We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
61
191
72
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
191
72
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor hotel is located the bus jr hakodate station seafood morning market twin room western breakfast min walk stayed one night within walking distance recommend this hotel onsen japan elevator 3pm terminal
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2018

This is my first experience with Route Inn in Japan. The hotel is located right next to the Hakodate JR Main Train Station with a bus terminal right in front as well as a Hakodate Tram (streetcar) station across the street. It's also right next to the Hakodate morning market which is a great place to enjoy some fresh (but not cheap) seafood. Check-in was fast and the staff speaks decent English. The rooms are Japanese-sized, meaning a bit small but everything was like new and comfortable. I was surprised that the pillow was actually SOFT! This is a big complaint with most Japanese hotels; hard pillows. Top floor hot spring bath was awesome! Western breakfast offerings meager and the scrambled eggs were from powder. Got get fresh seafood for breakfast!

Room tip: East side has best views of Hakodate
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ronaldsQ8589ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

First off have to say the staff here is great! Very helpful with everything, especially with shipping our luggage off to the next hotel. Also very helpful with getting directions and suggestions for local sites. Rooms were rather small... but it's what I come to expect with hotels in Japan. Breakfast was good with a good selection of food. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank brentobako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Located just at the train station. The room looked very nice and new. For the view we had 2 windows in the room. Even the roof top onsen had a view. The onsen was amazing. Good velue. We were very happy with the facilities.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lena13_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Located just next to the Hakodate station and bus terminal so you don't have to carry your luggage too far. Room was big enough for one person and it was clean too. Interior might have been a little worn out, but I don't think it's a problem. Onsen in the 13th floor was pretty nice too.
And some bonus points for that they served a warm breakfast, even though the big earthquake that occurred during the night cut out electricity on the whole island.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Joonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2018

The hotel is located next to JR Hakodate station and within walking distance to morning market. So in terms of location I think it wins hands down. The price we paid includes onsen and breakfast which is icing on the cake. The breakfast has wide spread of local and western food. The only complaint is the small room size. While the hotel details says "wheelchair accessible", that does not really apply to the room and bathroom/toilet. Toilet seat is too low for me as a disabled person. Whenever I need to use toilet, I took the elevator down to lobby and use the disabled toilet - a bit inconvenient. For normal traveler, I would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cphilip98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews