We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$218
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Park Otaru(Otaru)
US$294
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$285
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$54
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$185
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$256
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$225
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Kourakuen(Otaru)
US$416
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
121
85
15
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
85
15
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmassage chairfoot bathjapanese foodonsen hotelroom overlooked the canalcourse dinnerhand warmershot spring tubclam miso soupapple piedrinking waterserved hotwestern roomjr stationshopping streetwalking distancelounge
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

It is a cosy traditional style onsen close to the canal and ten minutes from jr station.
Staff are friendly and helpful .
It gives you a feel of a japanese home with study and traditional furniture.
A morning walk along the canal and harbour front is enjoyable, quiet and pleasant.
Dinner is well presented and sumptous and service is good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripadviserHongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We spent a long weekend with friends in Otaru to enjoy the local tradition and cuisine. The hotel is in a building with a look probably from the 80ies as many in the country. The interior is very warmly decorated and the service is very friendly and accurate. Our room western style was not very spacious, the toilet small and old looking as well as some furniture. However later on we have been offered a better room. Despite the room which cannot match with international standards for similar prices, the hotel offers a really great breakfast with an excellent choice of Japanese food and western food. The hotel also has two Onsen which are very nice and clean and they alternate the entrance for men or women so you can visit both. In the lounge you can enjoy a local sweet wine or coffee or tea for free and relax on the couch. We also tried the hotel restaurant with the Kaiseki luxury menu and we enjoyed it very much. Traditional costumes are provided for free to guests to wear in the house for a more traditional experience.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andrea-Soave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Hotel staffs did not offer any help with luggage after check out. We have to carry our luggage to the parking lot under the rain, as we have no hands to hold an umbrella. There are staffs helping other customers to their cars, and they just stared at us, without offer any assistance. I guess we were the unlucky ones and got soaked under the rain.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creamyctm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We had a canal view western room, and also an additional futon laid out in the evenings for the third one of us. A large room, with great windows looking to the canal and out to sea.

It's a quirky old building with nooks and crannies all around, with memorabilia, flowers, or some other interesting thing to make it cute. The lobby also serves as a gift shop, and has an evening reading room that serves a free local dessert wine. Here's a place to write your novel! The hotel entrance has a hot spring-fed foot bath that's so soothing after walking the town.

Staff were eager to help, really happy and helpful. English was well spoken.

Breakfast is served in the upstairs dining room, and offers a buffet of Japanese and Western continental dishes, again in a quaint setting, next to another reading room.

As an onsen hotel, there's a male and a female onsen, each with 3 baths and a sauna. While photos aren't to be taken, I checked to confirm the one I went into for the pics was empty at the time. The male and female are swapped day and evening so you can try both. Wonderful!

A gorgeous little place.

Room Tip: Get a canal view
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChilliGarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We chose a Japanese tatami room with in room onsen for our 2 night stay at Otaru
Furukawa. Room was very spacious for the 2 of us. We had breakfast and Kaiseki
Dinner for the 2 nights. We found most of the food very tasty & delicious. They make
their own pastries too! Try their croissants and apple "pie". Very flaky & delicious.
They have a full Japanese breakfast buffet from Hokkaido rice with tsukemono (pickled
veggies") to broiled fish, fresh veggies and clam miso soup to broiled salmon and butterfish!

The Kaiseki dinner was an 8 course dinner! We enjoyed the "raw sashimi course" the
most .....It was so artistically well presented and very tasty......Highly recommend it.
We tried the "public onsen', just to check it out. They have 2 onsite onsens that are
rotated throughout the morning and night (male & female are separate)......A nice touch
for an onsen right along the canal street......Sakaimachi shopping street is very close by.
Must try the Hokkaido soft serve ice cream....delicious! Find some souvenirs in Kitaichi
Glass Shops or a music box with your favorite tune!
Otaru Furukawa is very close to all attractions because you are right in town.

Room Tip: For at true Japanese experience, choose an in room onsen. If possible, get a canal side room.....
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hawaiiantraveler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews