We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
91
111
28
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
111
28
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle service private bath outstanding views limited english hotel shuttle ocean view the hotel staff seafood cliffs aquarium japan yen onsen baths
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Best of the best on this trip to Japan. From arrival to departure you were made to feel super special. The staff were the greatest. Room was unbelievable with an attatched hot tub with ocean view, just like the bedroom. Dinner in the restaurant was 5 star and the food itself, including presentation, was up there about 10 star. The hotel shuttle took us to, and picked us up at the aquarium and it just seemed they couldn't donenough for you to make your stay a very memorable experience.i highly recommend this property.

Room tip: Ocean view--beautiful and awe inspiring
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Gesduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We picked this hotel because it had an in room rotenburo style bath and also a beautiful hilltop location with views of the sea. We planned to visit Yoichi the next day so this was a unique choice away from the hub of the city. The hotel has a shuttle service so its very convenient and free. We were trying to decide if it was a German style or Austrian style hotel. It was decorated very European like marble floors, lots of woodwork. Room was spacious with a separate toilet room. Kind of old fashioned I guess....quaint and pleasant. The restaurant was supposed to be French I think but we were confused. I read French and my Japanese friends Japanese but we could not understand thoroughly what was on the menu. It was confusing. No English. Not knowing what the seafood entrée was I chose the lamb, since I knew what it was. Lots of small dishes with one or two items in the French way, and in the end you are full. The drinks are not included and very pricey so beware. Breakfast was much easier and understandable, either western or Japanese. I imagine the view would have been perfect except it rained when we were there so....

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2017

It’s our second visit to this hotel in Otaru. We have been attracted to this hill top hotel because of its surrounding views and their meal services.

As in 2015, we enjoyed their Western dinner and Japanese breakfast.

One issue we have at this hotel is their insistence of taking off our shoes and change to the slippers provided upon entering the room. This doesn’t make sense and the practice should be stopped. What they need to do is more thorough vacuuming every morning.

Since we were driving, it was easy to get to this hotel from downtown Otaru. (If you aren’t driving, the hotel can pick you up from JR Otaru Station.)

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chuzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Quite a quirky hotel and not at all what we expected in Japan with European wooden furniture. A small room that overlooked the sea. The hotel sits on the top of a cliff that has outstanding views. We had a private hot-tub which was fantastic. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful - we could not find light switches and the receptionist came to the room to assist. Dinner in the restaurant was very nice, although not cheap. Staff limited English did not pose much of a problem. The hotel is a little out of town, but that did not worry us - with a car it is an easy drive back into Otaru.

Room tip: Room with private hot-tub overlooking the sea is excellent.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We stayed one night in this hotel during our driving tour. Our room is large (compare to most of Japanese hotel rooms), the hot spring room has ocean view window. It is a good hotel for relaxing. Hotel location is out of Otaru downtown (10 minutes driving). Hotel has restaurant so no need to go out for meal.

Room tip: Ocean view rooms are great.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews