too keen on Japanese food before lunch, the choice of Western dishes was a bonus for him.

The hotel is surrounded by well-kept gardens, it has an outdoor pool (not yet open when we were there) and you can walk along the sea on the boardwalk. There is also an interesting museum on the hotel grounds, the Satsuma Museum. Well worth a visit. There are also several bars and lounge areas where you can sit and read/chat.

The big draw of the hotel is the onsen, one of the best I have been to. The main hot spring facilities are huge, just inside there are at least 5 hot baths (one large and several smaller ones), a cold (I mean, really cold) bath and a sauna. Outside there are 3 baths and another sauna. The changing rooms are large and offer everything you need, down to face care products. There is also another indoor facility, but we didn't event ry to find it, the main baths were perfect for us. I tried the famous Ibusuki sand baths and can definitely recommend. You have to pay a supplement for it, but it's worth it.

Service was excellent throughout.

None of us really wanted to leave after 2 nights, and we it would definitely be a great pleasure to stay at the Ibusuki Hakusuikan again.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Andreanne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
指宿白水館, 営業本部 at Ibusuki Hakusuikan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you for your reservation and staying. And,Thank you for your satisfaction with the our hot spring. We are delighted to read that you have been impressed with the quality of our hotel, seasonal cuisine and service. We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Alright.. where to start...
Location. I walk from train station to the hotel which took more than 30min to reach, and is not particularly scenic. I would advise against and stick with the free shuttle bus (if timing is right) and otherwise taxi. Nothing much in the hotel vicinity, it is right next to a waterfront esplanade, and some 20mins walk get you to the inhabited small island which linked to mainland with a sandly path.
The complex is huge, indoor or outdoor. The whole point for this kind of Japanese resort is to enjoy within the complex, which is completely self sufficient. As expected for the Japanese standard and hospitality, attention to detail is immaculate and executed to the best level of satisfaction. There are a few shops within the complex for local products.
Room, absolutely breathtaking with my 100% sea view room. Spacious Japanese ryokan setting that one would expect. Hotel arranged kimono staff to make eat in room for customer, which is a pleasant surprise. Air conditioning was adequate. Absolutely amazing.
Onsen, that's why we all come here for. Huge complex, elaborate, and spacious, indoor and outdoor, Plenty of space not crowded at all. There is massage chair in changing room free to use. The famous sandspa entails extra Y1000 payment.
Dinner, one of the best I ever experienced. Multiple course Japanese meal, generous portions, you can experience all the wonders of Japanese food in one meal !
Breakfast would have opportunity to improve. It has a great selection of western and Japanese food, however serving as buffet is disappointing, especially expectation being raised so high on the dinner the night before. Perhaps because of the scale of hotel where a fine serving of breakfast is not possible, but i experienced much nicer ambients of fine japanese breakfast than buffet style. And that's why I did not give a rating of full points.
In short it is an immacuate Japanese institution. I would probably prefer a smaller scale with more personal touch than mass tourist, just a personal preference.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank JerryMJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
指宿白水館, 営業本部 at Ibusuki Hakusuikan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for your reservation and staying.

It was a pleasure welcoming you to Ibusuki Hakusuikan for the first time on your recent visit - We are so glad you were extremely happy with your decision to stay with us!
We always love it when our guests make the most of the facilities we have to offer.

Our staff are a huge part of our success and we appreciate you taking time to let us know that they met your expectations, especially everyone at the "Sand steamed hot spring".

We look forward to welcoming you again to Ibusuki Hakusuikan in the not too distant future. Until then, our best wishes to you from all of us.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews